Turtle Jacks Muskoka Grill Employee Reviews

Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 89 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prep/DishWasher
Prep cook and Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 December 2017
Prep/Dishwasher.. Operate the industrial dishwasher
Wash glassware and other implements by hand when necessary
Empty and clean all trash receptacles
Clean iced tea, coffee and milkshake machines daily
Rotate dishes to reduce wear and tear on resources
Clean dish storage
Follow sanitation policies at all times
Provide assistance to prep cook and other kitchen staff as needed, especially during peak times
Perform opening, closing and side work
Clean up spills or broken glassware immediately Report any sanitation or janitorial issues to appropriate party
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
SUPERVISOR/ BARTENDER (Current Employee) –  Waterdown, ON14 November 2017
engaging management.
fun workplace
flexible hours.
Lots of room for movement.
can be long shifts.
on your feet a lot.
family environment.
must be able to work weekends/ holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good restauarant
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 November 2017
High paced, decent food, casual atmosphere. Easy shifts, big menu lots to remember. Good tips, but long hours especially on bar. And low tip out, only to back of house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Server /Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 October 2017
Great place to work, fun, always smiles in the room. Run the team with a family mindset. Never feel like I'm going to work. Have met such great people.
Pros
free food
Cons
Working Weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment, good food, good people.
Waiter/ Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 August 2017
it was an overall good experience working at Turtle jacks although it could us a few improvements, for the most part it was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate trainer
FOOD AND BEVERAGE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 July 2017
great people involved in opening up stores, allow you too develop new skills and learning different clienetelle landscapes. Travelling is a cons if new stores are further away, but compensation fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 July 2017
Kitchen duties include washing dishes, cooking on line, prep work such as portioning, organizing storage, receiving produce orders. Stimulating faced paced work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 June 2017
Nice staff, and great management. If you are looking for a safe, flexible workplace Turtle Jacks is the place to be. I have most definitely enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard hosting position
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 June 2017
The staff became my family and the managers were always willing to help out. I was with TJs for nearly 3 years (first job) and I loved every moment of working with that team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work for a first time working experince.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON15 May 2017
This company teaches the employee how to work in a fast paced kitchen environment. In addition, the company teaches the employee how to use, maintain manage and use kitchen equipment, that can be used in various kitchen environments. The job in addition teaches the employee how to work long hours at an efficient and effective level of effort.
Pros
Discounts on food, occasionally free food, and free drinks.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement éducatif, calme et respectueux.
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 April 2017
Une journée de travail typique implique une salutation entre moi et mes collègues, je les demande si le restaurant est très occupé puis nous commençons à préparer les repas. L'aspect le plus difficile est de préparer les repas et de nettoyer la cuisine en même temps durant une journée très occuper. L'aspect le plus agréable est d'avoir des conversations avec mes collègues durant les journées calmes, puisque mes collègues à Turtle Jacks' étaient très marrant.
Pros
Bon endroit pour apprendre.
Cons
Loin de ma maison.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast-pace atmosphere
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 April 2017
Turtle jacks was a very busy and always on-the-go job, A typical day included bussing and setting tables, seating guests, washroom checks, and many other small tasks that a manager or server would be in need of. Management was more on the strict side- nice of course, but they wanted to keep the restaurant in tip-top shape at all times and needed the help of all of the employees to do so. Seeing so many different faces a day was refreshing, as well as having a bigger staff gave me an opportunity to meet many new people. The job was very fast pace, so it was kind of an exhausting shift once you were done. Bussing tables also isn't one of my favourite things to do, which probably didn't help. However, I got to work along a great staff and interact with many different customers who came in and out of the restaurant. Overall, I learned time management and how to interact with many different kinds of people.
Pros
Great staff, dress code, meeting many new people, fast-paced
Cons
Unstructured hours, tiring, bussing tables
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dishwasher/Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Waterdown, ON12 March 2017
I've been working at turtle jacks for almost 3 years now. You get to learn a lot of great things such as foods and skills. You also get a discount on food when you work there which is a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and suitable place for young new workers.
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON22 January 2017
Wasnt a great place.No room for improvement. There wasnt alot of hours available. Not alot of work days schedueled, also very short shifts. Sometimes only 4 hrs.
Pros
Employee Discount
Cons
Short work weeks, short shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Server/Tiki Bartender (Former Employee) –  Port Carling, ON26 December 2016
Enjoyable workplace. Great location for servers looking to learn new skills. Large work area, great customers, management, and employees. Daily challenges that are fun to complete and manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive workplace
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Port Carling, ON3 December 2016
Amazing place too work, would highly suggest as a beginner job as the training is great. If you already have experience you will fit right in. Management and staff treat you like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON21 November 2016
Good place to work, management is very helpful, and you easily become engulfed into the "Turtle Jacks" Family. It does not feel like you are heading to work when you step into the building. I have learned a lot about working as a team to benefit the company and ensure that all days run smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company, big heart
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON12 May 2016
good company with great people working there.
It was almost a tear jerker when I left. For what I thought was a better opportunity to continue my growth.
Pros
great culture
Cons
not sure about company's growth. Departure of a great ceo
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON1 May 2016
A typical day at Turtle Jack's as a hostess means bussing, seating, food running, and helping out servers. The management is good, customers are always treated very well, all the co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job is having to adapt to anything that happens. Most enjoyable part is the customers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Friendly Kitchen Environment
Dishwasher and Food Preparation (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON24 April 2016
A typical day of work was pretty busy because i worked the dinner shift. It was hard and fast paced at times, but it went by fast. I learned to use kitchen equipment and dishwashing equipment, and to clean/wash dishes. I liked the management and the co-workers as they were helpful and friendly. The hardest part was cleaning during peak hours, and the most enjoyable part was portioning the ingredients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turtle Jacks Muskoka Grill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 89 reviews
531
431
321
23
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture