The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism, no benefits, no chance for full-time
Head Cashier & Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON18 June 2018
If you were a favorite then you were treated well, but only management's friends were favorites. Awards/Bonuses given out only to favorites. Benefits only given to full-time but no full-time positions ever made available, only part-time. When take on more responsibility or training, such as becoming a forklift operator, no increase in wages
Express interest and request to change shifts or departments and instead offered to another who did not want it.
Cons
the company in total
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Asset Protection Investigation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON17 June 2018
Typical day investigation frauds and thefts.
Not much to learn or help.
Mangement poor.
Workplace culture poor.
The hard part of the job is no one recognize your contribution.
Most enjoyable is to stay away from there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Hardware Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 June 2018
Good place to work.
A lot of fun
A lot of costumers
Management is helpful
the work place culture is very inclusive
there is team work all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avantages sociaux intéressants
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC15 June 2018
Équipe de travail agréable, gestion instable, respect des pauses.
Pros
avantages sociaux
Cons
horaire très instable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employee benefits and workplace
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC14 June 2018
It was a great time working in The home depot as lot associate. The management and staffs as so friendly and supportive but due to some reason i had to leave from there. and now im looking for an overnight job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opinion
Department Supervisor Dept. 23 & Dept. 59 (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON14 June 2018
get up go to work, arrive punch in. Some people say hello others no, department associates take advantages of breaks, late, absence, not tracked well. Hard to advance. mico managed. break work go home
People I manage are fantastic personalities, Small few work very hard others just there to collect pay.
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
no discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun an easy going
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS13 June 2018
i loved working at home depot it was fun a relaxing an enjoyable, someday's got really busy an hard to work s but overall was a great work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Boring Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON13 June 2018
In my experience working at Home Depot, the workplace culture was always lively and vibrant. We were always celebrating something, which distracted me from the monotonous work. The most enjoyable part of the job wasn't the work itself but the friendly faces and the characters that walked through the door; regardless if they were regular customers or first timers, everyone shared a little bit about themselves.
Pros
Always celebrating something
Cons
Walking on concrete with steel toes all day wears you out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC13 June 2018
The days were long but some customers make up for and also the staff. The staff is amazing to work with. They are very helpful and motivating when needed.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Long Hours with horrible scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a very good company to work for
Modern Cleaning Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON11 June 2018
i liked the job environment and it was enjoyable. I liked the people i worked with along with the staff and the hours werent bad either, I learnt alot working through the cleaning company modern cleaning at home depot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong corporate culture, excellent training opportunties with good employee recognition
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON10 June 2018
Home Depot provides excellent introductory training for all employees and a wealth of training opportunities. They enforce a fair and safe workplace. They celebrate team successes regularly often with free lunches and other treats.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
long hours standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok.
Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB9 June 2018
Was not the best place to work, management is not the greatist. They will tell you it's a good place to work but it is not. They don't like you asking questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life lasting friends
TOOL RENTAL SALES ASSOCIATE II (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 June 2018
Home depot was a fun place to make life lasting friends, and I advanced quickly from lot associate to tool rental, learned to drive a reach truck and how to use construction tools. But the salary and the hours were not that great. Sometimes 4 hours per week in winter as Part-time.
Pros
Avancement
Cons
Salary, Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place but still retail
ASSOCIÉE AUX VENTES ÉLECTRICITÉ DEPT. & CAISSIÈRE (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC7 June 2018
Pros:
- Wonderful Team ( has your back in times of need )
- Caring Leader ( gives rises in salary and advancements )
- Strong on technology
- Understanding when need of a sick day
- Good and/or genuinely nice customers (very rare bad customer)

Cons:
- But not enough hours to live a good financial life
(prefect for those still living with parents or has partner who brings the bread)
Pros
A good first weekend job
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced and challenging
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2018
Working at Home Depot can be challenging for a new associate as it is a busy retail environment. They ensure you have adequate training prior to placing you on the sales floor and interacting with customers. You are usually paired with seasoned associates before being left on your own to work in a department. There is encouragement to cross train in other departments and programs to assist in advancement in the company.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
challenging customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
LOT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC4 June 2018
Micromanagent present
Lazy co-workers
Always understaffed during closing shifts
Refuses to fix broken equipment/ get new equipment that will make job easier
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Merchandising Execution Team (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 June 2018
Working at Home Depot was a great experience. Everyone I had worked with was great. I got some extra skills well I worked there, including how to do POG changes, delete and add inventory and numerous other handy skills.
Pros
everything.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne ambiance de travail
Associé aux ventes (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 June 2018
bonne motivation de l'équipe de ventes pour atteindre les objectifs assignés.
Pros
Conditions de travail
Cons
horaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job
Shawville Blvd S.E. - Lot Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2018
Opening
a lot of sweeping the front lot or standing at your till waiting
once it picks up its generally consistent work until around 7 at night were it slows down
closing
after a certain time depending on the season there are next to no customers in the store and you find small tasks that you can do to pass the time

The best part of the job was interacting with pleasant co workers and management as well as the interaction with customers and the relationship you can build with regulars

The worst part was closing on a cold day because there would be no customers and as a cashier customers are your whole job and you can only sweep the areas around your till so many times

The workplace had a good supportive environment that encouraged additional training and responsibility
Pros
lots of training potential, consistent paid breaks
Cons
very condensed time for work, busy during the day, near empty at night and morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, good place to work for
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 June 2018
I did enjoy my job although some days it was too much.

A typical day would be making sure the department is grand opening ready and ready for customers to shop.

I learned a lot, though most of what I learned on my own

The hardest part of the job for me was to stay positive throughout the day.
Pros
Full time benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 37,468 reviews
511.8K
412.5K
38.9K
22.5K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture