THE HAMILTON SPECTATOR Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i worked, they paid
inserter (Former Employee) –  hamilton on20 February 2019
it was a job. not a career. the work was boring and unstimulating but easy and steady. short days. decent coworkers. not a place for smart or ambitious people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short
Newspaper Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 February 2019
I worked from home and hand delivered and packaged the flyers. the pay was decent but the job wasn't. my customers were rude, the employees were some what nice. Over-all, it was a very easy job.
Pros
only worked once a week
Cons
only worked once a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just horrible
Flyer Delivery Agent (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 January 2019
Packages Would be late causing late delivery’s getting me into trouble, over run with work causing me to fall behind in school and lose sleep in order to finish the job.
Pros
Free tickets to events
Cons
Long hours, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 August 2018
Good place to work, however, little room for advancement. Freedom to run your own schedule. Management is helpful and understanding. Extensive training provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering Flyers at least once a week.
Paper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 June 2018
- On Wednesdays I would get all of the flyers ready for delivery.
- On Thursday I would set out to deliver all my flyers by 6:00PM.
- The hardest part of the job is working in the bad weather.
Pros
Learning New Things
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 May 2018
i wouldnt even go back to this job the people there are rude and they dont care if u have a sore ankle or a broken wrist u still have to come out and deliever your routes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
JMC - Delivery Contractor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 March 2018
a very strong environment. people are extremely helpful and kind. it allows me to be a strong worker and get things done in a good setting. i would look forward to working more with the paper.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
various positions
Mailer 1 (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 August 2017
you could have a great job or a terrible job, several departments. it could be customer service or a cozy desk job, or labour positions really varies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
orginization
Newspaper Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 July 2017
I didn't appreciate the conditions the flyers would come in some days. Some days, the flyers would be torn and almost near impossible to place them where they need to be.
Pros
good pay
Cons
very short time to get things done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Job
Flyer Distributor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 June 2016
Flyer is shipped to home with list of home requesting a flyer
Organize flyer in a orderly fashion
Deliver to specific area

Hardest Part of the Job figuring out how to delivery large amounts of flyer efficiently
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 February 2016
fun workplace with alot of walking to different area's of the city to deliver newspapers and flyers was a great summer job for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 December 2015
I was given this job from my uncle as a way to get some good skills for future jobs. i enjoyed the job. The hours weren't long and as long as it was good weather it wasn't too bad
Pros
essential skills earned
Cons
poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting atmosphere, breaking news
Contractor, Painter (Former Employee) –  Hamilton14 September 2015
Was a great job other than the fact that one day I was told that I should take a week off because of budget reasons- 7 months later I recieved my final payment from them after never working another day there again- long passed the week.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivered the newspaper to residences in a timely manner
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 February 2015
I delivered the newspaper to residences in a timely manner. I did enjoy this job however it was not enough income to support my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to develop new programs within print
New Business Development (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, On9 May 2014
The Hamilton Spectator was an excellent opportunity for me to learn advertising and new business development in a faced paced environment. I gained experience within print and was able to develop several money generating programs for Torstar.

The staff was amazing, excellent team work.
Pros
Excellent opportunity for growth and knowledge within the print sector
Cons
Lay offs due to the decline in ad sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telemarketing Position
Telesales Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, Ont20 December 2013
I got hired by the telemarketing department. I had to be able to write records of customers/clients who were interested in purchasing a newspaper subscription. Developed excellent customer service skills and written communication skills.
Pros
writing company
Cons
no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working here
Auction Rep/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 January 2013
Call winning bidders from the auction.
Take personal information, cedit card information.
Verifiying payment went through.
Print certificates for the customer to be able to redeem.
Call second bidder on reserved items and see if they would like to up their bid to receive product.

Co workers and management are amazing they help if you need it and they make you feel good about what you are doing.

Hardest part of the job would be if we couldnt get ahold or payment for the item number.
Pros
free lunch sometimes, very friendly place to work
Cons
the travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Place
Electronic Photo Desk Editor (Former Employee) –  hamilton, ON5 November 2012
Would still be employed there. outstanding employer. I really enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE HAMILTON SPECTATOR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
54
44
39
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

THE HAMILTON SPECTATOR Reviews by Location