Toys R Us Canada Employee Reviews

Found 784 reviews matching the search See all 786 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON28 April 2019
great people. boring jobs. repeative tasks and annoying customers customers. Cash registers are not up to date.hard to use. Management was okay. most enjoyable part of the job was leaving.
Pros
breaks
Cons
boring when empty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente Divertido
Ayudante General (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Canada15 April 2019
Empleo divertido en el cual trabajas rodeado de juguetes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON9 April 2019
I loved working at Toys R Us Canada. I can't speak for all locations, but the Newmarket, Ontario location is the best. The team is like a family and I miss them terribly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 April 2019
Close knit employees, younger people, good pay, good management , most employees are long term. room for advancement and additional training. easy to get time off and they are flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun testing the toys....
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 March 2019
It was always an adventure at Toys R Us when your dealing with children and stressed out parents. HA! It was one of the most fun jobs I have had. Christmas was always fun and a little scary. HA!
I learned how to work as a team under a busy stressful environment. The hardest part of the job was dealing with parents sometimes.
I really enjoyed working there.
It is a great job for a toy collector..
Pros
The discount because I collect action figures
Cons
the parents...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture
former associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 March 2019
No hours, gossip work environment, discriminatory, poor management, verbal harassment. no training and proper guidance. I dont like my experience at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance for student employees
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON12 March 2019
Toys R Us is a good place to start in the workforce as the work itself is not too difficult but does require effort. As well, the people who work at Toys R Us are friendly so the work environment is healthy most times.
Pros
occasional free lunches due to our performance as a store
Cons
You do not leave until the store is clean which can be after
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn’t a too demanding job.
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 February 2019
Great first job to have. Requires proper memorization with locations around the store. And have communication skills to handled customers in the proper manner.
Pros
Not demanding.
Cons
Not a lot of guidance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2019
- Perfect workplace, loved it and all the friendly coworkers. Care about the customers and assist without even being asked. Great workplace. Very fun to work at with the children and coworkers.
Pros
Great Managers
Cons
Short hours on weekdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work culture
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2019
I have overall enjoyed my work experience with Toys R Us Canada. You get dental and medical benefits after your first nine months which is not common for a part-time retail position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail physique
Comis plancher (Former Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC11 February 2019
Le travail était très physique ce qui ne me dérangeais point ex: soulever de lourde boite de jouets ou soulever de grande échelle.
Pros
belle ambiance
Cons
Courte pause, longue journée
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC3 February 2019
I really enjoyed working at Toys R Us, Its a fun and playful environment to be around, talking to people and getting familiar with the section, working as a team.
Pros
Hard working, Focused
Cons
Time management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
“Permanent” definition: seasonal
Baby sales associate (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia24 January 2019
For anyone applying to this company they don’t hire permanent. I found that out way too late, despite what the job posting says it’s seasonal. The customers and coworkers are very nice and it’s a lot of fun however they laid me off two days before Christmas without any warning. It’s a great job and I was really upset and now not even a month later they are hiring again for my position. I worked my butt off for them but despite what they say from what I hear from vendors, toys r us is still struggling to stay open in Canada. If I could vote job security at 0 stars I would. I feel bad for the wonderful people that do work there.
Pros
Good people, good customers, great hr and decent management
Cons
0 job stability, no warning lay offs, could be going out of business still
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Senior Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON22 January 2019
Good work life balance, Gym on site at a very reasonable price. Some flexibility in work hours. Free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Free parking. Reasonable cafeteria food options on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON15 January 2019
Overall, did not enjoy my time working there. The managers were not nice, you could rarely get time off and it was not a very organized job.
You would be just thrown on the floor and had to find things to do, but if you couldn't find things, you would be in trouble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated every minute working here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON15 January 2019
Bad management, bad communication, culture was complete garbage, and staff weren't very cohesive or friendly
hated every minute working here and the benefits were a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON6 January 2019
If you are starting your career or want part time customer service representative, this is the place for you. very family friendly with associates and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good, fun job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2019
Toys R Us had some of the best management of any store I've worked at. Always very kind and flexible. The store was always staffed properly and I liked everyone I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and friendly work place
Cashier, Floor associate (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON3 January 2019
While I was working at Toys "R" Us Canada it was a very fun and pleasant place to work. The managers and co-workers were always very helpful and understanding when I needed a day off due to me still being a student in high school. During my time working here I learnt a lot about customer service and how to help customers when needed, I also gained cash experience.
Pros
friendly co-workers, understanding managers
Cons
long hours on weekdays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was inclusive and friendly from the start.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 December 2018
I was able to learn quickly and I felt safe with speaking to management about any problems I had. I wasn’t forced to deal with anything I felt uncomfortable with like climbing ladders or carrying boxes.
Pros
Youthful, well organized and a postitive accepting space
Cons
Dry environment?
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys R Us Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 786 reviews
5231
4278
3192
256
129

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture