Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent
Business System Analyst - Aviva Canada (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2018
Well, one of the decent companies among the list of numerous IT service provider firms. They're only as good as the account/client you get to work with.
Pros
Job Security, Decent Salary
Cons
Slow career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Onsite Experience
QA Lead (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON31 January 2018
TCS has helped me get international experience and an opportunity to directly interact with clients and understand their expectations. TCS also provided me with an opportunity to gain management experience both at home and work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent start, but not worth it in the long run
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
TCS sends employees out to multiple clients across the GTA. They do not care about the employees career path, or needs, simply if the client has the role filled. Once the employee is in said role, TCS virtually doesn't exist, as long as the job keeps getting done. They teach the concept of "flexibility" to the employees stating that we must bend to the clients needs, which means staying late, working overtime without pay, or doing a job unrelated to the job signed up for.

The pay and benefits are good, but you won't see a future with TCS. Every employee I know is still at the same position, and leaves within a year. Overall its solid if you're just starting out, but expect a cold mega-conglomerate with boring office work.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Poor management, no future, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still a Company from India
Technical Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2018
TCS wants to be a global company, but still projects a work culture of Asia. Many senior managers do not have the same background of the North American work environment.
Pros
Large organization
Cons
Still has culture of India
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start for refreshers
QA ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2018
I enjoy my work in TCS , good salary and benefits, people are friendly, so many learning resources....................................................
Pros
good salary for refreshers
Cons
work over time sometimes, you reach a certain level and no more growing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Web Product Support (Former Employee) –  National Capital Region4 January 2018
straight up calls to the clients
make a fast service to achieve required number of calls
fast paced management
standard BPO call center
Working hours on night shifts are hard
Pros
Experience
Cons
Night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCS is India is a good company for your first work experience
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kolkata/Cardiff2 January 2018
TCS india is a great place to start your work in india. Lot of learning experience. although the initial salary is low but you will get exposure to different countries and businesses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work at TCS
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 December 2017
Its a balanced life at TCS with good job security, good management and friendly environment. Salary is as per servce Industry standards. I would recommend it to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot
IT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Montevideo, UY & Louisville, KY14 December 2017
Although I at times did not approve of management's interactions with the employees, my tenure at TCS was enjoyable and beneficial. I was given the opportunity to work on different projects and grow personally in my studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good to work with
Automation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 November 2017
overall good to work with ..good work life balance after all depends on the project you work in..i got to learn many new technologies when I started working at TCS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save time and energy and don't aply
Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 November 2017
poor management and lack of career advancement. There isn't a defined role and you don't get the big picture.

All what you do is manual testing.

not a great company to start you career with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Technical Team Lead (.Net) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 November 2017
I enjoyed worked here for a long time. I learned a lot in this organisation and it also give opportunity to work for several clients. Work culture is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work with
Assistant System Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 November 2017
Depending on the project or client you are working with have extraordinary opportunities for learning and travelling.
Work life balance is very good then.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Senior Process Associate (Current Employee) –  Karapakkam14 November 2017
We work for 24/7 it is quite hard but still I love my job. I have learnt many things like handling people with different attitudes. Work place is filled with fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has both Pros and cons
Mainframe (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 November 2017
Good job security
Long term projects
Opportunities to work on different customers
Lot of process
Less pay comparatively
Employee satisfactions is less
Pros
Good Job security
Cons
Less Pay and No employee satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 November 2017
Salaries may be low as per industry standard but it has a great work culture. Strong in its business ethics and very fair company policies. The quality of work is good and you can look forward to a good career path.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
Bilingual Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Quebec31 October 2017
it a good place to start your IT Career, you learn new networking technology. the people are very nice and knowledgeble, friendly environment. the work is focusing on delivering good customer service to client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCS Canada
Technical System Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2017
In TCS Canada you work for several TCS client in GTA based on your project. TCS canada timely provide us course and training to help to grow in company. Good RRSP benefit and they only give 2 weeks vacation to all the new joinees.
Pros
No Probation Period, Good learning envirionment
Cons
difficult to move in between vendors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for entry level IT consultants
Test Automation Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 October 2017
TCS is a great company if you are looking to gain entry level experience in the IT industry. Their management is very hands off and for majority of your placements you will be reporting to the site manager. TCS also offers a mandatory 6 week training program in Java before you get placed. You learn all the java basics and then get placed at a client. Majority of the client positions are hit or miss. Most enjoyable part of the job for me is the freedom I have on my team to innovate or offer solutions using the newest technologies.
Pros
Great pay, Freedom
Cons
Not much room for career advancement, Positions are hit or miss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun placec
Markit Developer (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CT19 October 2017
good company to work for. Worked for almost 6 years. @ years at onsite and 2 years at offshore. Experience is good at both the locations. Company which gives you a job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tata Consultancy Services (TCS). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 13,155 reviews
53.9K
45.8K
32.8K
2469
1200

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture