TransCanada Employee Reviews

Found 195 reviews matching the search See all 332 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
MANAGER, SC IMPLEMENTATION (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2019
Excellent company and work-culture. Employees are generally quite satisfied with their work-life balance, how they contribute to the success of the organization, pay and benefits.
Pros
Great reputation
Cons
Experiencing a period of 'management change out', currently. This can cause exhaustion at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a administrative contractor for 4 years
Library Technician, Records Management & Indexing (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 November 2018
i was told over and over again that i would be made core, but in the end they did not keep their promise. Management changed 4 time while i was there. very bad at communication
Pros
staff where lovely
Cons
Management where really bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - unlimited opportunity
Manager, Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2018
TransCanada provides an opportunity to advance and grow to reach your full potential. Great compensation, benefit and workplace policies. TransCanada has created respectful workplace environment.
Pros
Leadership, career opportunities, fair employment and promotional practices.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Corporate Culture inTeams
Risk Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 November 2018
Pros

Nice Corporate culture in teams
Opportunity to learn and advance
Collaborative Environment

Cons

The buddy system/boy scout mentality that tolerates and condones exclusion of women and visible minorities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Quality Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2018
I worked with great people at TC but the quality of the leadership is uneven. There are good competent managers but there are also many the shouldn't be there. The silo mentality has prevented the company from making the needed changes that the leadership has been trying to spearhead. Depending of your position, this can be very frustrating.

If you are in the right group, you may find the environment to be pleasant and positive. It is still a good company to work for and they generally treat you very well.
Pros
Good Salaries and benefits
Cons
Silo mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work.
Drafting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2018
Transcanada treats his employee with respect and with fairness.I love to work for this awesome company again if i have given the opportunity if its in US.

Thank you Kindly Transcanada Pipelines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Business Analyst/Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB, Canada5 October 2018
Great place to work. Spent time on both business and IT. Solid benefits and fantastic work/life balance. Biggest drawback is compensation, but benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations
Project Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 September 2018
Constant changes and demands with little recognition. Management not aware of volumes and results required. Team is very quiet and clicky. However, I understand not all departments are the same.
Pros
Free coffee/tea
Cons
Lack of interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TransCanada is a great company
CP Engineering and Project Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 September 2018
I really enjoyed working in TransCanada, the company culture is friendly and upright, work life balance is actively promoted, and creativity is fostered and encouraged. Due to this culture, I was able to actively take initiatives, and improved my team’s efficiency through programming.
Pros
Upright company culture
Cons
Many positions are not overtime eligiable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
E&I technician Grande Prairie, Edson, Fairview (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB31 August 2018
They know how to treat people like more than just a number. They promote future growth. There are always projects and committees that are available to every one
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about TransCanada?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, Enjoyable place to work
Janitor/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Hardisty, AB3 August 2018
Trans Canada was a blast to work at! The terminal in Hardisty was so welcoming and everyone was very pleasant! Working at this company was filled with experience and gave me an idea of what it was like working in the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company if you're not up and coming
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 August 2018
The work environment at TransCanada has become overly negative and critical from the top down. Management has made a good place to work the last couple years not so great.

Repeated, constant criticism and cynicism directed towards younger staff has made it difficult to grow here. It's unfortunate that this is the experience of a young engineer as the company as a whole is a great one. The Salary/Benefits are unbelievable, but I wouldn't want to work here as a younger employee. It's a great place if you already have experience.

Many employees who move departments, are forced out, or otherwise quit are simply being replaced by contractors
Pros
Salary/Benefits
Cons
toxic management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work
Senior Planner/Scheduler Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary canada25 July 2018
amazing place to work
friendly and dynamic environment
professional and excellent benefit
the great culture
learning place
enjoyable place
high salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TransCanada Pipelines
Legal Assistant - Power Law (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2018
TransCanada was a good place to work. There was always something to do so we were always busy which is what I enjoy.

The staff ae all very nice and helpful when needed.

My main duties were all secretarial and I was once again in the legal side of the company's business.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
I felt that I could earn more by moving to another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
CONTRACT ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2018
-complete contracting strategies for upcoming projects or parts of the corporation
- I have learned many valuable processes in the supply chain department.
-workplace culture is collaborative with peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible People and an Opportunity to Deliver Change
Manager - Information Systems (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2018
TCPL is a leader in North American energy infrastructure. They have an amazing portfolio of assets that they manage. There are numerous opportunities to contribute to the changing environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to describe
Senior Drafting Coordinator / Checker / Drafter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 May 2018
Not sure what to say in regards to TransCanada.
Lots of work and very busy.
Contractors aren't treated well here.
Work life balance is only good for Staff.
Hate leaving here as I was a part of a good team
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2018
Salaries are good salary although raises don't happen often and advancement is tough. Benefits were reduced from what they used to be but are still good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, good coworkers, culture was ok
GIS Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 May 2018
Corporate culture a little too conservative and straight laced for me. Really enjoyed a lot of the amenities of the tower and the coworkers but far too many meetings
Pros
Great coworkers, good midday gym options
Cons
difficult to bike commute, too many meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized productive company
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 April 2018
I worked in a division which was well organized and had a focus on attracting talented engineers. The company required high quality well thought out engineering and ensured staff had the resources to perform to the limits of their abilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report