The Bargain! Shop Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright place to work.
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Kincardine, ON24 March 2019
There was not a lot of room for progression through the ranks. It was nice to just go in and do my stock and then finish my shift and go home. Management was good after the change over.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Constantly being on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La circonférence de travail doit être adaptée pour moi
Director (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 December 2018
La circonférence de travail doit être adaptée pour moi
Pros
Repas gratuit
Cons
Courtes poste
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SK Bargain Shop.
Associate (Former Employee) –  SK21 August 2018
I Loved working there. I loved the ladies I worked with. The only thing that was terrible, was the wage. Everyone was so nice, and enjoyed working. But, Having ladies who have children working as low as the wage is, breaks my heart. Hearing that they can’t afford to fill their vehicle, bills and help their children. It’s a busy, long day. But it’s worth it. Lots of hours are available.
Pros
Hours are flexible and lots of hours
Cons
Wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable Hours
Cashier/keyholder (Former Employee) –  Morrisburg, ON21 March 2018
Decent to work for needs better comunication amoung workers, Training needs to be more productive and hepful,
Flexable hours when it came to my schedule, understanding of home life and responsibilites.
Pros
discount
Cons
Lack of Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON17 March 2018
was my favourite job. liked various jobs I did. all co-workers were good to work with. too bad it went bankrupt. would still be there .my manager was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BC21 February 2018
Customers were happy and we almost always had what they were looking for

Always busy, stocking shelves or assisting customers

Great hours and team members
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work and Learn
Merchandise Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 February 2018
Management was very good. Took care people. It is great place to work if one wants to learn about several consumer products and how customer respond to price, promotion & catalog
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Salary offer bit low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun
3RD KEY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB12 February 2018
It was a great experience to work with this company if the store didn't close i would of continued with my 3rd key mangers position. The staff were great hours were great and very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON29 January 2018
i worked long hours but we had a short staff. Everyone was so pleasant and fun to work with. Always got to meet new and exciting people. Hours were flexible and manager was always willing to work with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job in high school
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 September 2017
It was a good job for high school students. The hours were good, and they were pretty understandable with scheduling. If you need a job, and need hours, its a good place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucked. if you didnt suck up to her your hours got cut
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hudson Bay, SK10 April 2017
management was manipulative and two faced. District manager does nothing to help the situation. manager was biased about people younger than her and made that very clear. They refuse to give full time.
Pros
nothing besides the paycheque
Cons
backstabbing workers. useless district manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
certified keyholder / cashier (Current Employee) –  New Hamburg, ON31 March 2017
assisting customers / stocking shelves/ marking down prices on the products and checking expiry dates on the products. checking emails from DM / receiving
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized, but good as a first job
Sales/Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  Haliburton, ON14 January 2017
Was my first official job and one of the only ones available to me in a small town. It was occasionally disorganized, but not a bad place to work overall
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the minimum wage
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Springhill, NS10 January 2017
I worked at a store as the only male. Was expected to do much more then job description. Was not paid for 3 holidays and although I continued to aproach manager and district team and proved I met labour standards to recieve pay, it was never recieved. My final straw for the company was our store furnace went for 2 weeks not working during a maritime cold snap. We called head office, store building owner and nothing was being done to correct it as if heat was not an important until our store manager took it upon herself to not open as all wimdows were completely covered on ice. The district and head office lost their minds for loss revenue instead of wondering why they themselves did not correct the situation.
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive workplace
Manager (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON1 October 2016
TB!S was one of my most enjoyable jobs. The people were amazing..at store level and head office. Very friendly environment all around. At the time there was room for advancement. Traveled to many stores to train others and do store set ups. All around great place.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not so great pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it paid the bills....
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morrisburg, ON25 April 2016
typical day consisted of serving customers, rearranging merchandise, unpacking stock to put out on the sales floor. I learned better time management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding experience
General Labor (Former Employee) –  St. Stephen, NB30 April 2015
I worked at The Bargain! Shop as a temporary laborer for three weeks, helping renovate the store, as well as stock new shelves. The job was physically demanding, as one would expect, but it was a very good experience overall. The atmosphere was pleasant, the manager and all my co-workers were kind, and we all pulled our weight together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn and grow
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 January 2015
Working for The Bargain! Shop provided me with a lot of opportunities to grow as a person and a manager.
The hard part was working with very minimal staff and still expected to get the job of 10 people done,
The staff made it fun to come to work.
Pros
attomy
Cons
no hours to run a store effectively
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dead
Cahier, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK16 October 2014
was not too excited to work for hitler
loved the layout. loved the sales
Pros
employee discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB16 October 2014
i worked cash and worked in some of the isles, the co workers were good,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Bargain! Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 32 reviews
56
48
312
22
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture