The Mobile Shop Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON17 May 2017
i did not like working at the mobile shop, i felt like i was set up for failure i was not trained fully i feel like i needed more training. I would not recommend working there
Pros
n/a
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC21 February 2017
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better when owned by Match Marketing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON17 February 2017
This was a great place to work when it was owned by match marketing then it changed hands and things became a bit more rocky. They were constantly hiring and firing people higher up so it was difficult to know who was your support person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 July 2015
Great place to work we sold all the mobile carriers in the area, loved the sales, customers and the products and plans we had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 20Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and engaging work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 August 2014
It was a great learning experience as the sales associates held a lot of the responsibility. Everything from promotional strategies to engaging the customer, taking care of logistics, and billing procedures was done by the sales associates. It was a fast paced environment as there was only a few employees working at a time so one was always on their toes pitching the product to a constant flow of new potential clients. The coworkers were easy to get a long with and the environment of the kiosk was full of opportunity. The most difficult part of the job was trying to convey additional sales strategies to the regional management team that was never on the floor and was detached from a specific locations needs. However, the most enjoyable part was the fact that it was on the sales associates shoulders to perform.
Pros
Sales associates held loads of responsibility
Cons
Sub par commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON3 December 2013
I loved this job because I was able to convince the public to buy and receive the best deals for them. I first started at the bottom of the rating scale list and within a month I moved up to number one in Ontario. Got a raise and full time. Had to leave due to an employee taking my commissions. Overall though loved working there.
Pros
Great manager
Cons
One unethical employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, bad management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 November 2013
Although I loved the job itself, I was not to thrilled with the way the management worked. In the nine months that I worked there, I had had a total of five different managers, as well as working for two months without a manager. The system we used did not allow associates to do ordering or solve any problems we might of had. Therefore, nothing got done. I found the only way to get things done was to reach out to the other managers and have them order to their location and then ship it to us. This worked for a while. But it takes twice as long to get the product, and you get more unhappy customers who wont return to you in the future. The schedule for the store would be posted at most one week in advance and at least three times a week I would be stuck doing a ten hour shift, by myself. In the end, the only reason I ended up leaving was because in April I had applied to take a vacation of ten days from June sixth to the sixteenth. (To which I had no problem it being an un-payed vacation) I was told there would be no issue in me taking it, so I got my stuff ready for my vacation. On the third of June I was informed that I would not be able to take my vacation due to no staffing. I called our other stores in the area and the managers were more then willing to send some employees to cover me as all of the stores had an hour budget. I brought this up to my district manager and he still told me I couldn't take it. Having everything already paid for and ready to go I told him that my last day would be the fifth of June. It had very much upset me it turned out that way. I loved the  more... job and I was very good at it.  less
Pros
Product knowledge before it's released to customers.
Cons
Crazy hours, difficult management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educating on mobile services!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON12 January 2013
The Mobile Shop was only opening when I was hired. We had very minimal customers at the beginning and we were learning about the multiple computer programs we had to use to every day use. It was nice that our manager was learning to use the programs along with us because he only had seen them a handful of times but had never been trained on the online programs we needed to use. My co-workers were very fun to be around and they seemed to make my shift go by faster when we weren't training or didn't have customers. They were very open and friendly! The hardest part of the job was wanting to help people but not having a lot of customers because the kiosk was brand new and was opened close to Christmas so many people were in too much of a rush to stop to check out cell phones. The most enjoyable part was being able to see new devices and work with multiple cell phone providers and being able to compare them and help customers figure out what provider was best for them,
Pros
free cell phone, discount on cell phone bill
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report

See more The Mobile Shop reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Mobile Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 82 reviews
513
422
321
27
119

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture