The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy
Lumber associate (Former Employee) –  St. Clair, ON5 April 2018
this was a starter job for me at 18 years old. it was fun i learned a lot management was easy to deal with the job duties were simple....keep things clean deal with customers help where you could and be on time
Pros
easy work
Cons
didnt have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it’s cracked up to be
Packdown (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 April 2018
The safety program is overly stupid,the department supervisors are control freaks,communication between employees not great and the only friendly staff is on day shift,minimum wage work,if you go there keep looking for other work!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Over Night Freight (Former Employee) –  Langford, BC5 April 2018
Great place to work lots of lifting so if you have a problem lifting stuff then this would not be the place for you. I worked the night shift so it was great and the people were friendly and helpful. You have to be able to work independently and as a team to make sure things get done. The manager was cool very easy going and easy to talk to if you had any concerns or issues.
Pros
Great pay and benefits, Great people to work with.
Cons
On your feet all the time, Lots of lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management has good plans, but operational lack for execution
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC5 April 2018
The company has pursued for leadership and inspired at all levels, but the upper management is struggled on how to motivate and how to operate (execution).
Pros
support for continuous learning
Cons
work schedule is changing continually
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balance registers prepare deposits order store supplies
Vault Associate (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON5 April 2018
Great employer very positive management great support and loads of fun employee activities. I daily go in at 6 am and balance all registers do all deposits, fix schedule errors-it is punch clock and errors occur,order supplies as different departments store supplies paint sticks,bags. Team members were always very supportive and most outgoing but there are always those few that take advantage. Hardest part of job is improper training and little support there but don't worry you will get it this is very frustrating to me I like knowing my job 100%.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2018
The goal is to work hard for the customer so they have a great shopping experience. Small teams allow you to make an impact to the company's goals daily. Fresh and creative ideas are welcomed and challenged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work Here
Sales Associate/MET Associate (Former Employee) –  Parry Sound, ON3 April 2018
Not a great place to work. Constantly told you will advance in the company yet you are consistently held back. Management was brutal, all for one, no one worked together to better the work environment. Everyone is miserable all the time, it was always someone else's problem and management will do the least they can to help. The most enjoyable part of working there was punching out at the end of the day.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 April 2018
awesome job especially for students lots of room to advance great benefits. Great place for people looking for good hours and a strong company to believe in
Pros
benefits
Cons
inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different learning opportunities everyday
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ON2 April 2018
A typical work day is to come in and work 7 reports from orders processed from the day before. Continually answering calls and customer's questions, concerns and complaints, as well an answering any question other associates have in the store. Cashing customer out and processing returns. Building orders, as well as signing them out when customer's come in to pick up their orders, whether it is stock, special order, Buy Online Pick-up In Store, order online orders. It can be a fast paced environment in which one needs to multitask as well as prioritize each situation you come across. each day is a new day with different situations and scenarios, which allow you to learn and grow your customer service skills, problem solving and communication skills.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Scattered Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay at store level
Support Centre Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2018
I have been over 7 years with Home Depot and the experience at the store level was amazing, benefits are great and most managers are excellent, I started as an associate and made my way to supervisor, moved to the Head Office where I encountered an environment filled with politics and lack of support to supervisor level leadership specialy fro HR, they where focused on making the best for associates that had the potential to complaint, and the ones that where quiet and always "took the beating" where hold accountable much more, and this goes for the supervisor level as well, it definitely felt as mediocre People are being taken care of just to save some conflict.
Pros
Benefits, store environment
Cons
HR lack of support and constant focus on the wrong people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with lots of moving up opportunities.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC29 March 2018
HD is a great company that knows how to take care of people internally ( associates) or externally ( customers)
this company has a lot to offer from an excellent benefit to opportunities for moving up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Run Run
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB27 March 2018
worked as a customer service rep in the seasonal isle as part time. constantly told to keep helping the customer no matter the department but if I left my department to help a customer I would get in trouble for it. Promised lots of hours but I never got past 20 and the hours would always be at awkward times so i couldn't get a second one. took Cashier training to see if i could help cover some shifts to increase my hours only to be permanently moved to cash with the same hours as before.
Pros
paid training and you can milk it
Cons
they will lie to you about how much you can work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 March 2018
Love the associates and culture!
Treated with respect! they help you move up if you show effort and the wanting ot learn as well. not a toxic environment to work in at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great values and commitment to the community
Supervisor for Plumbing dept (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON26 March 2018
A typical day at work involves working has a team. unloading and loading trucks with products.
i am one of the managers on duty at night.
The hardest part is not having enough time to get all the jobs done.
But i am fully 100% commited my job and helping the community.
Pros
great company to work for
Cons
not enough staff to do all the work required in a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace!
Specialty Associate (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 March 2018
Overall great place to work, some days can be pretty hectic but if you're like me you enjoy being kept busy. Lots of heavy lifting involved so not appropriate for people needing accommodations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic
Lot/Cash Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 March 2018
Too much stress... Never enough support staff... Management was complete .. Erratic work hours... Racial discrimination... What a show... Would never work for again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor everything
Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2018
No work/home life balance
Rotational shifts
Poor management
No concern for mental health, stress, overwhelming feelings
Poor working environment
No feedback except for your review cycle
Bullying inside the workplace
Poor pay!!!!!
Way to much expected of you for the amount of money you make
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No work/ home life balance, bad pay, poor working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume work environment
Manager, Broadcast and Content production (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2018
A high volume work environment that expects and delivers a best in class retail experience to both customers and their associates. The culture at The Home Depot is inclusive and offers opportunities to all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON25 March 2018
I loved the customers. But management and the way this business is being run was very poor. Would not recommend. Was treated poorly. no benefits. thumbs down
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living the Values
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC25 March 2018
I don't have a typical work day, every day is different. I work with a great team who take care of the products and most importantly the Customer. The Management team is very supportive and cares about their people. We have a diverse culture and that I believe is the best part of the job. The hardest part is when you have too many sick calls and are unable to help customers fast enough.
Pros
Fun events - Pot Lucks, Barbeques, Pizza Day, Soup Day, etc
Cons
Technology fails
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 35,773 reviews
511.3K
412K
38.5K
22.4K
11.6K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture