TransAlta Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bound to struggle
Senior Advisor Aboriginal Relations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 January 2019
This centenary company has been struggling now for over 7 years due to poor upper management. There is a serious lack of communication between the management team and the rest of the company, and people's efforts go unnoticed and/or unrecognized. As a result, TransAlta doesn't seem to keep their talented employees happy and they end up leaving sooner or later.

The several rounds of layoffs in the past 3 years have created an unbearable atmosphere of mistrust and insecurity among employees. People are constantly trying to take credit for coworkers' achievements, in an effort to stay employed.

The Board of Directors needs to clean house and fire the whole upper management team if this company is to survive.
Pros
Some good opportunities to train yourself
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive & challenging
Specialist I&C (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 October 2018
Every day you meet with a new technical challenge.
Collaboration with various teams, Compliance with latest standards, Followup MOC procedures, Eyes on net production, preparation for upcoming unit shutdowns etc etc...makes your daily life.
At home you are still engaged mentally assuming what may happen during night presenting a new challenge for a new day.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
Least time for hobbies & recreation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Jr. Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2018
Working at TransAlta was different and interesting. Most of the time it was quite unprofessional. But, there was an opportunity to further improve skillsets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't want to work here
Corporate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2018
No work life balance, salary and benefits are no longer competitive with the utility sector, revolving rounds of layoffs, high employee turnover rate, and poor culture / office morale. Only pluses are the front line staff (some really nice people work here), and the cafe has a really good breakfast.
Pros
Only pluses are the front line staff (some really nice people work here), and the cafe has a really good breakfast.
Cons
No work life balance, salary and benefits are no longer competitive with the utility sector, revolving rounds of layoffs, high employee turnover rate, and poor culture / office morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and be challenged
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 September 2018
Same as summary. Review is dated and probably not relevant.

I have no detailed review to submit, company has much changed since I worked there. Any comments I have now would be of little or no value.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job experience
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2018
Worst job experience in entire career of 20 years. They micro managed the work to see how emplyees will be unsucceessful to lay them off.
Worst company culture ever seen. Nobody shares any opinions with Management. Does not beleive in training employees. Rude and biased sr.employees. Difficult to breath in such a toxic environment.
Pros
Not a single
Cons
worst company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
IT Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 July 2018
Leading technology company with great IT department, innovative and continuous improvement applied throughout organization. Project expectation are deliverable and results focused.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely poor leadership.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 June 2018
Executives do not set a good example. They promoted their own compensation increases while simultaneously slashing employee compensation and laying off employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Wolfe Island, ON29 May 2018
I was a temp worker so my salary was low due to this. A great company to work for. Very safe work culture and a positive work environment.
I miss working there.
Pros
Free Ferry ride everyday
Cons
Free ferry ride everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior management only concerned with lining their pockets
Senior Business Analyst - Gas Fleet (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2018
4 re-organizations in 6 years and yet the CEO retains her role when her leadership and poor decision making eroded the value of the company. A prime takeover target.
Cons
Everything you can list
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Assistant to VP HR & VP Communications (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 April 2018
This company was interesting to work for. They believed in promoting community involvement and supporting and promoting the indigenous communities. The people are awesome.
Pros
Community involvement
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TA review
Assist Plant Manager/ Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 April 2018
Management was very supportive TA had a good review process and there was time to focus on projects and fostered good relationship with staff and unions
Pros
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average day
Pressure Welder/maintenance man (Former Employee) –  Keephills, AB10 April 2018
we started at 7 every day, go through a tailboard with all maintenance men and foremans then break off into our groups and get our job for the day. We got two coffee breaks and a half hour for lunch, if your job was big enough to take all day you just went back to work if not you would make sure everything was cleaned up from last job and go start the new job. i did a lot of welding build up, cut out and replace and then i would do a lot of mechanical work too valves had to be taking apart cleaned or changed pumps stripped and fixed so every day was different really
Pros
good pay, steady work, always something new and the guys worked with
Cons
wasn't run the best, breathing in cole fines all day, always working in extreme temps.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Document Managment (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2018
Everyone always walks in with a smile and says good morning, very welcoming environment. Then I decide which documents go under which title, scanning the files and placing them into the correct server, as well as manually filing in the back.
Pros
Free lunches, good people
Cons
Not my passion, Unstable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good time
turbine operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 January 2018
Transalta was a good place to work for the whole time i was there. the management was awesome and the employees were awesome and the environment was absolutely kept up to the highest standards, and there was no complaints ever from anyone ever.
Pros
good time
Cons
absolutely none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides adiquate employmnent
Condtion Monitoring Electrical Specialist (Current Employee) –  Duffield, AB19 January 2018
Failing industry at the moment as the provincial Government is working on shutting down the coal industry. ................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fair experience
Procedures Analyst/Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duffield, AB27 December 2017
Enjoyed the job for the most part, but felt growth opportunities to be lacking. Was a very early job for me, was likely a bad fit. Still, some great people there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Janitorial Services -Foreman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 November 2017
good people to work with
disciplined atmosphere
very safety disciplined
hardest part of job is carrying heavy recycle products
most enjoyable is working with my team
Pros
excellent benifits
Cons
risky drive in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great
Seasonal Labourer (Former Employee) –  Duffield, AB16 November 2017
The staff of trans alta are friendly safety oriented and considerate. My old general forman treated me poorly when I injured myself however. Good job to start your life on though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Operator/Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Macleod, AB10 November 2017
great company to work with. Everyone there is personable and engaging. Its hard work at times but provides overtime hours. The best thing about this job is being able to do what I am trained and enjoy doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TransAlta Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 50 reviews
59
410
313
26
112

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture