Tenneco Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 986 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON7 February 2019
Even with news of our facility closing we as a group continue to be the shining star of all Tenneco plants. The quality that this plant produces is 2nd to none with a PPM of 3.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with employee needs main focus
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON23 January 2019
Ive worked at Tenneco for almost 6yrs and enjoyed my time there very much. Most of the management was helpful and understanding. Would usually promote within
Pros
Great cafeteria
Cons
Unpredictable scheduling if overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed atmosphere
Utility Operator (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON12 December 2018
best part of job is always learning new things. fellow workers easy to get along with and helpful. Working midnight shift not the greatest but compensated well.
Pros
payed lunch break
Cons
midnights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
maintenance (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON6 November 2018
great place to work with lots of friendly people
worked on robotics
worked on automatic welders
learned lots of mechanical tips from other tradesmen over the years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stable, safe and community oriented work environment.
Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON2 July 2018
Tenneco is an Automotive Company that is committed to safety, quality and Employee involvement. The Company provides Employee participation for awards banquets and BBQs.. Chances for advancement encouraged.
Pros
Good place to work and very busy with overtime and benefits
Cons
It does rely on the Autmotive industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 hr operation, unionized
PRODUCITON CONTROL PLANNER/LOGISTICS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 February 2018
creating shipments for Automotive manufacturer's, ensuring enough inventory to ship several loads per day. Advising painter if overtime required. cycle counting twice daily. distributing waterfall spreadsheet twice daily of production/on hand status.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 November 2017
helps build bank but no job security good pay even when you start. benefits are amazing. great people great employers.only down side is shift changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment and easy work with good salary
Manufacturing Operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 November 2017
Manufacturing mufflers is so easy with new technology in this company. Friendly environment without any stress, and has very good hourly wages. The most satisfying job i have ever did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON9 August 2017
Great learning environment. Decent wages. Tenneco has a great MAC council who over see company policies and procedures. Good management team who work with employees.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Heat in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON7 April 2017
There wasn't a day that I woke up and didn't want to go to work there. The environment was always happy and positive including the supervisors when you seen them they would make a point to stop and communicate with their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian subsiduary run blindly out of USA parent company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 February 2016
Poorly managed company, run remotely out of USA. As a medium level employee, I was caught not having enough insight into management view of manufacturing floor performance. Too many people CYA mentality, and the lies that come with that.
Pros
left alone to supervise department
Cons
No management oversight
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best career years of my life.
District Mgr (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC16 January 2016
A typical day as a District Manager for Tenneco Automotive was always interesting and fun. I was given the ability to run the District as if it was my own company.

Training was second to none and part of our compensation to complete a training course yearly. From Xerox selling skill courses to Dale Carnage public speaking. Many many sales related courses too numerous to mention. I'm very thankful to Tenneco for having that opportunity in my life.

We always had budgets and a sales plans. My responsibility was to manage sales in my district by making sales calls and promoting Tenneco Marketing promotions to existing customers.
We had quarterly Regional meetings and yearly National meetings. Everyone was on the same page. My job involved extensive travel and aggressive cold calls. Probably the hardest part was traveling while I had a young family at home.
Management was always professional and first class. Co-workers were always the best and many I still associate with today.

The most enjoyable part of this job was landing the big deals and the rewards that followed.
Pros
Fun selling
Cons
Extensive travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place of work.
Full-time Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 January 2016
Tenneco is a well-organized company with fair management and co-workers that trains you well. You learn new things every day.
Pros
Friendly workers and enviroment
Cons
Alternating shifts. Days, Afternoons, Midnights
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coop Opportunity
IT SUPPORT ADMIN (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON6 July 2015
Great atmosphere and a positive experience in a busy IT department that required a large knowledge base to perform a wide variety of tasks. Was the coop experience I was looking for in being exposed to a working active directory structure and learning the business expectations side of IT administration. Helpful corporate IT support assisted with more challenging incidents as well as a great supervisor who patiently shared his wealth of knowledge.
Pros
Plenty of support, friendly people, good work ethics, decent wages
Cons
Lag in fixing repetitive problems for applications used daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of perks
Quality Auditor (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON22 June 2015
great company to work for. not the cleanest place to work but, all in all, the work is decent. the is always overtime available to those who want it. lots of perks to rec club members
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
very hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON25 January 2014
A typical day at work you show up on time get your PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) from the locker. From there you're assigned to a machine for the day or in some departments they switch every 2 hours (after your breaks and lunch) A lot of the work there is done for you by the machines so it's just a matter of getting the part fitting snugly in the machine. It also helps once you understand how the machine works so you don't always have to call set up when the machine is down thus increasing your output.

They will train you on every job they put you on and there is quite a variety and it keeps the job fresh. The management is pretty humane when it comes to summer time heat, they will allow for extra breaks if it gets too hot.

Another nice part of the job is the overtime for which they pay you very fairly. All holidays are a potential opportunity to bring home a weeks pay in a few short days.

The people working there are are great, super easy to get along with.... as long as you're doing decent job and keeping up with the line.

The hardest part of the job would be the repetitiveness of it during that one single day but as I said you get put on different jobs each day some easier some harder when it comes to the weight of parts and ease of use of the machine.

Most enjoyable part is definitely the characters you'll meet, not sure how but almost everyone there has a great sense of humour!
Pros
Fair Pay and benefits and great coworkers
Cons
The repetitiveness of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work for
Maintenance Leader/Manager (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON26 November 2013
Learned a lot at Tenneco such as Six Sigma, Lean Manufactory.
They gave all the tool to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dynamic enviroment
Plant Production Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 November 2013
fast pase
great training opportunities
friendly team
dedicated team work
Pros
great management team
Cons
sometimes dealing with the union could turn ugly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top qaulity provider
Chrome Plater (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON19 August 2013
General work hours are 12 hour continental nights.

A typical night is long but durable, working with both mono tube and strut rods alike.
Mainly a job of a chrome plater is to run the machine and know the proper skill set and procedures of how to start up and run the machine to the point to shutting down the machine only when necessary

The job requires attention to detail to watch for damaged rods or machine faults to prevent it from escalating and become worse.

I got along great with my co workers as well management found no faults in my habits.

The hardest part of the job would be probably just the 12 hours one must endure.
But when adjusted it becomes easier.

the most enjoyable would be the whole days off working 2 one week off 5 and then next week work 5 off two.

I learnt team work as well as independent worker.
How to operate machines and work in factory environments
both safely and effectively and how to spot danger when it arises.
As well as much more.
Pros
Days off, pay, and co workers
Cons
12hours can be long, and when machines run badly it is tiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory Management
Production Control Expeditor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Ontario17 July 2013
Monitor and Control negative inventory.

Production scheduling on certain working cells

Cycle Count of Finish Goods, WIP and raw materials.

Process manual purchasing transactions.

Master Planning Of Finish Goods.

Create KANBAN and educate workers about Kanban.

Create and control reports for High Volume raw material inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tenneco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 986 reviews
5295
4292
3220
285
194

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Tenneco Reviews by Location