The Miller Group Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working at miller happy for all the training
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON20 November 2018
I am thankful for the training they provided me to continue to forward my career and would like to say they have a good group of employees to work with. the management team works hard to keep employees safe
Pros
good work hours
Cons
only seasonal/summer work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON1 December 2018
I'm currently with miller and this place is great. Awesome pay and management treat their employee's awesome and are very fair! Everyone saying it's "seasonal/summer" work. I've been here all year-round! You won't regret working here!
Pros
Co workers, breaks, relaxed environment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work Culture but Good job
Patrolman/ Crash Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 September 2018
Miller Group is one of those jobs thats really great to have as its a steady pay with full time hours and benefits. It is just not always the safest being out on the side of the highways. Especially QEW.
Pros
Steady Salary
Cons
Safety Concern HIGHWAY
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Equipment Operator/Plow Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 December 2018
Good place to work bad work life balance good opportunityies to learn new things and meet new people managemnet is great very friendly benefits arent the greatest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tierd and stressful
Road Crew (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2018
Too many chiefs poor conditions,in one ear out the other..managment favors family more than others ,unsafe job sites road crews overworked then shorted on pay hours,
Pros
Free water in cooler jugs
Cons
Laid off every year
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Driver (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON26 October 2018
Management with no managerial education/skills.
Management makes sure on a bad work culture.
Management changes rules to only benefit them.
Every year gets slower and slower.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Read above
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON7 December 2018
The miller group is a good company to work for, management care, there isnt much more to say, the company is a good company to work for, management is good.
Pros
great pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2018
Enjoyed my time with the Miller Group.

I would recommend this company to anyone working in the construction industry.

Management takes the time to advance those willing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for advancement.
General Manager Miller Paving North Bay (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON16 March 2018
Over 15 years at the Miller Group I advanced my career into new positions several times. Miller supported my desire for growth but near the end I found the company's focus was changing and I no longer fit in. I chose to change my career focus at that time.
Pros
Privately owned. Career advancement
Cons
Change of management focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to balance family and personal time
Transit Bus Operator And Maintenance Crew (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 February 2018
Although the pay rate and support from the supervisors, trainers and management are terrific, the balance of life and family time doesn't work well, no matter how you route or manage your time.

It's not their fault. It's the nature of the buisness.
Pros
Good pay, great training, good equipment
Cons
Difficult to balance personal time, hours are long and split shifts are not pleasant
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Georgina, ON25 June 2018
on call 24/7 for winter events a team of men and women would take to the roads in plough trucks clearing and maintaining roads and highways for safe travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend working for this company
Field Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 March 2018
I do not recommend working for this company. They do not value their employees as much as they need to. Employees get laid off during the winter every year.
Pros
Good and friendly work environment
Cons
Very low job security (people get laid of during the winter all the time)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a relaxed atmosphere to get the job done
Engineer Trainee - Projects (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON3 March 2018
a very organized and well respected team to work with. there are some policy that everybody has to follow, which is not that big of a deal. it is more for your own safety. it was a great period and I'm glad I had the opportunity to work at the Miller Group
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Labourer/Flag Person (Former Employee) –  Arnprior, ON22 March 2018
Great company and great employees. Always meeting deadlines and guidelines on time and providing staff with nessecities. overall a fun work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON15 January 2018
good company to work for. was able to learn a lot from this company. management was excellent and always tried to place us on the job where we were most productive and efficient.
Pros
competitive wages
Cons
worked outside in all weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another day another dollar
Scale House Operator (Former Employee) –  Maxwell, ON17 October 2017
my typical day working for the Miller Group. I would get to the pit at 6 in the morning to start filling out the safety papers for all the workers to sign when they sign in for work. All the trucks would line up to get weighted and their tickets to take off on the road for the start of the day. Then in no time the work day was over, I'd fill in all the paper work needed then close up the scale house.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
construction
Head Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON27 October 2017
you learn alot when it comes to the operations side on how a product is made into a finished product and sold. great experience when it comes to learning how to operate machines from loaders to screeners and so forth
Pros
alot of hours
Cons
weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miller Paving
Project Manager/Estimator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2018
- poor management
- poor training
- promises are never kept
- good project
- good people to work with on field level
- poor pay scale
- no promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Inspector/Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON24 October 2017
If it had not been for my father being sick and havint to relocate in order to care for him in his final days I would still be employed with Miller. If relocating were an option at this point in my l;ife i would go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Snow Plow Operator (Former Employee) –  Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON29 November 2017
It is seasonal work . you only work when it snows. the shifts are twelve hours long. most of the time you are working all night and in the worst weather conditions possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Miller Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 58 reviews
524
418
33
27
16

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture