The Briars Resort & Spa Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, hard work. Can be fuffilling for the right kind of person.
Pantry Cook (Current Employee) –  Sutton, ON31 August 2018
-Good for people who like repetition
-Expect long hours and a hot kitchen.
-Always busy
-Be ready to commit as the kitchen is close knit
-Fun with the right people
-Little to no time for breaks and food. Especially during service if you want to stay on time with prep.
Pros
Free food for cooks, good people to work with.
Cons
Long shifts, hard to get time off, open every day of the year, inconsistent hours, back and forth between mornings/nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexible hours
Floral Designer (Current Employee) –  Jackson's Point, ON21 February 2018
I enjoy my flexible hours and ability to be creative within the allowed budget.
Overall I am my own boss
The hardest part of the job is some of the heavier lifting
I enjoy my job there but because this is a seasonal position I am not necessarily guaranteed a position the following year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with relatable employees
Event Promoter (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ON8 March 2017
The Briars was a very comfortable work environment. The employees were all friendly as well as helpful. The work its self was entertaining, there was always some fun to it.
Pros
Free dinner
Cons
Long hours of standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment to work in.
Bartender/ Server (Current Employee) –  Sutton, Ontario23 October 2015
Co-workers were very pleasant.

Had the opportunity to work a lot of bartending enjoyable.

Hardest part of the job balancing personal life
and amount of hours given.
Pros
Enjoyed people I worked with.
Cons
Long hours on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a typicl day of working a server position
Server- Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Jackson's point10 September 2015
It was a fun place to work for that portion of my work career. Management was accommodating and helpful for all situations
Pros
free housing- during the winter
Cons
inconsiton hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place to work
server (Current Employee) –  Sutton, ON7 April 2015
The Briars is a Beautiful place to work with alot of history.my co-workers were amazing and very friendly, the customers could be difficult to deal with at times but ive learned to smile and stay calm no matter what situation i am in. the worst part of the job would have to be the split shifts. when you work split shifts 6 days a week you basically have no life. and that is the reason why i am seeking employment else where.
Pros
friendly co-workers, beautiful
Cons
no life, split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Jackson's Point, Ontario9 June 2014
I like working at The Briars. Hours vary within the week, hours are always available. The staff are fun and local, with a mix of Jamaican individuals. The grounds are beautiful and make working within the area not as difficult.
Pros
Customer Service Interaction, Beautiful Surroundings, Amazing Staff
Cons
Long hours, Evenings and Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice's Owners
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Jackson's Point Ontario12 October 2012
The Nice's owners I had the privileged of working for. They are very sweet and would always welcome you with a smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Briars Resort & Spa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9 reviews
50
46
33
20
10

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.0Culture