The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive; Lots of team building
Volunteering (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON11 July 2018
I found it to be a great workplace, the management is fine to work with and they communicate with you, and guide you through different tasks, it's a great place to develop team building skills asmust communicate with other workers, and during my time there, I found it to be a very friendly place to work
Cons
lots of dust and dirt as you work with second hand objects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly and outgoing people
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Springhill, NS7 July 2018
I worked here doing volunteer work as a teen. I really enjoyed working with the ladies who work here. They are all very good people , and the job wasn't terrible either .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience working alongside team players.
RETAIL ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 July 2018
I always stop by a salvation thrift store, when I am in the neighborhood. The staff are the best, and very engaging. Working for Salvation Army gave me great to joy to be able to give back to the community, by supporting the cause, by helping people during unexpected times of loss , and rebuilding lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON25 June 2018
I volunteered at the Salvation Army Food bank as well as the Christmas drive. We usually start early before open to prepared the boxes in advanced so when the families arrived it was efficient and smooth. Some days were really busy while others were quite but there was always something to do like organize the canned food or separate other products we received. Every who volunteered and who worked there were very welcoming and understanding, they always put a smile on my face. The best art of working there was being able to satisfy and provide for the families in need, it really did make me happy to help families be cared for. This was also the hardest part some families would ask for more then what was given and it was hard because we only got so much food from the deliveries that we were only able to give so much. I would have to turn down the family with providing more and it was hard to do sometimes. working there was really fun and a great experience i would definitely work there again
Pros
Able to create your own hours to best suit you
Cons
almost always on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Personal Support Worker - Externship (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 June 2018
serve coffee and snack
how to do daily range of motion exercises
management we great
staff was welcoming and made you and the clients comfortable
when my placement was done
interacting with the staff and clients
Pros
fun activities
Cons
my placement ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be amazing
Residential Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 June 2018
Used to be very client focused now they just care about $$. Workers are having to do a great deal more than they are qualified for. They keep saying there is no money for a raise, yet keep hiring more management and expanding the agency. They aren't even caring for what they have now
Pros
some managers are supportive and trustworthy
Cons
new director is running it down
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Child and Youth Worker(Student) (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 June 2018
i worked with young offenders, it was a good oppertunity to be able to work with youths whom needed help to thrive. It was a student placement, and it was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for Canadian work experience
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2018
Meet and support a diverse clientele
Good networking opportunities
Good for maintaining my physical fitness
Opportunity to learn all aspects of workplace health and safety standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, accepting, fast paced
Camp staff (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2018
Wonderful people, excellent working environment, enjoyable position building relationships with campers and co-workers in a fun loving fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 June 2018
I loved working for Salvation Army
One of the best places to work for.
Excellent teamwork, good environment.
The manager was great, flexible and understanding.
Pros
Good teamwork
Cons
casual
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Manager
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON9 June 2018
When I started it was a great opportunity to provide service that was needed within our city. After awhile cut backs to services limited me to provide the services the clients needed and I felt the job was not for me anymore.
Pros
hours
Cons
too much change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to gain experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 June 2018
A typical day working at the thrift store would be helping customers, sorting and recieving donations, maintaining store appearance. Hardest part of the job is probably working in a environment with a musty smell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS1 June 2018
I learned a lot about myself at this job. I also gained skills which are useful in the workplace. Unfortunately, I had to stop volunteering when I began taking on more hours at my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salvation army
Kettle Helper (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC31 May 2018
i love the hours i loved meeting new people and love the money the hours and i love seeing new faces got to sit if need be and i was able to go if not well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Retail Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 May 2018
It was great working here as my colleagues were easy to get along with. The key thing that made me work here was the flexible hours. I also liked the manager as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON27 May 2018
I chose to volunteer in Salvation Army when I was in the secondary school. I organized the things people donated to different categaries and labelled the price.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and clean
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 May 2018
All employees worked hard and went above and beyond to meet personal and group goals. Guest treated well and attended to accordingly. Store kept clean and in prestine condition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT18 May 2018
It was alright work as I was able to do my own hours and I was glad that I was able to help out the staff that appreciated the extra hand. It was an experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work review
Server (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, British Columbia9 May 2018
Very nice and very friendly workers. It is really fast paced and requires a lot of focus on the job. I got to help the homeless out who are in need. So yeah very satisfying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent high school job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC9 May 2018
I worked this job while i was in high school, or rather, supposed to be in high school. The treated me really well for a kid among all the men, especially a high school kid. But a great place to work for sure.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Dead-end
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 8,263 reviews
53.6K
42.2K
31.5K
2469
1428

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture