The Old Spaghetti Factory Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff are amazing
Server (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC29 March 2018
The general manager is pretty harsh to staff, the staff are absolutely amazing. Customers are awful... Tips are mediocre, kitchen staff are young and immature but the AKM is amazing.
Pros
staff
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively and entertaining workplace with amazing staff
Server (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC28 March 2018
At the Old Spaghetti Factory in New West, or as we like to call it, Spag, a typical day consists of playing some Super Smash Bros in the staff room before heading downstairs to greet my first table.
Depending on which section I'm in, I may have 4 to 5 tables, or 1 giant one awaiting a party of 20 kids, you never know. Out of the 3 restaurants I have had the opportunity to work at, Spag has been by far my most favorable, for a majority of reasons. Not only are the managers so caring about their staff, I can rely on them for anything and they're always there to help me out. All the servers, bussers, kitchen guys, hosts, everyone's friends with everyone, on the job and after hours. I've never worked with a more ambitious and hard working team, putting in that 100% effort to make the restaurant run as smoothly as possible. The job can definitely get tough sometimes, with being a server I experience all different types people throughout the shift, but at the end of the day you just gotta "kill them with kindness". I think The Old Spaghetti Factory is an amazing place for people with or without experience, because everyone is given an equal opportunity to excel and succeed, and you'll be adopted into a second family.
Pros
amazing staff, meal discount, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but horrible management
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 March 2018
The staff is all extremely friendly and fun to work with, you get to know them quick and fall in love with a lot of them. However, the management is a total joke. They see staff as pawns that they can move around as they see fit; your days of availability don't mean anything to them and they'll schedule you anyways, they'll fire you at the drop of a hat (often when no mistakes have been made), and following the closing of the downtown location job security has also been a major concern.
Pros
Free food (must be earned), amazing coworkers
Cons
Don't listen to your availability, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome people!! awesome management who are always there when you need them.
Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 February 2018
i love working here. a typical day at work includes being surrounded by helpful and supportive people, as well as dealing with customers and having fun wile doing so! the management is awesome. they are always there to lend a helping hand and have hearts of gold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Managment
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC12 February 2018
The Ceo was very rude and has made staff cry there, and was kind of a bully. Only thing good about the job was that they gave me ALOT of hours and I got to work alot and make good money.
Pros
Free spaghetti, or fries
Cons
Rest of the food on the menu you have to pay for even as an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and enthusiastic environment.
Cleaner (PT, Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB7 February 2018
The Old Spaghetti Factory is very well managed and organized, with a great group of managers. The Old Spaghetti Factory has a high level of enthusiasm and energy and I looked forward to going into each and every shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all around good place to work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC9 December 2017
Things to do were clear and concise. Often a shortage of bussers; hostesses were to occasionally bus and assist servers which was a nice break from talking to patrons. Trying to get taken off the payroll was a bit difficult.
Pros
Good discounts on food
Cons
Questionable coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Head Busser/ Desk Supervisor/ Expediter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 November 2017
it was a good work environment. Some days were harder than others but you get through it because you're working with some great people that are always there to help when you need a hand.
Pros
good people
Cons
babies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to have while going to school
Server/Cook (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC2 November 2017
The spag is a fun place to work for a young person. Flexible hours, decent pay for an entry level job, and lots of other young people. This was my job all through university and I loved it until a jerky boss took over our location and decided no one should ever enjoy working.
Pros
The meat sauce is great.
Cons
It's a job, not a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive, friendly
Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 October 2017
Very fast paced, can get messy, friendly staff and management, a lot to learn to become a server, may end up covering for those who call in sick which can become a very difficult task
Pros
Free spaghetti
Cons
busy late shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about The Old Spaghetti Factory?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun at the same time
Lead Hostess/ Busser (Former Employee) –  Whistler BC9 October 2017
Spag factory was a fun place to work but it also meant getting to work on busy nights and not having the time to enjoy it much as it was always very booked out on the weekends.
Pros
good food and employees
Cons
not free staff meals and not reliable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work!
Host/Expo/Busser (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC29 September 2017
Great co-workers and management team and overall a super enjoyable place to work. Always tons of new opportunities in the restaurant and chances to meet new people.
Pros
Flexible/Self controlled Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place i worked at for work experience
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  downtown vancouver bc14 August 2017
i worked there for two weeks, was not the best, its okay for like student jobs but for a long term, i wouldnt. foods are so oily, same restock on all duties. not so clean.
Pros
you get big cause all you do is eat.
Cons
no one really talks at work or does anything just work and leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, lots of friendly people. Workplace is fast and fun. Management can be very iffy at times but most of the time are great.
Busser/Expo (Current Employee) –  472 36 St NE Calgary Alberta31 July 2017
Day consists of clearing and setting tables occasionally running food. I learned to importance of team work in a restaurant environment and how to properly handle situations. Management as people are great! As managers they can either really nice and relaxed and some can be very up tight. The workplace culture is a fantastic mix of seriousness and fun. The hardest part about the job is dealing with stubborn people and the occasional lifting. The most enjoyable part of the job is 100% the people you work with, they are light heart-ed and very easy to get along with.
Pros
Friendly and fun environment to work in.
Cons
Taking time off is a pain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Busser/Server (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC12 July 2017
taking peoples orders serving them in a timely manner
learned how to bus and take orders as a server
Management is nice but did not communicate well with scheduling
Everyone is nice and help you if you need it
Hardest part of the job is taking orders and memorizing tables
Enjoyable part is the feeling of having no more tables at the end of the night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Spaghetti Factory Gastown Vancouver
Back of House (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC Gastown9 July 2017
Old Spaghetti Factory Gastown Vancouver is a extremely awesome place to work. Excellent GM, managers, and co-workers who are very humble, team oriented and very welcoming. Basically people there treats you like family and the GM and the assistant GM are very caring and they're also extremely hands on and will help people and they have no egos and they're very humble and will praise you and they're also good at their jobs. They lead by example and they will cheer you up when you're sad and they make you want to come to work and they make work fun. On the whole, this place is very team-oriented and people helping other people here are the norm. I have nothing but good stuff to say about this place
Pros
Excellent GM, managers and co-workers, very friendly environment, team oriented place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
It was a fun job and taught me how to balance a lot of things at once. But the management was terrible and didn't really care about any of their employers, making them work 6-7 shifts a week sometimes, scheduling them to work doubles, and would write people up when they would complain. The owner and GM would make people constantly cry as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
babysitting
babysitter (Current Employee) –  Lake Country, BC5 July 2017
babysitting two younger sisters
very busy
requires patience and compassion
good food
free meals
fun playing with sisters
lots of building and creating
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family oriented restaurant
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 June 2017
The downtown location has many regular guests who've become a part of the family. It feels like home and I enjoy working here. Every part of the team helps each other and the management is very understanding and helpful to new servers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 May 2017
Every person that worked there were very welcoming and very polite. I always enjoyed going to work everyday because it was always an enjoyable time. The management was excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Old Spaghetti Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 342 reviews
595
496
392
239
120

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture