The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 2,438 reviews matching the search See all 42,277 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General workplace
Lot Associate (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 November 2018
Working at Home Depot has given me quite a few opportunities to develop skills and knowledge in various areas that I previously didn't have much insight into. Some of these include lumber and construction, hardware, and gardening. As a whole the atmosphere is good and most of our associates are good. One complaint I do have is the communication between departments and management can be difficult because not every associate communicates and some problems fall to multiple departments instead on a singular one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had the best experience working at Home Depot Windermere
Head cashier (Former Employee) –  Alberta7 December 2018
I had the best experience working at Home Depot Windermere.Management is really helpful and understanding.Specially Grace Duheme.She was my manager at that time.The management is helpful there and customer service is better then in another stores.Every customer is special not only customer.Good jobs guys and Home Depot has really good culture
Pros
Free lunches and store meetings
Cons
Not enough cashier's sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Kitchen and Bath Specialist (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC8 November 2018
I chose to work for this company Just because of great manager (TED) in Port Coquitlam Branch.
Unfortunately store manager changed to a unprofessional manager who brought a group of unprofessional assistants with him.
Due to lack of knowledge, management did not understand the specialists jobs and recommendations.
They started firing experienced specialists and hiring staff with no experience. They relation with specialists is based on dictatorship and one-way. Threatening the job loss is a part of daily routine reminder of management to workers.
Pros
non
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gong show
Freight Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK9 December 2018
no one ever know what to do managers wouldn't talk to each other so every time you did some thing like reset the racking a product the next day it would have to be redone cause a different manager would not like it a different way. there is no saport for any staff if you need help. the people that do most of the work get treaded like garbage an made to work harder while the people that slack off get rewarded.
Pros
good pay
Cons
lack of managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiently managing all administrative duties; including daily correspondence and customer/patient relations, ordering and purchasing of supplies,
Special Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2018
Efficiently managing all administrative duties; including daily correspondence and customer/patient relations, ordering and purchasing of supplies, re-stocking rooms, processing all manners of payments, triaging referrals and scheduling of appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn in large amount coworkers environment, they taught you what you need to understand and to help customers to solve their needs.
Retail Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 December 2018
Great place to learn but job security is not a desire when you are part time, as they would call you at the last minutes that you do not need to come to work on that day...
Pros
Many things to learn if you wanted to learn
Cons
long hours of standing and heavy lifting from time to time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining
Flooring Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 October 2018
Very low paying job with a lot of good potential wasn't for terrible managers. Dealing with customers is great and, helping people with their needs and projects is fantastic. However, the store is understaffed (so, managers can get a fatter bonus) which puts a lot of stress and pressure on associates working on the floor.
Scheduling is chaotic and insufficient nevertheless, the managers expect impeccable customer service from associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Ware House Associate (Current Employee) –  GTA, ON6 October 2018
• Received order selection & processed, palletized, and loaded the merchandise based on requirement
• Safely operated various types of machinery in order to complete tasks such as loading, unloading, sorting, staging and transporting product
• Use computerized Ware House Management system or other tools for tracking, information gathering and issues or concerns in day to day operations
• Met Safety expectations for this role as outlined under The Home Depot Canada Environmental Health & Safety Management System
Pros
Work culture, Safety
Cons
Shift timings and duration
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if you want to advance your career.
Tool Rental Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 November 2018
Management isn't the best but what they lack in skills they make up for in workplace fun activities. Benefits are good even for part timers. Hitting ridiculous credit card quotas by weeks end in a place that has become over saturated with people that already own said cards is the hardest part. But the weekly bbqs and fun treats every two weeks make up for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes management too uptight
Sales & Cust serv - Cabinetry design (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC15 October 2018
Generally a good corporate company, but sometimes a corporate mind-set becomes robotic and cold.
I was not trained properly to do an expensive task so when I did it slowly so as not to make mistakes, the customer went up to the vice-pres who in turn came down onto the management at my store which then made me the scape-goat for not meeting the customers time-line.
Pros
stability
Cons
too uptight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flyer is marketing at THD
MARKETING SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2018
the flyer is the main task within the marketing department and the entire organization centres itself around the production of the weekly flyer.

slow to incorporate new procedures and ways of thinking ("that's the way its always been done" mentality)

great work life balance (free gym available in building for all employees, a full hour lunch break is encouraged, leave right at 5 PM)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill environement withno hassle as long as you do your work
Lot associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2018
solid work environement. just went to work everyday and did my job. never had a problem with anyone and everyone was always super nice. they all knew that i was new so they never gave me any hassle about anything for the first little while because it took a few shifts to get everything down
Pros
super friendly management, easy to pick up shifts, solid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall summary as a Night Associate.
Dusten Thebeau, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 October 2018
Good people to worked with. Very supportive management, instilling a culture of 'customer first' to every employees - rewards employees for hardwork. Working at night shift (9pm to 5:30am) is a challenge maybe because I haven't worked in the graveyard shift for the longest time.
Pros
Free meals shared to employees many times.
Cons
Working the graveyard shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Order Picker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 October 2018
Each individual is literally viewed as a statistic.
Management does not cater to the needs of employees.
Need for sick time is disciplined instead of negotiated.
HR manifests reason to under pay as often as possible.
Zero ability to advance in position or salary.
Employee breaks cut short due to management's lack of desire to step up.
Pros
Na
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best places that i have worked
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2018
i started as an order picker on foot moving up and down the company but quickly upgraded to an EPJ (Electric pallet jack) making getting around the warehouse mush easier. no real paper work they use scanners now point scan pick up move on the job is amazing.
Pros
Promotions are available if you work for it
Cons
cant really find a bad, they closed my location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management usually have no idea what they're doing
Special Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 September 2018
No room for advancement unless you give into the politics and drama within the stores + managers usually get away with being useless. Managers also love giving away free money to make a customer happy but don't care about associate feelings and how they handle situations when they go against a decision that an associate has already made.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Overworked-not compensated in pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and they have a basketball net outside.
Paint Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON 35 Pine Bush Drive,18 November 2018
* Typical day is chatting with Customers about their projects

* Management, for the most part, was good even though most times they take a while to respond

* Workplace Culture is diverse

* Hardest part for me was the schedule and trying to get it changed

* Most enjoyable part would be seeing people thank you for your help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Based Work Environment
Order Picker/Cashier and Service Desk (Former Employee) –  Parry Sound, ON19 November 2018
Great place to work, amazing atmosphere and the work/life balance was incredible. They constantly worked with you, never against you. Training was always provided and they assured me to always ask questions and reach out when in need. A work place you most definitely can grow in.
Pros
amazing benefits
Cons
small lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atención al cliente
Marketing e imagen corporativa (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 October 2018
Una empresa lider en USA y Canadá en el área de construcción y bricolaje. Muy organizada, donde el cliente es bien asesorado y dirigido según su necesidad.

Aprendí mucho a valorar al cliente como ente individual y no como un producto. También pude mejorar mi percepcción de las tendencias y gusto del mercado canadiense.
Pros
Seguro médico
Cons
El horario
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Marlbourough26 November 2018
It's a good working environment, pretty much I learn all my forklift experience when I work there. Good benefits, well organized working place, Good management.
Pros
When it comes to flooring department i know everything, and putting away overstock
Cons
sometimes if you are so good on that department they expect you well finished everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 42,303 reviews
513.3K
414.1K
310K
22.9K
12K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture