The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2018
Good training and great management. Loved working here, was very fun, team members were great. Food was awesome so it was very easy to sell and upsell as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON12 February 2018
in the world could entice me to work for this company again. The previous corporate owners were terrible and no handle on the business. Which is why they sold it. The hardest part of the job was showing up. The most enjoyable was the end of the day.
Pros
Lifetime supply of grease
Cons
The actual job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Works
Front of House Manager (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON27 November 2017
It's a cool place to work at. Staff is great fun to work with. Corp is a bit harder to work with they don't know much about the guests and trying to make all the same but they can't
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of managment and structure
Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2017
this job normally had many great people to work with.
Although a lot of them were rookies to the industry or not very well trained for both front of house and back of house.
They also have a high turn over rate for all positions.
Pros
sometimes free food
Cons
communication was lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced
Head Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2017
I have been working at the WORKS Orleans for over seven years. I began my tenure their as a dishwasher when I was fifteen. I have worked hard over the years and have never stopped moving up. Today, I am the lead line cook, and occasionally manage the restaurant. My co-workers are amazing people, and excellent workers.
Pros
50% off food
Cons
12+ hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 September 2017
I learned leadership skills, great multitasking skills, developed my people skills and learned how to operate a restaurant as a whole. I was given opportunities for advancement in both front and back of house.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality ingredients, busy services good hours and good pay.
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 September 2017
The Works burger bistro produces high quality food In a family friendly environment, providing a safe and clean equipment and work space for employees.
Pros
Fun and clean environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Front of House Manager (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 August 2017
Great culture, and great staff. Some great managers however general managers are not expected to put in the the work that they take credit for. Very fast environment.
Pros
Free meals, amazing staff
Cons
General Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like burgers, you'll love The Works
Manager/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 May 2017
A typical day at work includes working with awesome people, being taught by knowledgeable co-workers and welcomed into a great and fun job culture. - Would recommend.
Pros
Some of the best food you'll ever have
Cons
You won't like burgers anywhere else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Dishwasher/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON8 May 2017
The Works Bistro was a fun place to work. For a first job, the atmosphere and staff made the shifts go by very quickly. Learning about food safety and food preparation and cleaning are valuable experiences for the future.
Pros
Discount on meals
Cons
Cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON2 May 2017
Boss is a sociopath franchises is aweful.
No separation of home and work life and employment is a revolving door.

Good thing about it is that promotions aren't a problem cause after about 6 months you will have seniority
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place, poor management
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 April 2017
It started off great, however they do not take your suggestions into account and do not move you from one aspect from the job if you are not comfortable doing it. They do not take into account the employees wants and needs very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal restaurant with an acceptable team
Server and Host (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 March 2017
Not every restaurant job can be as accommodating as The Works. I worked for a highly respectable and hard working employer, and I worked as part of a very dedicated team, which was equal parts fun and professional. However, there were times, especially in my last year of employment, that I felt myself bored of the repetition, and in need of something a little more self driven. The hours were minuscule, particularly during the summer, but the pay was reasonable and the restaurant closed early enough for employees to maintain healthy sleeping habits.
Pros
Decent Tips, despite the small location
Cons
Repetitious and Fast Paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Teamwork related environment, amazing coworkers
hostess (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 March 2017
It is an amazing place to work honestly. I enjoy working with everybody because they are so kind and I just love everybody there. I have learned everything I know about hosting, the servers are very helpful with teaching me new things everyday. All of the managers are amazing at their job, they are kind and make sure everybody is on task but in a nice way. The hardest part of the job is not getting enough hours, if I were to have hours through the week instead of just on the weekend it would be a perfect job. The most enjoyable part is seating guests and just chatting with them about anything, I truly love meeting new people and seeing familiar faces. I love what I do.
Pros
50% off, great people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, not so much with your pay.
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 January 2017
Nice place to work, people are nice enough and friendly but there is a lot of politics. The money is minimum wage and getting a little takes a lot of work. Definitely can't support a household or even an apartment.
Pros
Tip Out
Cons
In House Poltics
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 January 2017
A great team of cooks, ready and willing to work hard and accurately. The lack of management made the working environment hard to cope with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are good!
Front of House Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2016
A great place to work to get into management! They offer guidance and support, while allowing you to find your feet. A great vibe and work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 November 2016
They are a great place to work and eat all fresh food and good times. Really fun atmosphere. Busy all the time fast paced environment to work in good organization.
Pros
Good ppl working there
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Works - A fun work environment for a restaurant
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON8 September 2016
- kitchen and floor duties
- maintenance work
- management was great
- co-workers were great
- fast pace in the kitchen on busy days
- employees made it enjoyable
Pros
Free meal every shift
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of my job
Dish washer/ Line Cook (Former Employee) –  60 James st4 August 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job was to give the customers the proper quantity, and quality that they paid for. Also, I enjoyed helping my co-workers and management. I learned a tremendous amount working at The Works, such as, excelling using deep fryers, the grill, and working at a fast pace.
Pros
Helping people out
Cons
Taking on 4 jobs at once.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 35 reviews
515
410
35
24
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture