Turtle & Hughes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst
Warehouse Employee (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ13 April 2018
do not work here. it is the work. the boss is the biggest jerk on the planet. you will be miserable working at turtle in hughes in bridgewater new jersey
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crib Attendance
Crib Attendant (Former Employee) –  Manatí Municipio, PR8 February 2018
Receive new tools into the manufacturing storeroom.
Issue tools and equipment to manufacturing maintenance personnel, maintain
records of issued tools, and monitors the tools crib inventory.
Responsible for conducting physical inventory, auditing and researching
discrepancies between inventory reports and on-hand inventory for over 10,000 items throughout numerous locations. Investigate and solve any variances given from SAP.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turtle and Hughes
Sr. Project Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJ6 February 2018
Great Company. I was lucky enough to get stuck with the only bonehead in the company. Every officer of the company was a great person..

I happened to get stuck with a manager who was starting with a new department of the company. I did not realize how much knowledge he lacked about our trade. He underbid every job , I mean he was so off with his pricing that our material cost would be more that our contract cost. Enough said.

Besides that everyone else at Turtle was a blessing to work with. It's too bad that things did not work out differently.
Pros
Great People to work with.
Cons
Problems are addressed until dollars are lost. At least that was the case in my Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Linden, NJ6 January 2018
easy going place to go to work everyday. compensation can improve within departments. would recommend working there to a friend but not for a career move.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
purchasing
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Bedford Park, IL29 December 2017
get into the office, the customer will give us an mrp and i proceed to purchase the items needed. trying to purchase at the lowest price possible by purchasing direct.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work and long hours.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TX11 December 2017
Working for 8-10 hours straight but you get an hour lunch break in the air conditioning with nice tables and cable TV. Everyone there is easy to get along with, great people. As long as you are keeping busy and doing what you need to do you will be fine. Hardest part of the job is sometimes we would be shorthanded for the work that needed to be done and would be required to stay past midnight getting orders out. Sometimes this was enjoyable though working with a team of great guys to get stuff done, it could be quite fulfilling.
Pros
Twice a month the company got catering for the workers.
Cons
often not enough workers for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Glendale, NY18 November 2017
Turtle and Hughes was my first admin job while I was obtaining my associates degree at a college close by before they relocated twice. I relocated with them the first time. I received an offer for management but no compensation was considered. The manager at the time had changed and my role felt overlooked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some good workers
Warehouse Leader (Former Employee) –  Glendale, NY18 October 2017
worked for this company for 5 years until it closed its doors in New
York. Had some good people that worked their but it was more or less a company that had out of control manangement,theft,chaos and irrational thinking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Summit, IL25 August 2017
Good staff to work with.It was fun setting up the office. The principle was not prepared for our start up. Wee were met with a antogoniztitc attitude,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive at all time
Sourcing Supply Chain Manager and Site Lead Mgr (Former Employee) –  Gurabo, PR 0077827 July 2017
in charge of two MRO warehouses with one spare parts.
Controlling warehouse inventory and Commodities plus all the procurement for all MRO & Spare Parts and
Operation
Pros
no direct supervition
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company I've ever worked for!
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ3 July 2017
I personally know 4 people who attempted suicide because this job completely ruined their lives. The darkest 4 1/2 years of my life, I really hit rock bottom working here. I would not recommend this job to my worst enemy. Management forces warehouse workers to work until the job is done which on second shift is normally at least 12-15 hours. The "Vice President of Logistics" Talks to everyone like you're a minuscule p o s and treats people like their his peasants. He forces his workers to listen to him in these 2-3 hour long meetings about how many millions he and all the top earners of the company have made , the multi-million vacation homes he buys all over the country, all the fancy vacations he takes then goes on to tell everyone how they will never receive a raise in pay and if they purposely do something to get hurt or fired he will fight unemployment or disability with every last breath in his body. The pay is barely livable, I would recommend working 60 hours a week at McDonald's before ever applying here at least there you won't have thoughts of death.
Pros
401k and dental surprisingly decent but only because its shared with everyone in the company
Cons
could go days and not cover everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ27 April 2017
The typical day at work is always a good hard working one. this job is very easy going as long as you follow the rules and do your job. Overall good company and excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Warehouse
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ30 December 2016
This was a great family that worked together to fulfill other company orders to have them out in a timely matter everybody on the job was motivated to do there best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience Sales Force
Export Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX21 November 2016
An effective employee review helps to align individual goals with those of the organization, provides clear communication around work responsibilities and objectives, identifies training needs, and encourages positive relationships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benifits were good
Order manager (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ18 April 2016
a typical day at work had no set end time. days could last anywhere from 8 hours to 18 hours.

i learned forklift skills, computer management, about product such as industrial supplies, from wire gauges to couplings and other similar products.

the coworkers i worked directly with are wonderful brave people.

Te hardest part of the job was the hours, and just the simple dread of never knowing how long your day will be.

The most enjoyable part was my direct coworkers
Pros
independence
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Share Lead Buyer (Former Employee) –  Manatí, PR13 January 2016
* Received lists every day of items needed for the stock room for the plant. I have to find better price than the last price paid by them.
* Very busy environment.
* In charge of 2 employees.
* I purchased from 4 different Johnson & Johnson plants.
Pros
No direct supervision. Very nice environment.
Cons
Emergencies could happened at any time and any days and I have to solve it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice people and awesome place
IT/Hardware Support (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJ5 November 2015
Fun work place
Nice place to hone and grow your skills
Awesome people that work there
Growing company that hopefully has a bright future
Just got fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Senior Buyer/ Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Pottstown, PA20 October 2015
Good company to work for. It's a small company moving to become a large company in a few years. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working all day
Receiver/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJ29 April 2015
Picking, packing, and shipping

Inventory

UPS shipping

Receiving and returns

Constantly moving, computer work, tending to customer service
issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expansion of my accounting knowledge
document scanner/receptionist/billing clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX28 December 2014
Was fortunate to use all my abilities that I learned in high school and college starting at Gulf coast Electric in 1979. From typing, filing, clerical to accounting. Worked with great managers and great employees, like family, which made my job enjoyable.
Pros
Free lunches twice a month and early dismissals just before a holiday
Cons
Because of the economy raises and healthcare were always an issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Turtle & Hughes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 25 reviews
57
411
33
21
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture