The Guardian Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The guardian
Paper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE3 June 2018
ALRIGHT but sucks for non-early people but its taught me fast delivery quick management was good if you were going away. the most enjoyable part of this job was getting paid
Pros
short hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a first time job
Newspaper Carrier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2018
Being a newspaper carrier is good for a first time job. The job helps build and strengthen good skills like, organization and responsibility.
although it is a great "start-up job", I wouldn't recommend it as a "forever job" because it wouldn't fulfill you.
Pros
i could work on my own time
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Door To Door Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2018
i learned to have responsibility and be reliable and get things done in a timely manner. i got excercise and met some really nice people. i also learned if you get the job done correctly there could possibly be rewards given to me such as bonuses and extras from customers.
Pros
good excercise
Cons
not very much pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get paid to do work straight from home
Newspaper Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 September 2017
I had the simple job of a newspaper inserter and deliverer, however, this job required a lot of time and effort. Every Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday I would receive flyers which I had to insert into a main Brampton Guardian newspaper, and deliver them to houses before 7pm.
Pros
work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours packing papers and then delivering them
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2017
Delivery guy drops off flyers up to 3 days before delivery date. You can choose to pack flyers same day or night before you are scheduled to deliver the newspapers. Newspapers are delivered the day of delivery and flyers must be inserted into newspapers before delivery.
Cons
Deliver rain or shine. Wet flyers or papers if not covered properly if it is raining or snowing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good way for extra income
Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE8 June 2017
The Guardian is a very well run company and holds the values of it's employees above all else taking the time to listen to any concerns or questions you may have.
Pros
Not too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting job
Flyer Delivery (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE23 May 2017
When I was younger I liked getting out and delivering the flyers every week but it does start to get time-consuming after you get older and have more responsibilities.
Pros
Fresh air, exercise, not bad pay for a kid.
Cons
Can get time consuming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early mornings in the winter were horrible
Delivery Boy (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE29 December 2016
walk up 6 out of the 7 days of the week and deliver papers, to 50 houses each morning before school. picked up money from costumers
Pros
by myself
Cons
winters sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newspaper Carrier
Newspaper Carrier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 July 2014
A typical day would be getting the newspaper sets and putting it together and then delivering it once a week. Sometimes there are more papers to pack than other days. When the weather is bad you still have to deliver the papers no matter what. The job has events for local carriers like days at the zoo or going to the movies. It's not bad but sometimes the pay is just a bit too low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independant work
Guardian Driver (Former Employee) –  Souris, PE30 April 2014
Delivered daily newspaper in a timely fashion before required time frame (7am). Enjoyed meeting new customers and conversing on a daily basis.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Need of a car for long term employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, overwhelming, enlightening
Assistant to political editor (Former Employee) –  Houses of Parliament19 November 2013
A brilliant and exciting experience, allowing me to meet journalists, politicians and special advisers, and to also help contribute to a Guardian news article.
Pros
Great environment, friendly colleagues
Cons
Long way to go from house (Westminster)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are not supervised, but rather entrusted with the work.
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2012
To serve as a carrier for the Guardian requires self-management skills and responsibility. You are given stacks of fliers on Tuesday or Wednesday, along with the newspaper itself.

You must assemble them before Thursday and are then expected to have them all delivered before 6:00 PM. You are not supervised, and must demonstrate self-management skills in independently ensuring that the job is done well.
Pros
contests (including bonuses)
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more The Guardian reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Guardian. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 34 reviews
59
413
38
24
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture