The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Employee Reviews in Ottawa, ON

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 532 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffessional and social work environment
Human Resources & Guest Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2019
Often fast paced. Very team oriented work place. Can sometimes be competitive but in a healthy way.
Great opportunities for advancement within the company.
Met most of my closest friends via this workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and management, overall fun workplace
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 April 2019
The keg is an excellent workplace for those who enjoy interacting with others but can also handle working in a fast-paced environment. The management is extremely professional and the coworkers are incredibly friendly. Washing dishes is hard work and is not always enjoyable but the people around you easily make up for it.
Pros
Friendly staff, discount on food
Cons
Late hours, work is hard on the hands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, unorganized management
Busser (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 January 2019
Like I said the workers are amazing, however the management act like children, they do not communicate to each other and are very unaccommodating to your work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best restaurant I have ever worked in and for.
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 April 2018
The Keg is a fun, fast paced environment that is managed very well. A clear indication of why The Keg is such a successful establishment. Not only taking care of their gusts they take very good care of their employees.
Pros
Quick shifts
Cons
Working evening
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Busser (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2018
Fast paced with a good atmosphere most of the time. People tend to be under stress more often than other types of occupations as the deadlines are constant and the tasks that are needed to be done are numerous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job, great people and room for growth
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 December 2017
I have been working at the keg since the age of 16 and I can not say that there's no other place for room for growth. If I had to pick between corporate or franchise I'd definitely pick a franchise. It's unfortunate that if you hit overtime, the excess hours will be added to next week's pay. Eligibility for benefits is hard to obtain unless your full time in the manager's opinion.
Pros
Discounts, Room for growth, Consistent food
Cons
Long hours, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2017
I have worked for the Keg overall for a while now, been at different locations. There is definitely a difference between corporate and franchise, if I had a preference I would pick corporate. Everyone gets along, scheduling can sometimes be an issue but for the most part, we make it work.
Pros
The discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Salad Bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 August 2017
Good place to eat, great steak, affordable prices. Friendly staff, waiters are attentive and managers willing to accommodate you. Allergies etc not an issue.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Busy location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible staff, Well managed, Gain respect
Server (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 July 2017
Incredible restaurant that teaches the staff through intensive training to ensure everyone represents the company the the highest standards. We respect what needs to be done, the management, each other and our guests. This results in a very enjoyable work environment. When you say you work there, people automatically show a sign of respect that you might not get from other places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Kitchen Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 March 2017
Staff are great, food is excellent would recommend if you are looking for a great meal and a nice night out...

Kitchen knows their stuff and the food is always consistent!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience with meeting new people in a fast-paced enviroment
Bartender/Bar Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 January 2017
I love working for the Keg. I have been employed there for many years. It started when I was in first year university and I have continued to work there thru the birth of my son as well as returning after maternity leave. It is a wonderful place to work allowing everyday to be something different and always meeting new people.
Pros
Everyday is different
Cons
Working evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thre was always lota of work and lots of fun to be had
Line cook and prep cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 November 2016
It was a well oiled machine that could feed up to 600 people a night I enjoyed working there with all the staff the people where great and the management was experiences so it made working there quite easy
Pros
Benifitea
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2016
I love working at The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. The management really cares about their staff and everyone is very friendly with one another! The clientele we deal with are always such a pleasure to serve and I couldn't ask for a better job!
Pros
40% off, flexible hours, great management
Cons
It gets really busy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment, fun place to work at, smart business approach.
Head Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 June 2016
Amazing company to work for. Very reliable, organized, well structured, rewarding.
The way The Keg does business is very innovative to me, it gives you the tolls to succeed, everything is controlled and well thought, not to mention the consistency of the food, service, management.
Pros
Anything you can imagine. Steady work, great trainer program, great staff, very professional line of work.
Cons
It's not open during the day, only evening shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dinning Room Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa On26 March 2015
Great job to have as a full time employee or as a second job. Most locations don't open before 4pm so you can still have a day job and make extra money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Kitchen Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 August 2013
Great Franchisee in Ottawa.

Great people when it comes to management and staff members.

Great all around food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more The Keg Steakhouse + Bar reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Keg Steakhouse + Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 532 reviews
5279
4157
365
216
115

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture