THE GROOM ROOM Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Groomer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX4 September 2018
The owner is usually pretty flexible with your work schedule if you need time off. But can be very difficult to work with. Most clients a loyal and is by appointment only.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment but with many issues.
Assistant Stylist (Former Employee) –  Eastleigh, Hampshire10 August 2018
I started an apprenticeship as a dog groomer in the Groom Room. My personal team and store managers were amazing. It is an exceptional place to learn.

However, there were many issues in the workplace that would not be resolved. It seemed the higher management teams had a "like it or leave" attitude and that no amount of work was ever good enough.
Pros
Friendly, fun team
Cons
Long hours, rota shifts and poor organisation/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall great job and experience
Groomer (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MD12 June 2018
The owner is very fair and goes above and beyond for not only the shop but her staff. The animals are provided with the care expected and more, and the staff strives to make sure each customer is more than satisfied with their requests and purchases.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Groom Room!!
Assistant Stylist (Former Employee) –  Croydon26 March 2018
Hours are LONG;
10-7 mon-fri including bank holidays.
9-6 sat, 9-4 sun.

You get 2 RANDOM days off a week (rarely a weekend.)
Awful management. You’re just left to your own devices.
Targets are VERY unrealistic.

Started off as an apprentice, which was awful because I didn’t get the help I needed. Was left alone 80% Of the time. Didn’t get any benefits either. was offered a job, which I didn’t take.
Pros
Discount Card after 3 months, 1 paid day off when you get a new pet (being a cat or dog ONLY.)/ move house/ get married.
Cons
Long hours, awful managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work
Videographer/Editor (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MD26 November 2017
It is very obvious at the Groom Room that the customer comes first, and their pets safety is tantamount. Products displayed in the shop are chosen because they are healthy and safe, not because they are cheap!
Pros
Free lunches, negotiable schedule
Cons
not great if you're allergic to dogs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Manager/ dog groomer (Current Employee) –  Ridgefield, CT13 November 2017
Easy going fast paced job. Great management and owner...learning experience. Early hours leaves time for family or second job. New experiences every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work environment
Grooming Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MD17 March 2017
Excellent place and people to work with and for! I love all those dogs that come in. Each one is different and unique in its own special way. Days are busy but fun!

It's important work to help pet owners keep their dogs healthy and clean.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Stylist (Former Employee) –  milton keynes29 December 2014
I enjoyed working there very much, the team members were great, the work load was good and I loved all the challenges as well as training and working my way up and gaining skills and experience
Pros
training, staff discount and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Dog Groomer (Current Employee) –  Bolivar, TN28 June 2013
great place to work, learned how to groom dogs properly. great boss and fun atmosphere.
Pros
love working with dogs
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skills gained to enter employment
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Shipley29 September 2012
A typical Day involved me to carry our these skills:
• Friendly customer service
• Organisation
• Listening to instructions given
• Problem solving
• Good punctuality
• Cleaning duties
• Strong responsibility roles
• Working alongside team members.

The most enjoyable part of the job was catering to customers needs, where they were able to return home happy.

My co workers were excellent, and we jelled as a team to get the job done.

The hardest part of the job was unexpected problems, but i found this to be a challenge for me to solve, which was satisfying.

I was able to gain a lot from this work experience, which i can transfer in other work places.
Pros
half hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at THE GROOM ROOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 11 reviews
57
42
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.2Culture