Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bien
Commis-caissier (Former Employee) –  Anjou, QC12 June 2018
Une équipe chaleureuse et très bon travail étudiant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 June 2018
The people here are great to work with.
the hardest part of the job was trying to explain things to new moms who think you don't know anything.
The management team here is great but that also depends on location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us Canada
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2018
Fun place to work, but low pay and high stress. Customers could be both delightful and terrible. Had to deal with a lot of difficult people and it wears you out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal position
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 May 2018
it was a great seasonal position through the winter months. The staff members really made me feel comfortable, and confident in what I was doing everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun busy workplace!
Merchandiser/Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 May 2018
I only did seasonal at Toys'R'Us but I loved every moment I was there! From training to the people I worked with, all of it was a great experience!
One of the biggest benefits for me after leaving is having a better understanding of use of space in a store as well as pricing items.
Management was very good although it was difficult having so many managers and assistant managers to deal with. They had fairly flexible scheduling despite being a seasonal position and if there were conflicts they were sure to resolve them equally. The most difficult part of the job for me was doing night shifts. Although I had no problems with the changes to my sleep schedule I did find it had a negative impact on my social life and relationship.
As someone who will always be a kid at heart, I absolutely loved getting to work in a store like that and being able to help people when I was able always left me feeling satisfied.
Overall this has been one of my favourite jobs to date and would strongly recommend it to anyone!
Pros
Able to pick up extra shifts, strong team environment, discount
Cons
Long hours, too many management team members
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON30 May 2018
Management was rude and inconsiderate (was not allowed to have my high school prom off due to a midnight sale even though I asked for it off 2 months in advance)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at.
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK28 May 2018
A typical day at work with Toys R Us involved arranging toys on shelves, putting toys away, selling toys, and helping customers find toys, and signing customers up for the Toys R Us club card.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC26 May 2018
les collègues de travail et les boss sont amicaux.
Pros
parfois snaks gratuits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sale Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS25 May 2018
I'v worked there for a short time but the place is cool. not all the managers are the great ones but you'll find some of them to be realy great. theire system is abit old too
Pros
friendly enviroment
Cons
old system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
STORE CLERK (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON23 May 2018
The Toys R Us I worked at ran very well. The management was always helpful when I was confused about something, they were very informative during orientation, and they know how to run a profitable store. The most difficult part of the job was learning the vast amount of products in stock but it was a relaxed environment most of the time. The most enjoyable part of working at Toys R Us was interacting with the customers.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Not a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Toys 'R' Us?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
service a la clientèle et entreposage (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC22 May 2018
une bonne expérience de travaille et il y a également un élément nostalgie a tout ça .
Pros
salaire minimun
Cons
beaucoup de bruit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Première emploi
Commis d'entrepôt (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC21 May 2018
Cétais mon première emploi et j'ai détester mon expérience
Pros
Rabais sur les produits
Cons
L'ensemble de l'emploi
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toysrus
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON17 May 2018
Easy if your're in high school. Didn't find many oppurtunity to grow with the company, minimum hours, over sheducled. Wouldn't recoomend full time espically for first year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been better with change in managers
Sales and Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 May 2018
Asst. Director ruined time there. Unreasonable & always complaining. Hard-working people would get treated unfairly for no reason. Coworkers were nice
Pros
Most coworkers were awesome
Cons
Managers were too high up on their horses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive inclusive workplace that gets things done.
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  4559 Hurontario St., Mississauga15 May 2018
Walking into work has always been reassuring because I know what my tasks and objectives are. Even when something was thrown on me last minute it didn't ever feel like things were piling up because once I knew what I was doing, it became easier for me over time to get things done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it as okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 May 2018
It was good first time job for a high school student or anyone interested in starting a retail job. Hours were flexible, and pay was acceptable for the required work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job isn't the best but it also is a place with good qualities
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 May 2018
-I have learned a lot about merchandising and selling items.
- i do a lot of work here and mostly when i work i find myself doing everything.
- selfish management. they aren't considerate.
- workplace is a little bit negative.
- hardest part of job is doing everything by myself.
- i enjoy talking to customers and restocking items.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adorer
préposé aux marchandises (Former Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC11 May 2018
Stage d'un jour super intéressant j'ai appris beaucoup de choses dans une seul journée.
Pros
Ont ma montrer beaucoup de choses dans une meme journée
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horaire selon nos besoins
Commis de nuit (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC11 May 2018
Emploi tranquille et agréable. C'était accepté de prendre un congé lorsque indisponible.
Pros
horaires flexibles
Cons
non sécuritaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with fantastic individuals
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 May 2018
While the job is just a basic retail position, the people truly made this job special. After a few short weeks, the interpersonal workplace relationships that developed were second-to-none. Everyone was always kind, professional, energetic and a joy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,129 reviews
53.9K
43.7K
33K
2927
1637

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture