The Home Depot Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  West Kelowna, BC17 May 2018
Associates can be helpful and kind, very knowledgeable. Can be some conflict between associate, though not much. Lots of activities/extras for employees, like paid day lunches, silent auctions and special events for holidays. Most department supervisors are good, sometimes upper management in the store is not so great, but the regional management team is amazing and supportive.

Typical day shows helping people fairly consistently, depending on the department. Some departments are more in demand than others.

The biggest pro and con is the value of putting customers first. Employees are empowered to give discounts or reach out for discount approvals but are also required to find every way to say "yes", even if the customer is being very tough and confrontational. You will get people who want special treatment just because they are the customer, even if it's absolutely against THD policy.

The community between associates is good, with lots of good resources between associates across all stores, and also resources provided by the company. There are lots of opportunities to move up or change positions or departments unless you're in one that is super high in demand. For the most part, the work can be hard but enjoyable at the end of the day.
Pros
Great culture and core values
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different learning opportunities everyday
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ON2 April 2018
A typical work day is to come in and work 7 reports from orders processed from the day before. Continually answering calls and customer's questions, concerns and complaints, as well an answering any question other associates have in the store. Cashing customer out and processing returns. Building orders, as well as signing them out when customer's come in to pick up their orders, whether it is stock, special order, Buy Online Pick-up In Store, order online orders. It can be a fast paced environment in which one needs to multitask as well as prioritize each situation you come across. each day is a new day with different situations and scenarios, which allow you to learn and grow your customer service skills, problem solving and communication skills.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Scattered Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work around
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
could stick around for while.would recommend for new job or starting as your first job would definitely learn a thing or two.can't say much about pay its pretty much the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot fun. Ewallen landscape fun trendway plumbing. 10 fun
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lincoln Neberaska18 March 2018
Customer service servicing product in bays learning to order product .Boss has no personality. Pritty good environment. Always learning new product..people I work with very nice. Landscape n excavation building pads for homes n retirement homes excavating land earned to survey management was good for few years then changed ..work place good hard part building Rockwall with excavator.. Like being outside.. Plumbing. Installing water mains sewer mains or services to buildings..learned to read dirt banks..management very Awsome was treated like family..work place culture team oriented..hardest part finding utilities in the ground..most enjoyable the whole company people worked together like family but company went out of buisness
Pros
Boss by lunch once in a while
Cons
Do t really have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 February 2018
Great place to work, management really cares about their employees and challenges them to prosper, they really want to see their employees increase to management roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MT12 February 2018
Be ready to work for your money and be willing to do any job that needs doing, and management appreciates that. A lot of multitasking is needed to keep customers happy.
Pros
Solid work environment. Good company to work for.
Cons
Only Part-time jobs were available
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 February 2018
A typical day consisted of me greeting the customers, providing great customer service, helping customers locate what they were looking for in the store and processing orders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Customer Service / Special Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2018
typical day would be good. learned how to navigate the system. Enjoyed helping customers and staff with challenges. appreciated the diversity of employees. The least enjoying part of this job was being silent while being harassed by a supervisor.
Pros
minimal supervision, easy going
Cons
my supervisor was unethical and practiced work place harrassment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and up beat company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON19 January 2018
I loved my time at The Home Depot , and was very sad when I had to leave. I recommend them to everyone I know. They have part time employee benefits, monthly awards, and you are rewarded constantly for your work efforts.
Pros
Great employee benefits
Cons
Days can sometimes be long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a new learning experience
Customer Service/Overnight Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON12 January 2018
i worked the night shift safety replenishing stock as well as picking orders for the trucks heading out in the morning to make deliveries and over all maintain the store
Pros
learned to use the forklift among other mechanical equipment
Cons
worked for a very lazy supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most likely different from when I worked there
Merchandising and customer services Representative (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 January 2018
I worked on a pilot project team. it had it's share of issues and was consistently evolving as it went along. It is most likely very different from when I worked, so I cannot give a proper review.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tool rental
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2017
Typical day during the summer season was very fast paced really enoyed the management and bonus oppurtunites, performed well with sales and rental aggrements, awsome place to work in, great enviroment, skilled co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a family orientated work place to feel like you belong there.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON10 December 2017
Working at Home Depot is actually so much fun. You learn so much everyday and your co-workers are like your best friends from date one. Management is so easy to talk to as well and it's a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work atmosphere.
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON7 December 2017
Very pleasant work atmosphere. Company was very thorough with training regime on monthly basis. Always encouraging their employees to seek advancement with the company through schooling or internal promotions.The Home Depot has taught me how to fine tune my customer service interactions. The hardest part of the job is to try and solve customers problems when they lacked the knowledge of what was required to complete their task. Having customers coming back to thank you for your advice, and letting you know that everything went smoothly.
Pros
Many social committee events, employee recognition, lunches
Cons
Shifts have a tendency to be a little inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Values
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  BDC3 November 2017
Values are not upheld.
Management unfair
salary levels are poor
high turnover rates
no recognition for job well done
poor accomodations
no motivation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, but not so great hours.
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON2 October 2017
I felt that working at home depot gave me great experience, but they didn't give me enough hours that I needed to pay off debts that I have from going to school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you want a career.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 September 2017
Terrible management, scheduling is a nightmare, they expect you to do the work of 3 people in a very short time frame. The only positive thing I can say about working here is that the hours are flexible, UNLESS it interferes with them of course.

If you don't plan on staying long, by all means apply. However, if you are planning on a career, run. Run away. I have worked here 4+ years and have not seen any advancement, and don't bother trying because any extra responsibilities you are given do not come with an increase in pay or benefits. Full time hours, part time employee. Doesn't change.
Pros
Profit Sharing, Part-time benefits
Cons
Bad scheduling, terrible management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the staff are really nice
Customer Service Specialist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC24 August 2017
Not a good chose for a single parent as at times, without notice, they cut your hours making it impossible to pay rent. Then they increase it the next month, and this repeats.
Pros
300 in dental benefits that only covers cleaning
Cons
Understaffed that leads to poor Customer Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review by Dustin
Customer services assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
it was a amazing job with plethora of different tasks, this was my first costumer service associate type job outside of work experience. this was a job that required you to be physically fit. you pushed around long lines of carts in all types of weather.

you helped costumers carry there things t there vehicles, operated pallet jacks. helped with stock and inventory. took computer tests. sweeped up large portions of the parking lot.

used large heavy tools to break down massive crates, and was also part of a highly competent team.
Pros
good pay, stable hours.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 July 2017
I enjoyed my last position there as a Merchandiser but decided on a Career change. Decided to go in to a different area of work and to go back to school to upgrade my skills and knowledge.
Pros
Profit Sharing
Cons
More flexibility to Part Time Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 37,385 reviews
511.8K
412.5K
38.9K
22.5K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture