Toronto General Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toronto General Hospital
Data Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2018
In my experience at TGH I had the opportunity to work in a variety of departments. Every position I had was based around data entry work. In my experience doing data entry I learned to hone my sense of precision and efficiency. Many of my colleagues and management acknowledged TGH being a high-stress work environment, but I generally found the atmosphere to be quite congenial. The hardest part of the job was trying to advance my status in the company. The most enjoyable part was the regular and consistent routine and the foundation it provided for my master's degree project.
Pros
Regular and consistent routine
Cons
High turnover and restructuring of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A temp assignment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2018
Great place to work and the team I worked with were excellent. During my stay, I learned various techniques of doing things that were required and being a fast learner I quickly grasped the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dream
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
Ive worked in the nutrition department for 2 years now, and despite completing my education, I really just want to continue doing what I do. It's welcoming, organised, and allows for a good work life balance.
Pros
Clean, friendly, organised, reasonable management
Cons
Insufficent hours some weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
RN (General and Oncology Surgery) (Current Employee) –  200 Elizabeth Street4 January 2018
One of the top organizations to be apart of. This amazing team, provides great continuity of care and take great pride in their achievements and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
data entry
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 November 2017
i did volunteer job in Toronto General Hospital around 4 months year of 1997. People were very helpful to assist me when ever I asked for.i have learned a lot that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summery
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN STUDENT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 November 2017
That was my internship and was good.
I learnt lot there, from basic compounding to the IV preparation.
positive mixed culture
supporting teaching technician help me to understand basic workflow in the hospital
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2017
A very fast paced environment. The patient population is post cardiovascular surgical so the unit is an acute setup. I have learned many skills during my stay. They include Foley catheter insertion, IV insertions, venapuncture for blood sample collection, Has a healthy workplace culture. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the patients recover and leave the hospital in 4 or 5 days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement opportunities
Project Lead, Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 November 2017
There are many opportunities for advancement within the hospital.
A lot of learning as a nurse, many skill sets and certifications in the Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 November 2017
I had this job as a student, worked part-time including weekends and holidays, however the pay made up for it. Very repetitive work, after a few years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 October 2017
Great company, I would recommend for anyone who's interested in the PHARMACY TECH and loves a company who cares about its employees. Great benefits and company culture is top notch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 September 2017
The hours are long and the job is both physically and emotionally draining. This job is very dependent on team work and the staff work well together in order to achieve an optimal work environment. The work culture enables staff to focus on the tasks involved but makes it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital to work/ team based approach
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
Team based approach
Opportunity to advance
Friendly attitude btn managers vs employees
Health benefits (dental/vision/extended health)
Vacation pay...
Pros
Annual staff appreciation bbq
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience as a capstone team
Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 September 2017
Our team collaborated with doctors from Toronto General Hospital and staff for our Capstone engineering project as part of the University of Toronto. It was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team made work enjoyable
Cancer Rehabilitation and Exercise Intern Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
Very laid back, a lot of freedom. Enjoy what i did while i was there.

I learned a lot as a kinesiology intern student.

However, the slow days can be very slow, so find something to keep you busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under Staffed
EA to Director of Transplant Surgery (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
Continue add responsibilities to your job without further advancement or compensation. Expectations are high, however not recognized for the efforts..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a lot of things to learn in a medical field
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2017
learning to use hospital's EPR systems
maintaining confidentiality of patient's file
ability to work in a busy office.
interacting with co-workers and nurse practitioners
Pros
good workplace to work
Cons
busy environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student placement - Excellent
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 May 2017
Volunteered at Toronto General Hospital for school placement field as a Medical Office Admin.

Tasks included, but not limited to:
- Front desk reception, greeter
- Calling patients for appointment reminders, and initial visits
- Filing and organizing patient files
- Scan, fax etc.,,
- Shadow supervisor for EPR
Pros
Obtain work experience for Medical Office Admin
Cons
Limited access to certain tasks due to volunteer status
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace.
PCA (patient care assistant) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2017
Professional work environment, co workers are very friendly, training is amazing. Good benefits, steady hours, a lot of team work. Fast pace must keep up to expectations.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive and challenging workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2017
With this job I know that I will be able to learn and utilize all the experience that I have accumulated through my other jobs that will have learned over time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Nutrition Aide- warewashing (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2017
long hours and more hours.
you can upgrade position.
secure workplace.
the most enjoyable part of the job is working with awesome people.
workplace culture
Pros
long hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toronto General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 45 reviews
527
413
33
21
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.0Culture

Toronto General Hospital Reviews by Location