Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company to work for
ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  hardisty alberta12 August 2018
leadership had little knowledge of electrical or any interest in their employees. the pay is also terrible. By far the worst company i have worked for
Pros
None
Cons
intelligence of leadership/ pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Shop to learn in
Instrumentation and control technician (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB2 August 2018
Pleasure to work for the managers, they kept us busy when everyone else wasn't. Friendly inter trade relations with the electricians, learned a lot from both sides, I would work for them again any time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Electrician Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB1 August 2018
low wage for their expectation of work and quality
not concerned for workers interest
they overlook the quality of work and press you to get off site and them to get paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my time with techmation
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB13 July 2018
i enjoyed my time here
the people were great
management was great
pay was always on time


same as any job, contracts ran up and deadlines were pushed.

i worked alongside many physically challenged but more than capable employees. Techmation is a non-discrimanotry company, very inclusive of all capable employees. dont hesitate to apply just because of the physical fitness test.
Pros
great work culture, great company
Cons
"voluntary" overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid management.
Worker (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB8 July 2018
Guys are great wage is low and management doesn't even know you exist or if you're employed with them. Lack of empathy to workers and the positions they put them in.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company great people to work with.
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2018
Currently employed with techmation and they have always treated me good and fairly for the most part. Lots of work available for those willing to work.

Management is safety concious and works well with supervision to help the job get done properly.

There is opportunity for those willing to work hard and improve themselves.
Pros
great culture and great co workers.
Cons
wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best In Class
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB4 July 2018
Best in class, award winning safety culture! They provide many opportunities for advancement if your willing to work for it. Highly recommended if your looking for stability.
Pros
Management Commitment
Cons
No competition
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Driven, Well Managed
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB4 July 2018
Working for Techmation has been a great experience, the office staff is friendly and easy to deal with, the manager are approachable and look out for my best interest. Safety is a top priority making sure everyone goes home safety everyday with an incentive program. Additional training has been provided now that I have been working there long term. They have consistently kept me busy through out the years as I progressed from an apprentice to a Journeyman.
Pros
BBQ's provided on successfully projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB4 July 2018
I have worked with Techmation for a long time, they have been very supportive and good to work for. They support relative training and have provided lots of opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Safety is a priority, advancment opportunity, Stability
Cons
Unknown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay for low respected company
Construction foreman (Former Employee) –  Lacombe, AB28 June 2018
Worked for these fellas a few years ago. Very cheap company that cut corners to save a buck. They bid jobs low to under cut the rest of the electrical contractors. Once they get the jobs they need to cut corners and push you to work unsafely to try and minimize over budget. I quit shortly after seeming how it is run. Very poor outfit from management all the way down to the training and leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A few years in and still the same old
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Canada25 June 2018
Been working for a few years, wages have gone down then back to where they've started. Little to no on the job training, there is never enough time to learn something properly through and through. Little to no advancement opportunities, and if you do get such an opportunity, except to run jobs for $1-2 dollars an hour more, not worth the added stress. Incentives are unheard of, many travel days unpaid, many 11-13 hour days only paid for ten hours, allot of OT convert to "travel time" Just every trip in the book both legal and illegal to try and take money from the workers and improve on profit margins.

Save yourself the headache and apply elsewhere, unless you enjoy spinning your wheels for years and not getting anywhere in your professional career.
Pros
Generally busy most of the year
Cons
Many unpaid hours, no advancement/incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brutal
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 June 2018
We provide an attractive compensation package that includes competitive wages, benefits, pension plan, and much more. Techmation believes in succession planning to promote employee career advancement

BIGGEST LIE EVER. All they promote is driving industry wages down and an old boys club. Worst company I have ever seen.
Pros
Zero
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave drivers
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Alberta31 May 2018
This is the word that comes to mind while working for tech. Favoritism is huge in this company. Management sucks the big one, disorganized, and unappreciative to their trades people. While I still work here to pay Bills and get no recognition for it I wish no should go through this company.
Pros
Hahaha
Cons
Rig thinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew, poor management
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB20 May 2018
Management out of touch with workers, causing lost job opportunities to poor bid. Low care for employees putting in long hours not knowing day by day how long the shift would be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very well managed
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB7 May 2018
Techmation seems to do a poor job promoting the right people. They seem to favor hiring friends over the most qualified for the task. On a positive note, they are committed to safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short lived expirience
Apprentice Electrician (Nightshift) (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB23 April 2018
short lived experience with under paid workers when out of town. i do not recommend working for this company unless its a last resort and need employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowest pay, If you like bing just a number this is for you!
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB18 April 2018
Lowest pay of any employer, industrial first year is $17. They make you pay $150 for you coveralls. You get one pair. They work you like a number, awful management. Don't even think about going a minute over your break time, you will be noticed. Just avoid, do yourself a favour.
Pros
None
Cons
See review..
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB9 April 2018
Fun and rewarding place to work. People were the best part of the job. Only bad thing is if it slow you will be sitting. Other than that i enjoyed my time there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of guys to work with
1st Year Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edam, SK29 March 2018
not the greatest management
the wages weren't the greatest for being an industrial company
but the crew was great the work trucks were awesome
and the tools provided were ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
APPRENTICE (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 March 2018
I started my trade with them. I was fortunate enough to learn under some great journeyman. Gained a lot of experience early on that wouldn't have had the chance for elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Techmation Electric & Controls Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 99 reviews
531
420
322
29
117

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture