The Grocery People Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2017
TGP was the worst place I've ever worked, Equipment was old & needed replacing. Their Meat specialist is a Bully & not professional at all, human resources would not help me after I went to them about the Bullying, Awful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Produce Buyer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2017
Good wages and benefits. Enjoyed working with co-workers, suppliers, and trucking companies. Management was difficult to work with at times, it was usually their way, or no way. Hard to change their mind
Pros
good wage/benefits
Cons
salary employee and the company took advantage of that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 August 2017
Learned how to interact with customers in a more efficient manner, learned about time management and how to work under pressure. Friendly atmosphere and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,clean ,easy job.
operating (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2017
i got very good experience from grocery people . easy job .safe on loading and loading ive people. many people non smoker that mean clean job area.
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company all around
Picker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 November 2016
I only worked with TGP for a year and 6 months but the time with them was some of the best I've ever had. I wasn't their best worker kinda slow and that was what lead to my downfall in the company and why I left but if i were to choose any job I wish I could go back to it would be the grocery people. the supervisors are all really nice and don't breath down your neck about something unless you really deserve it and it quite fun and entertaining because you get to control motorized floor jacks
Pros
good pay and good people
Cons
have to work at a very fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 April 2016
very repetitive work that gets dull withing a week.
learned 0 skills while at this job.
the management in the warehouse during night shifts is horrendous.
you work alongside young people which is the only good thing about this job, your coworkers are generally good.
the job is quite demanding allowing for 0 downtime and constantly working as fast as you can.
there are no enjoyable qualities of this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly company
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2016
Everyone goes out of their way to meet you if you're new, good environment to work, can be slow at times, but that just gives you more time to fix up your work space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would not be fair to review The Grocery People as the climate may not be the same at this time.
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 November 2014
When I was hired I processed AP for data entry
entered the data and filed the reports the next morning
After 6 yrs. I moved over to AR - processed the incoming cheques for deposit, did any acct reconciliations that were required.
Co-workers were friendly and have stayed in touch over the years.
Left the job so that my husband and I could run a motel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to learn to things
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Edmonton3 November 2014
answer phones, schedule appoinments, know current sales, handle cash, balance cash drawer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging company as management changed constantly and therefore store policies were also changed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta9 February 2014
Balancing cash
Stocking shelves
Cleaning station and till
Receiving payment - cash, debit, visa
Learning new codes and making sure clients were not left waiting
Update code books
Enjoyed the clients, quite regular ones
Pros
No late nights, closed major holidays, good union
Cons
Swinging door with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Groceries are always needed
Tractor Trailer Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton18 December 2013
No shortage of work in this department. As long as you can handle the drama that is included as this is a high stress job...then it's for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectations too high for a human being
order picker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2013
250 lines per day minimum i am not a machine. Nothing left to say.
Pros
none
Cons
would never work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A welcoming atmosphere where quality work is rewarded.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Edmonton AB10 February 2013
Great place to work at.
Excellent working hours and wages.
Great team.
Management is very flexible but hands on.
Learned how to use a motorised jack and WHMIS.
Pros
paid holidays.
Cons
poor succession planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Grocery People. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 14 reviews
52
45
34
20
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

The Grocery People Reviews by Location