Tim Hortons Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Baker (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 February 2018
The is a great place to work. Tim Horton's has very friendly staff, is helpful with your life, and provides good hours. The staff is very friendly to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for a first job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 February 2018
I worked at Tim Hortons for my first job, enjoyed 0% of my time there, management was flakey yet desperate, they constantly asked me to stay late, but would sometimes cancel shifts. No paid breaks, minimum wage, sometimes got underpaid but overall, when I worked there at 15 it taught me about jobs and how they work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start for finding a job
Front Member Team (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2018
You basically do everything in the store: from making coffee, beverages and food.
I learn how to serve customer and improve my communication skills.
There's a lot of work to do there so it's quite exhausted. However, it's a good chance for you to meet people and gain some experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic beneifts and lots of hours
Cashier/Baker (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 February 2018
pretty basic, everything is very easy to learn and you always have hours guaranteed, they are also very good with giving time off when you need it, management is awesome
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
rude customers, but can be dealt with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management stuff are very helpull and friendly.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 February 2018
Working in tim hortons help me to grow and give me more experience. All my co-workers are very friendly and specially my manager help me a lot how to improve my customer service. And treat customer right. P
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Staffs
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 February 2018
" Take customer's order
" Assemble and prepare food and food orders
" Serve customers at counter
" Stock refrigerators and keep records of the quantities of food used
" Receive payment for food items purchased
" General housekeeping duties
" Professionally answer phone calls
Pros
friendly staffs
Cons
super busy and no schedule during summer; store was located in a university that's why
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first experience in customer service
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2018
I had a wonderful time working at Tim Horton's. I had a great manager that hired me at the youngest age they could. He showed me the ins and outs of the company and helped me grow my confidence in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 February 2018
I learned a lot everyday. It was sometimes hard to keep up with the fast paced environment but I made sure work as hard as I could. Working hard and having fun while doing it paid off as I learned a lot about collaboration.
Pros
discount on food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place wasn't very good to work at
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB16 February 2018
i didn't enjoy working at tim hortons at all. they don't treat employees with respect. they left me feeling upset 9 times out of ten and i just couldn't take it anymore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC16 February 2018
Was great until the management got mad over a simple mistake and then blacklisted said employee. It's a good first job as they are very accommodating to students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co workers.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON16 February 2018
Nice working environment. Supervisor cares about the employees. Customers are sometimes hard to deal with. Very fast pace. Stressful and high maintenance. Long shifts with minimal breaks.
Pros
Benefits and good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tim Horton's is a great fast food coffee shop that is fast past and if you got time to lean you got time to clean
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Angus, ON16 February 2018
A typical day at Tim Horton's i would say that it is a cheer full, out going but a hard working team, what i have learned from Tim Horton's is working with new people i didn't know. how to be on time, how to work as a time and how to have great worth ethic's
Pros
meet lots of new people
Cons
shift cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC16 February 2018
I have been working at Tim Hortons Full-time and Part-time. Able to learn good customer service skills. Experienced handling cash.
Experienced taking orders from customers.
Experienced with food and drink.
Friendly co-workers.
Uniform required.
Safety guidelines followed.
Pros
Free Coffee and discount on food while on shift
Cons
Tiring, unrewarding, but. a decent paycheque
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work envirnment
Store Front, Preparation, Team Member (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 February 2018
poor management and took advantage of workers by scheduling night shifts to unqualified members. Management rarely assisted with strorefront with the exception of the assistant manager who was very helpful and hard-working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love timmies
Team Member - Night Shift (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON16 February 2018
Working at Tim Hortons taught me a lot when it comes to customer service.
If you treat your customers they way you want to be treated, they come back.
Fast paced environment and challenging.
Pros
paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and welcoming working for Tim Hortons
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Duncan, BC16 February 2018
i learned how to always have a smile on my face come out of my shell, i learned to work on speed, how to handle a situation appropriately with a customer
Pros
break discounts
Cons
can be very overwhelming sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast-paced environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 February 2018
Tim Hortons is one of the most suitable places to learn working quickly and effectively with the thorough support of co-workers and management. I learned more about team work and how to deal with different customer oriented situations in an effective manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Counter Staff (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 February 2018
Is a great franchise to work for although at a store level the work experience for an employee really depends on how the store is managed. Have worked at 3 locations and only one of them sustained a healthy work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team workers
Cashier and Serve Customers (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2018
Good customers, Good atmosphere, team workers, Flexible hours fun to work with Tim Horton to get good experience in serving customers. Tim Horton is a good place to work as a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work! felt like a family
Front Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON15 February 2018
I loved working at tim hortons! it was stressful at times, however my team made it all the worth while! Met a lot of people and made a lot of different connections! loved being able to turn someones bad day into a good one!
Pros
free drink while working
Cons
when the ice cap machine breaks down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tim Hortons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,100 reviews
53.3K
43.6K
32.9K
2786
1537

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture