Town of Milton Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON7 November 2018
Great place to work. Staff were good. Work/life balance was good. Could use some changes in communication. Plenty of opportunity for training and advancement.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Communicaion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work environment
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON24 August 2018
Very friendly work environment, the people are so caring and friendly, my first day there felt like I'd been working there for years. Perfect place for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Instructor/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON17 July 2018
Working as a lifeguard, the staff and working atmosphere was ideal. Rarely saw upper management, but any problems that may have occurred were dealt with carefully and quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Building Permit Administrator (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON28 April 2018
Enjoy working here very much. Great work life balance, and work culture. Enjoy working in one of the fasting growing municipalities in Ontario. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Aquatic Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON19 December 2017
The managers are very kind and supportive. The only issues I found is that like more work places there is lots of gossip and the scheduling can be inflexible.
Pros
Friendly managers and very good wages
Cons
inflexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Mechanic/facilitator (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON2 October 2017
Town of milton was a great stepping stone with nothing but friendly people that work for them. Flexable hours/great wages. Management was very easy to work with.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Camp Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON28 June 2017
The staff is extremely welcoming and caring. They try their best to make everyone feel as they belong which I like. They are always available to answer any questions or inquires you may have!
Pros
Weekends off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Program Staff (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON7 May 2017
If you're a kid in Milton looking for your first summer job, and are up for a challenge then this is for you. It will be my fifth year working this job and I still have things to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Learning Experience
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON22 November 2016
Learned to cooperate with numerous people to complete assigned tasks and to maintain the roads at the town of Milton. Gives students a great chance to take responsibility at the workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labour intensive job with the benefit of working outdoors.
Parks Maintenance - Full time contract employment (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON29 March 2016
Working at the Town of Milton is a great place to work, where you can learn new skills everyday, but its lacking in job security as I was a contract worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching job working with kids
Summer Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON28 January 2016
I typically worked an 8 hour day. I was excited to come in for work every day! I learned how to handle tough situations and I really learned how to work with people and apply what I learned working with kids who have disabilities to other situations as well. The hardest part of the job is when my charge would have an off day and it felt like it was my fault. But after a while you come to understand that you can being doing your best and your kids are still going to have ups and downs. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know so many different smiling faces. I loved my staff and honestly it was a great job!
Pros
Great staff, easy to talk to, potluck fridays
Cons
Long hours in the summer, exhausting work days, swimming everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist, Deputy Division Registrar, Secretary to the Town Clerk
Receptionist, Deputy Division Registrar, Secretary (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON12 September 2014
- Receptionist, Multi Line Switchboard, Dealing with the Public
- Transcription of Reports, Letters and By-laws. Accepting Tender Documents
- Secretary to the Town Clerk and two By-law Enforcement Officers
- Registration of Births, Deaths and Marriages.
- Cash Handling money from Licenses, Dog tags, Parking Tickets, Bus Passes.
- Preparation of Letters for Various Town Appointment Committees
- Worked with Public and Disable Transit, Issuing Bus Tickets
- Managed Crossing Guards, payroll and dealt with their related issues
- Organization and creating reports such as By-laws, Reports, Council Agendas, Transit Agenda for Meetings.
- Worked beside Halton Regional Polices regarding parking tickets, court dates.
- Preparing corporate records and information onto microfilm and retrieving information from the archives.
- Extensive use of Windows, MS Excel and Responsible for various offices Equipment.
Pros
Love dealing with the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with children and have fun
Special Needs Summer Camp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON2 September 2014
Great job for students who want to look for more experience working with children. Fun, energetic and great community to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON23 July 2014
Excellent place to work, great management, wonderful co-workers and super positive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive workplace
1) Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON9 June 2014
I would watch and play games with the kids all day. The most difficult part was dealing with the kids that wouldn't listen. The best part was going on all of the trips with the kids.
Pros
long lunch
Cons
no time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the town of milton
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON26 May 2014
Working for the Town of Milton is great.I work very hard for them. The town makes sure were safe, gives us the right training if needed. I can talk to anyone if I have problem. I am treated well at the Town of Milton. I've learned so much that its time for me to look at something new. I love learning everything I can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Town of Milton Aquatics is a good place to work, but the management is not he greatest.
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON7 May 2014
After two years at the Town of Milton I learned that working as a lifeguard there was a beneficial experience, and I have met some people that were great co workers. The supervisors are well trained and are very good role models. The hardest part was doing the extra work outside of the work setting for teaching. The management changed frequently which ultimately effected the job experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Town is growing and great team atmosphere
Fitness Instructor / Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON1 May 2014
Milton is a good city to work for and there is lots of opportunity to get involved in the community and learn new skills.
Pros
Team, Growing Town
Cons
Part time, 24 hour cap on Part time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I find it a really simple and straight forward environment to work in.
Concession Attendent (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON14 March 2014
Typical Day at Work:
- Come in Open by turning everything on and count till money
- Open Gates or Doors.
- Make sure I'm in proper uniform hat, t-shirt, hair tied.
- If there are no customers I start to stock and clean up the mess left by the employees the day before me
I learnt:
- Punctuality
- Working with others as a team
- Better Communication
- Working in a fast-paced environment
Management:
- Learned to manage my time better
- Multi-task especially when working individually as I would be on cash and then once I'm done receiving money from the customer I have to prepare the food for the customer quickly especially if their is a line. I do not spend to long on one order as I get it ready quickly for the customer.
Co-workers:
- Are friendly and easy to work with
Hardest Part of Job:
- when co-workers don't clean up after themselves
- when co-workers don't stock as i end up doing their tasks for them
The most enjoyable part of the Job:
- amazing manager very nice and understanding
- friendly co-workers as they are easy to work with
- discounts on the merchandise
- the friendly customers i deal with, I am satisfied when the customer I am serving is satisfied.
Pros
Employee Discounts
Cons
Employees not cleaning properly or stocking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Environment with Entertainment
Skating/Concession Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON13 June 2013
I learned a lot about customer service and dealing with customers and their demands. The hours were short and easy to fit into my schedule (high school student). Since I was a skating cashier, I would watch people skate or hockey games after I checked everyone in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Town of Milton reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Town of Milton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 26 reviews
511
411
31
21
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Town of Milton Reviews by Location