The Gear Centre Group of Companies

The Gear Centre Group of Companies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workers to work with. Management was diasappointing
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 November 2017
A lot of good people to work with I will admit. When it comes to upper management and owners, they will promise you the moon,move you and hold it over your head to keep you for much less than the promise. Safety here is not in the least a priority. Would have very much liked to stay if they kept promises. Was extremely disappointed as someone starting in the field to be taken advantage of so much and was told I was lucky to be given this opportunity and would never see that generosity again with my experience. Was promptly sorting through multiple offers that were much better in less than a month, shame how they take advantage of inexperienced people who they know are not yet aware of other opportunites.
Pros
Great mechanics to learn from and work with.
Cons
The company itself from organization to management to the owners in it for them selves
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 August 2017
The Gear Centre Group of Companies is an incredible company to work for. Not only do they have amazing benefits but the work-life balance is great! Highly recommended.
Pros
Healthcare, work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with good people
Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2017
Worked for the company for 5+ years. Never had any issues with co-workers or management.
Pay is decent and the company pays for all the health and dental premiums plus a few others so overall pretty good. Pension or rrsp would have been nice, but the paid premiums is a plus.
Would have been nice if wages were reviewed yearly
Lots of room for advancement and company keeps to their word on apprenticeship sign-ups
I enjoyed my time here but ending up moving out of the area
Pros
Paid benefits, recognition for job well done
Cons
no formal work reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for beginners not for permanent job
Admin (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 March 2017
i do not recommend this place for any one in any position. stay away.join only if you have no choice until you find better place.
Management don't care what you do. they just like to talk but not to listen. HR the same deaf and dumb gang in upper management.head of the staff have no head no ears but only has a tongue to talk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
None (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 December 2016
Great company to work for. I have received exceptional training here. You are treated fairly and managers/coworkers are good to deal with.
Pros
Training, great coworkers, career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 39Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support and don't ask
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 August 2016
Where do you start. In sales you are given 5000 accounts and zip for training or support. Getting appointments in Calgary was like pulling teeth when you stated who you worked for. The sales manager wouldn't hold meetings at branches but kept sales people away from them?!? The local branch guys are okay to work with but the head office is awful. Owners are in it for themselves and give nothing back to the community. They manufacture their own parts was China and it shows. I was very unhappy with the vehicle which is cheap, cheap and cheap and not safe in the winter. Just asking about tires or maintenance brought rebuke. They pay well but only the yes men stay there. And I hate to say it but its also a very white company.
Pros
Good branch people
Cons
Poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place ive ever worked
Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2016
Where do I even start, we'll let's see there is zero training and by zero I mean it you will be thrown to the wolf's here. You try and ask questions and you get a moody bipolar angry answer. No one has anything good to say about the place, didn't meet one person who talked positive about this company. Even the owner is moody as can be and everyone is afraid of him. The safety policy is also a joke, I've seen some stuff go down here that makes me wonder how OHS hasn't shut this company down. Also the fact of the matter is your job is never secure they just lay people of left right and centre and then replace them with new. Just avoid working with this company at all costs, if you want to he happy and go home everyday with all your fingers and not have a headache then don't work here.
Pros
Zero, non
Cons
Angry people, bipolar employees, managment thats greasy, un safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management, no training provided or updated inventory catalogs.
Sales (Former Employee) –  Surrey B.C16 October 2015
Was hired for full time long term employment but was actually only used to cover other employees vacation time.

No real training provided other then basic training on their billing and inventory system.

No direction from management or guidance to companies need or expectations.

Company is basically failing and barely able to keep afloat in B.C.

Do not take a job here.
Pros
Some great employees
Cons
Dying company, poor management and inadequate training to new staff .
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too heavy to lift most parts and dangerous
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton27 October 2014
Repetitive work - picking orders
Learned what most automotive parts were for
Management constantly changing - a lot of lay-offs
Excellent co-workers
Lifting heavy objects especially from 2nd floor to 1st floor by hand
Lost a lot of weight, physically fit
Pros
Nothing comes to mind (close to home)
Cons
Kept changing hours, payroll didn't know employment standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership, and Dying Company
HD Mechanic/Mec Engineering Technologist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 July 2014
A typical work day on the floor is rebuilding transmission, differentials, and transfer case. Typical day in the Engineering is slow work, limited jobs, currently building a maintenance program for the equipment.

There is no self courses to take to learn anything, the company will not pay for school.

Management has trouble knowing management most managers are mechanics and do not know the business side of things. All managers have trouble approving the simples things, Also,the company waste more time on trying to find something cheap but never compare it to the amount of labour costs usused to find it.

co-workers are great to work with, there is no problem with any of the co-workers, I believe the down fall is in the management.

This job has a lack or challege, I believe the hardest part is trying to find something to work on.

Most enjoyable part is getting the approval or completing the work on the floor.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
management, lack or work, hard to improve and increase position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 67No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 October 2012
Hours were from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm with some overtime required
I learned how important Logistics was to a company
Most management were very nice to work with
Most co-workers would do just their job
Not having a team atmosphere
Different challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report

See more The Gear Centre Group of Companies reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Gear Centre Group of Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 13 reviews
53
41
33
21
15

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.4Culture

The Gear Centre Group of Companies Reviews by Location