Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 12,986 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Metrotown, BC4 February 2019
As a cashier i had responsibilities like greeting the customer, helping them with buying the product and geeting autism Speaks donations. the management was a not as good but it is a very good place to gain experience and to start work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would. Not. Recommend!!!
Commis (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 February 2019
The boss was watching every of our move over the cameras and therefore making it a stressfull work environment. If you're less than three months old at that place you will most likely get fired after the Christmas Holidays.
Pros
Nope
Cons
15% off merchandise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff. too much favoritism
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2019
i work there and the people there are nice someties i get bored and i go and sit in the break roo for hours because there is absolutely nothing else to do and the managers just sit in the office and do nothing else so i never get caught and basically i want to find a job where i actually work because beliueve it or not sitting down for hours and getting paid while doing it can get boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon travail à l'exception des ventes supplémentaires
Caissière (Former Employee) –  St.-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC31 January 2019
Le toys'rus a beaucoup d'avantage dont les pauses payées en plus du dinner (non-payé) . Le seule problème s'est les ventes supplémentaires, il y a beaucoup de pression.
Pros
pause payée, emplois stable
Cons
vente supplémentaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2019
Great work environment, salary was questionable but benefits were good, some of the management staff were kind of hard on some of my co-workers and myself at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 January 2019
Loved the management, staff and Job. I would definitely recommend working there, because its a fast fun environment and your co-workers always have your back. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part time job
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 January 2019
typical day at working was being a cashier it was pretty boring your typical cashier position. Occasionally stocked shelves and helped customers. The management was fine
Pros
FIne
Cons
Annoying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of people to work with
CASHEIR/FLOOR ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC21 January 2019
I am cashier, who helps out in the aisle when there are projects to be done
I'm usually on the baby side of the store, so there's lots of learning that goes on daily
I help with pricing the aisle
help with merchandising
Pros
Really fun group of people
Cons
hours drop considerably after season
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, never a time where you have nothing to do
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 January 2019
I was an early morning stocker a typical shift would be 6am-11/12 sometimes as late as 2 pm closer to the holiday season, but during those shifts you could learn where everything in at least 1 section was and be able to help customers with questions regarding when shipments came and if we had a certain product they were looking for. The management at TRU is absolutely incredible, they're patient and helpful, coworkers are extremely friendly.
Pros
amazing staff
Cons
during the holiday season it's a zoo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace with great management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC18 January 2019
Only worked a short time but I learned a lot about customer service and how to work in retail, management was really good and gave flexible work shifts.
Pros
Good shifts
Cons
Small break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Toys 'R' Us?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle culture de l'entreprise
Associée aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 January 2019
Une entreprise avec de belles valeurs et qui entourent très bien ces employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON10 January 2019
Wonderful place to work. I've learned so much in my retail career at Toys R' Us. Truly enjoyed the customers. I was always very excited and enthused to go to work everyday and see what the day woulld bring !
Pros
A lot of treats and appreciation for the staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON7 January 2019
Got along really well with everyone. I got to work in all different departments of the store, my favorite was working in the baby department also being a cashier.
Pros
good hours
Cons
upset costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 January 2019
working retail, for a kids store, expect to be yelled at a lot, especially christmas time and summer for outdoor product. management above general store director usually a bit out of touch with retail environment which leads to suggestions that appear great, but usually end in profit loss due to theft and product damage.
Pros
lots of room for growth in Canada, up until base manager.
Cons
poor upper management out of reality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Back of the House Worker (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 January 2019
it was a pretty fun job overall i really enjoyed it the management was friendly and the environment was fun to work in.my co-workers were really cool and friendly too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work in
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON30 December 2018
I was a cashier so half of my time i was standing in one spot at the cash and the rest i was walking through the store returning items to their designated spot.

I learned time management.

The management was friendly and welcoming. It was easy to talk to them about any problems that occurred.

The hardest part of the job was during Christmas holidays. It was very busy and you had to be very fast at everything. Customers would often be short tempered because the lines were so busy.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be when the managers would bring to your attention how well you did in areas and let you know what areas you may want to work on to succeed better.
Pros
The work was easy and straight forward
Cons
Long hours standing in one spot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 December 2018
There are many different tasks and positions at ToysRus such as being a cashier, floor associate, baby associate, 500, merchandiser, and more. The hardest part is the Christmas rush.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Long hours at Christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement froid
Caissière / Vente (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 December 2018
Je n'ai pas aimé mon exprérience avec cette entreprise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was simple
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 December 2018
The job was simple but a bit tiring, management was nice to their employees, we would stock the shelves and do cash during rushes. it was an easy and overall good job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice Co wokers
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Vaughan15 December 2018
Go times working there. I got my first shot on forklifts years ago there which ended up being a great start for my forklift career. The Co wokers were simply amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12,986 reviews
54.3K
43.9K
33.1K
2964
1714

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture