The Canadian Brewhouse Employee Reviews

Found 107 reviews matching the search See all 108 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay if you like alcohol.
Server (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC15 May 2019
You are given a good discount on drinks, however staff and management are quite pushy on making you drink a lot, as well as making customers drink a lot. Management is not the best, no overtime pay, and not a great environment to be in while on shift. Overall not a workplace I would recommend for several reasons.
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Unpredictable hours/management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
N/A (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2019
Corporate culture is not nearly as friendly and inclusive as management would like you to believe. Management plays favorites and really just promotes their friends, everyone else is viewed as expendable. Expectations are high, but management frequently fails to adequately support or lead their staff, which pretty much just hangs the workers out to dry.
The company has a very ambitious long term plan, and thus far very poor execution which creates for a big workload, high stress, and no job security. Stay away if you can.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Management, high workload, no job security, toxic culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun environment at first.
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 April 2019
A day in the life of a server at brewhouse would be working in a very competitive environment. Tables constantly turning over, and receiving big sections if you're a favourite. If not, you get no started multiple times, have to wait at the bar for over an hour then get sent home with no 3hr minimum pay. I learned that the industry is very catty, girls are very territorial, and that going to a shift at brewhouse with a smile on your face was a hard thing to do. The culture at Brewhouse is often girls getting picked on by older men, harassed by drunks, having to pay for people who walk out on their bill etc. The hardest part of the job was the understaffing during peak hockey season, and patio season. Being given so many tables that quality of service decreases. The most enjoyable thing at brewhouse is meeting new people, and being around sports fans.
One positive incentive is that you can receive $500 if you refer an employee and they stay there past 6 months.
Pros
Tips
Cons
no shift flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is ridiculous
Server (Former Employee) –  Chestermere, AB20 March 2019
Great place to work if you have your clientele.
Management on an other hand is horrible . Not much advancement or futurr in a franchise location where owners have no clue what the problem is. And dont care to know
Pros
Discounts, tight family, good tips
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immature/Poor Management
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 March 2019
Management is horrendous, favouritism and immaturity is rampant. Most of the staff and management are very close outside of work, half of them even live together. If you don't fit in with their lifestyle you'll likely be phased out. Very insecure hours, will cut your hours for absolutely no reason, especially if you don't party with them.
Management is the most unprofessional I've seen. Since I worked there, I've seen like 15 employees leave to work elsewhere because it is unbearable to work there.
Overall, my recommendation would be to run as fast as you can in the opposite direction before working here. Unless they completely overhaul the management staff which is highly unlikely. They also didn't pay you for mandatory meetings.
DO. NOT. WORK. HERE.
Pros
Tips, kitchen staff is great
Cons
Insecure hours, management sucks, immature supervisory staff, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work If You Get Hours
Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 March 2019
The Northgate location is the newest location. As with new locations, the atmosphere is electric and exciting! The staff is not jaded and seems to actually enjoy what they are doing. The only drawback is the kitchen which is a joke. They are continuously hiring kitchen people when they cannot even give the current staff decent hours. The lead cook cuts hours on a daily basis to please the kitchen manager who is clueless on what really goes on in the kitchen.
Pros
Free meal, discounts
Cons
Kitchen Manager, Lead Cook
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC7 March 2019
I definitely enjoyed working at the brewhouse in fort st john and if I ever move back it will definitely be my choice of work! Staff and customers were awesome and never had an issue
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and busy
Food Prep Member (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB5 March 2019
The staff treated everyone like a team member and did there best to answer any questions new employees had. The hardest part about working there is that if you weren't there in the first couple of weeks you had to get up to speed on how to do things on your own.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Trying to learn new information while being very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where everyone is a "manager"!
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB26 February 2019
This company is very good at cutting corners. Doctoring swipe in/swipe out times is common. Staff are made to foot the bill when a customer dashes on the bill. There are however some kickass people that work there
Pros
Excellent discount, coworkers
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB26 February 2019
This establishment can give you a lot of opportunities. I know several people who advanced into different levels of management. The more effort you put in, the more hours you get, and the more money you make. Hours and the environment can be difficult at times, but it is a serving job, so it is to be expected. I met amazing people working here, and learned so much. I love the layout of the business, and the core values they base themselves on.
Pros
Tips, meet new people, great food and discounts
Cons
Long hours on your feet, drinking environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC21 February 2019
The management in Abbotsford were not the best a year ago, and it was a toxic work environment. They would try and feed you shots after your shift when you had to drive home.
Cons
Paying for mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful is a understatement
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton19 February 2019
If 0 stars were a thing I’d rate it just that. This place is a joke and so is the management. I could write lists about how terrible it is and what happens behind closed doors but I wouldn’t ever wanna give them that much effort.
Pros
Nothing lol
Cons
The entire place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work fun and lively
Porter (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB12 February 2019
Organization at the location I was at was a little wonky but overall it was good. Always has stuff going on the people are great wish I could have worked there longer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place
porter (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 January 2019
the canadian brew house is a great place to work at, they are a second family. everyone is so friendly and caring, they welcome oyu in as one of their own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff are fun to work with
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC17 January 2019
I think this is a fun place to work. Most of the staff have a dark sense of humour, so if you like that sort of thing you'll probably enjoy it. There's a free meal on busy days and the discount on beer is pretty good.
Pros
staff meal
Cons
usual kitchen stressers (tight time goals)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and stressful
NA (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2019
They are not a equal opportunity employer. It is like high school, you need to fit in or you will be treated poorly. Management style is a do as I say not as I do. They talk a good game but actions speak louder than words, very little follow through. HR is untrained, unprofessional, lack of confidentiality. Management will take all credit for your job well done.
Pros
Free food, discount
Cons
Lack of confidentiality and respect, sexism
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very demanding place to work.
Line Cooker (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB13 January 2019
A lot of pressure is put on employees, and you are required to work for long periods of time. They will show you how to do stuff and co-workers are the best part of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn line positions but not for experienced people
Cook (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 January 2019
Pay is bad fixed tip out minimum wage very rare to get a raise dirty glasses and dishes are always dirty. Lots of pressure and always adding on duties no cups for drinks in a hot kitchen when a rush is going on feel like blacking out every day...the staff are awsome night guys can be fun but serious at the same time once u get to know them if your looking for minimum wage and no life this is the place to be
Pros
Free meel after getting screwed
Cons
Long hard days on little to no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People - Inexperienced and Unprofessional Management
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 December 2018
The Brewhouse employs a lot of wonderful people but unfortunately the short-sightedness of the upper management results in an unstable, sometimes "juvenile" environment.

The collective "they" needs to seriously evaluate how they are treating their people, as well as seeking guidance on how to actually run a company that is slated for the growth they wish to experience.
Pros
Free lunches, the "worker bees"/people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid Managment
Hostess, Food Runner, Expo, and Server (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 November 2018
People are great once you settle in, and after you get past the unfriendliness of most girls who work there. They are very tight-knit and often did not make an effort to make new people feel welcome. I've worked there for almost three years. Watched the building manager become regional and become quite overbearing and micromanaging everything anyone did after being promoted. Had to serve one of my coworkers who brought some of her friends in, one of them did not have her ID on her, so I let her know that I could not server he alcohol. Made sure to let manager on shift know. Turns out, the shots that MY OWN COWORKER was getting she was sneaking to her friend. Even though she knew the consequences had her fiend gotten caught without her ID, she still put my job and Proserve at risk. Told the manager about it and he OPENLY TOLD ME had the coworker not been his friend she would have been fired.
Too many friendships within management that get them favors. Not professional in my eyes.
Fort McMurray Brewhouse and other Brewhouse's seem to have this issue.
Pros
Good Discounts, and few good people
Cons
favoritism among staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Canadian Brewhouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 108 reviews
529
424
326
211
118

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture