Transcontinental Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting Process Sucks!!
Administrator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 July 2018
The Mississauga location needs to enhance their recruiting processes. They don't value their applicants and take FOREVER to follow up. I regretted accepting the job. Their lack of proper processes is reflective of how the HR department operates. They are stuck in the 90's way of hiring.
Pros
Nice office
Cons
I dont recommend applying to this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job there
large, small digital print/prepress operator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 June 2018
Sad to say i moved away from there Auora location, so I had to seek employment else where. they were extremely good to me. the trust they put in me to do the work was wonderful.
Pros
easy work
Cons
they moved away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TC Has a good environment but pay is mediocre
UI Developer/Web Designer (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON1 May 2018
I've worked at TC for several years and I've made great memories here. Every Halloween and Christmas is an explosion of creativity and a sense of community. Reviews and programs like the innovation challenges are great for keeping motivation and creativity high. They're sensitive to inclusivity, great with keeping up on HR concerns and health and safety is paramount.

The downside is I've been here for a while with little increase in my pay. I get a small percentage increase but it's not enough to keep up with inflation. In addition to that, we've been short staffed for ages and there's way too much work for the team we've been given.
Pros
Staff are fun and friendly, Work is steady, Innovation and Creativity is welcome
Cons
Pay could be better, not enough staff for the amount of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement productif
Manutentionnaire cariste (Current Employee) –  Boucherville, QC19 April 2018
Cette entreprise n'es pas sur pour l'avenir , les imprimerie ferme une après l'autre
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agréable a travailler
ensacheuse (Former Employee) –  Valdor, QC16 March 2018
J aimais ce travail même si c étais de longue heure debout.
Cons
courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of guys to work with.
Pressman (Former Employee) –  Halifax NS12 March 2018
It was a good place to work but with the decline in the newspaper business I thought it was time for me to move on when this opportunity presented its self.
Cons
Long hours and tight deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La gestion participative a fait que j'ai pu me develooper.
Technicien de production (Current Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC22 January 2018
Les journéés de travail typique bien remplies est plus valeurisante.Il y a toujours quel que chose a faire. Le travail d'équipe fait avance mieux les choses.
Pros
Gestion des heures
Cons
Abus de certain
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aquisition expansion with layoffs. Vultures mentality.
Graphics Department (Former Employee) –  GTA Toronto14 December 2017
This company has a historic well documented
take over of smaller companies followed by massive layoffs. They care about increasing profit margin by
aggressive take over tactics that excludes employee
security or future. Be prepared for phony job reviews
revolving door strategies from existing middle managers
and a culture of protectionism. Communication and transparency are non existent employees are frequently let go without cause. Jobs are labeled redundant so they can justify letting people go .....and a few days later re hire for the same position for less money or to move a full time position to part time and avoid paying benefits.
There are additionally managers from other locations who are moved when their own branches are closed to arbitrarily take a position from another unsuspecting employee in a surviving branch ....it's all so medieval
and draconian in it's approach. My honest appraisal is that you should not work for this company it is in decline.
Pros
Hard to say
Cons
Review covered most but not all of the drawbacks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace
2nd pressman (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 November 2017
Very fast paced rotating shift schedule is very common here and 12 hour shifts on hard floor and is very hot in the summer months but all around a nice place
Pros
People
Cons
Shift work month of days month of nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement normal
Réserviste (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC17 August 2017
Travail en peoduction donc narrete jamais ou presque
Pros
Temps passe vite
Cons
12 heure par journ
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transcontinental
Finisher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON21 June 2017
Long and exhausting.
different aspects of a printing company.
Management is okay but there is room for improvement.
Its okay
night shifts ( 12 hr)
knowing that I have done my job ,
Pros
day shifts
Cons
nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work for extended periods in the middle of nowhere
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 June 2017
A pain to get to the place. 12 hour shifts. Constant work. lots of lifting. Follow safety procedures. Lots of mechanical failures. Lots of wasted material an time.
Pros
frequent breaks are scheduled
Cons
often don't get to take the breaks that were scheduled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work, i like to keep myself busy and always get the work done on time.
Helper at the printing company (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON15 May 2017
Learn how to pack
Taking off the machine
Jogging the papers and put them in the box
The hardest would be some of the machine goes really fast and so u have to catch up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horaires flexibles
camelot (Former Employee) –  Saint-Lazare, QC19 March 2017
vacances, congés de maladie et absences relativement tolérés
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Sale and customer services (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 February 2017
This company is very productive, i mean a lot of business to do and its very hard work, a lot of pressure. I worked 14 years for this company, and i enjoyed each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goood starting salary in dieing industry
Journalier de production, Empileur (Current Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QC12 January 2017
Great benefits, tons of overtime. Takes a long time to get a promotion. Can't miss any days, even if your family is sick. Always scared to lose your job to a robot.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
job is never secure because of robots
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account rep
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS28 November 2016
Sell sell sell.... Nothing what mattered...reps were back stabbers.... Management favored who ever was doing the best, no one helped eachother, other reps would steal your accounts when you were on vacation
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Commission, fellow backstabbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a 12 year old
Flyer Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS14 November 2016
It was a good job for me as a 12 year old but it is not a good job for anyone looking to make any serious money. It involves a lot of work for not a lot of money. Each week I was required to put the flyers together which took about 2 hours and then deliver them which took another 2 hours and I was only paid $20 a week.
Pros
Small time commitment
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehose Manager
Purchasing Manger/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Elmvale, ON11 October 2016
My typical work day would begin approx. 6:A.M. till 5-6P.M.
Monday- Friday sometimes weedends depending on press
schedules. My job consisted of making sure all the right rolls of paper were in stock for this particular job or jobs. I travelled from
our main plant and our warehouse when we had shippments going there to make sure our shippment was inspected and received in good order.I learned to manage my time very well so as not to get
overwhelmed by the situation. My co-workers were very good to work with as we were together for 12 hour shifts most of the
time.The hardest part of my job was resourcing the right paper
for the job and making our customers satisfied with our decisions
based our experience of the printing industry.The most enjoyable
part of my job was the satifaction knowing our company took the
upmost care in our customer's needs and wants for their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance
Technician (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 August 2016
I found everyone I worked with, from the Technicians to the Department Directors very friendly and helpful. I have not had one negative experience working here and would come back in a heartbeat once my contract ends.

The pay is not the greatest compared to other industries, but it is a fair trade as the culture and work/life balance are one of the best I've ever encountered.
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Culture, Employees
Cons
Lower Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Transcontinental. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 60 reviews
519
412
318
26
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture