The Mobile Shop Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 83 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SALES EXPERT (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 July 2018
Nice management, cooperative.
Pay is good and according to your performance you gets reward and fun to work.
Good commission if you know hoe to work and how to do selling
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC13 June 2018
Mobile shop is a fun place to work and a great company to manage for, A lot of there manager are hired from within and they have a great incentive program. They don't pay managers as much as other company's but They give people with no management experience a shot at the same time
Pros
Lots of room to move up in the company, ( Not a company that says this and does not follow through) they actually promote within
Cons
Some locations are slow and its hard to make a good amount of commission at some locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, good commission structure
Mobile Expert, Assistant / Acting Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario10 May 2018
This job experience will vary vastly on your direct superior and the location you're working in (income, competition, reception, etc). Low-income stores will be more difficult to make sales in, but consequently will have lower volume targets. The wrong manager can be a curse - my store more than doubled our volume when my first manager was replaced. To mitigate that you should make friends with people all around your district and ask for their input, suggestions, etc if your mgr isn't helpful, or if you're struggling with a specific problem.

The vast majority of the company are friendly, open to suggestions and encourage creativity to bring in clients and achieve targets. If you take initiative and have a good attitude, your coworkers across the district and company will notice. People will send you a phone from across the country, even if they've never talked to you before. I've found some stores that go AGAINST policy to help you out when you need it. If I had a procedure problem or needed advice I could call anyone in my district for help. Take advantage of this!

The biggest hurdle is getting comfortable with activation and selling; once you're comfortable with your clients and the system you have the chance to really make money. Encouraging strangers to buy from you is really uncomfortable at first but will become second nature if you work at it. Understand that sales is a numbers game and you won't get every client.

Some targets made no sense (much of the MSA program is supposed to be followed to a T; I was much more creative with it and found that worked better).
  more...

Conference calls were annoying as heck. Depending on the district these happen 3+ times a week at least and early in the morning (for managers). I hated them.

Company incentives were awesome, including a $250 - $1000 referral bonus, company trip for top sellers (which is great), brand spiffs and contests,sports tickets with your team, and great commission structure.

Their benefits package is based on hitting a minimum sales target, which is a hurdle but certainly doable at full-time status. Even in one of the slowest locations the team well exceeded it.

Met executives / CEO and they were also very friendly. TMS seems to genuinely care about their employees and balance that with the business side of things.

I would argue it's hard to advance past a Manager or Territory Manager position. I know several employees who left due to not being promoted when they should have certainly been qualified. However a good TM or manager will make amazing bonuses and incentives.
  less
Pros
Contests + Incentives, Brand Knowledge, Company Culture
Cons
Raising targets, non-receptive clients, targets for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
Mobile Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ontario31 March 2018
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gaining confidence
Part Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Don Mills, ON16 March 2018
This job allowed me to improve my public speaking skills with customers whenever I would interact with them. Made me gain more knowledge in the aspect of cell phones and carrier networks. The one thing I learned from this work is the importance of "customers for life" policy. It made me realize that it's easy to sell anything to a customer but implementing this policy allows you not only sell them what the want but to build trust with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting when it is busy
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON13 March 2018
Although there is the possibility of significant earning via commission, staff are limited by the market location. Rural locations tended to perform significantly better, thus more bonuses, due to being one of few mobile providers. Locations in the GTA struggled due to market saturation. Management provided many theoretical solutions but they ultimately fell flat due to a location's customer volume.
Pros
Commission
Cons
High turnover of part tiem staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Mobile Advisor (Former Employee) –  Western Canada24 February 2018
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work area
customer support (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 January 2018
Getting work/sales done while having great conversations with clients/customers. Day to day excitement with bonuses and challenges from head office and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Store Manager/ Mobile Expert (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 December 2017
good place to work and gain experience in the cellular industry, I had a good experience learning about the different carriers and how the industry worked.
Pros
Commision
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Team
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS19 October 2017
The Mobile Shop is an incredible company. It has it's customers needs at the forefront. Management are easy to work with as well..
Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine
Phone Advisor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 October 2017
The job is all about routine. The kiosk is all about maintaining a routine of how things are done. Money count, advertising on phones, cleaning, changing marketing material, opening packages, maintaining a count of all stocks including phones and other accessories. Thats pretty much it, maintain a checklist of all things in the kiosk and be up front and honest with your customer and you will be just fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment to work in.
Wireless Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK29 September 2017
Great enviroment to work in. Building customer relations and worling with phones all day is enjoyable. Overall I've enjoyed my time here at The Mobole Shop.
Pros
Hours, Pay, The people
Cons
Head office, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 20Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 stars
Retail sales manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 September 2017
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 stars
Mobile Expert (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON30 August 2017
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
Customer Service Rep/Insurance Rep (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB19 June 2017
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON17 May 2017
i did not like working at the mobile shop, i felt like i was set up for failure i was not trained fully i feel like i needed more training. I would not recommend working there
Pros
n/a
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Experience
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON14 May 2017
good place to work, coworkers are great and selling is very easy because they really do offer the best choices to customers. Compensation structure is good (base+commission) and commission pays out well if you are making good on your sales targets (typically about half of your total earnings). Territory management is not good, not sure what these individuals get paid for because they never visit the retail locations, simply send out e-mail blasts every morning and afternoon. Overall f you are considering the industry, pick the Mobile Shop over and defined communications provider, customers will appreciate you more and you actually have the potential to make more.
Pros
Commision, reputation and coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smooth integration with other PC products
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON10 May 2017
Like any other other telecommunications sales position.
Advantages lie in the implementation of PC points as incentives to further sales through co-op selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Mobile Advisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON6 April 2017
great work place management at the time wasn't the greatest commission based work place. dealing with seven different carries benefits are good. have to deal with customer all day that means customer service is key and selling is to top it off by winning the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Students
Customer Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2017
Great place for students
Flexible in hours
Great pay with commission
Great Employee Discount
Most stores are easily accessible using the TTC
Ability to move up
Pros
Employee Discount
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Mobile Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 83 reviews
513
422
322
27
119

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture