T&T Supermarket Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asian company
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 July 2018
There is no diversity in culture, only Asians. You will have to work with their standards from Asia. Most of the people are nice but some do not care and just want the day to pass.
Pros
Group insurance plan covers 80%
Cons
10 days paid holiday, 2 days paid sick leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great high-pay PTJ FTJ for High School/College students
Part/Full-Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 June 2018
It is a good start for students, however, it is very tiring as you will be standing some 8+ hours straight, 15 breaks are given to you so that's great, but I do have back pains a few weeks following that...

Work culture is GREAT! People are very friendly and nice towards one another...

The hardest part of the job is basically you having to remember all the PLU codes.
Pros
Discounted staff meal
Cons
Aggressive manager, lacking listening skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive working experience
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC3 June 2018
Co-workers come from different backgrounds which are both good and bad depends on the situation. But they are generally pleasant to work with. The management could use some improvement, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department head is nice
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 May 2018
I can take time off when ever I need to, just have to tell the department head advance, For me, as a student, class sometimes will pop up all the sudden, and I can switch my shift with one of my coworkers. Thats really nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Produce Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 May 2018
Friendly staff
Good management
Good and cheap food
Good learning experience on produce
Able to interact with people of all ages
Get to know first place when discount happens
Pros
Cheaper lunches
Cons
Long constant work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee) –  BC22 May 2018
Daily work including all the simple organization skills.
Sometimes overload work for night shift.
The hardest part of the job is to locate places when asked by customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a decent job with job security
Mechanic Assistant (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  370 tapscott road ,Scarborough, ON22 May 2018
i am willing to learn more in different environment such as offset printing and Photo lab service as i obtained almost 20 years of graphic design experience.
Pros
secure
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seafood department
Seafood supervisor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 May 2018
I started to learn a lot of new skills everyday and in a very busy place. No one was telling me what i should learn or what i should do to be a good supervisor but i am a supervisor trainee. they are rude and unprofessional. The the Manager of the department once told me"You are born and raised here, so you do not belong here, we need a real Chinese"
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized place to work in
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 May 2018
good supervisors
hard to get ahead
sometimes short of staff
very organized place to work in
good management
opening on Christmas and New Years is very busy
the most enjoyable part of the job is that when customers appreciate you after you serve them
there are bad customers
still manually cashing out tils
Pros
free soup
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only consider if you speak no english at all
Meat Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON4 May 2018
Managers are always concerned about cutting total hours, hence every shift feels stressful especially on weekends and holidays.

Ever since 2018 minimum wage raise, benefits have been cut significantly so there is nothing much more to gain besides minimum wage.

Do not expect a raise before at least Assistant Department Head.

Workplace is dominated by Chinese people, both employees and customer wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about T&T Supermarket?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 April 2018
My coworkers were honestly really nice, but working there overall was exhausting. As a cashier, we had to stand at our till for the entire shift (they have chairs now). Customers can be awful sometimes, but you just have to grind through it. Speaking Cantonese and/or Mandarin is a bonus but not a requirement. Just be ready to handle rush hours !! :)
Pros
An hour lunch break
Cons
Memorize a page full of PLU Codes, Chaotic rush hour
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 March 2018
the training was great. The manager was fair and the supervisor was always willing to provide training and assistance. It is the best as compared to other Chinese supermarket.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing co- workers
Sales (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC19 March 2018
T&T has the best working environment that I ever had. All co- workers are easy to getting well with. The company provides good benefits and also special offer of merchandise for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have an asian background
Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 March 2018
Not fast paced which is a good thing since its quiet a busy store. discounted meals which are OK but greasy. Kind colleagues, however the manager I had would not let me decrease my hours even though i was still a student in highschool with 40 HOURS a week.
Pros
Kind community
Cons
LOOOONG hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not excellent work
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC27 January 2018
The job what I have been working now is not satisfied. The working hours per week is short and also the payment per hour is low under the heavy load of work.
Pros
dental health insurance
Cons
payment per hour is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Supervisor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 January 2018
I am working at a meat assistant with many of duties and responsibilities. I
Very harmony working environment.
Colleague very friendly and helpful
Good leadership and teamwork
I am having fun working with T&T supermarket, but There is not much challenge for me to improve myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less productive
Picker (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC14 December 2017
Lack leadership, supervisors hardly speak english. There is no appreciation either u work hard or dont.
Appears to be ueducated management. They make u pick from higher second shelves.
Pros
U dont have to work hard
Cons
Very poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bakery Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 December 2017
Management is awful. No clear rules to follow. Coworkers are friendly. If you just want to find a place to social, it is not a bad choice. Work life balance is OK.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to have a start
Part-time cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 November 2017
It's a good place for you to apply for a position if you don't have any experience while other companies have experience requirement. Time is flexible enough for you to manage your life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment
Grocery helper (Former Employee) –  Metrotown, BC11 October 2017
work as a Grocery help in the supermarket learned to be organized and systematic.
coworkers are friendly
fast pace, energetic work atmosphere, thus time management is crucial
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at T&T Supermarket. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 100 reviews
515
430
337
214
14

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture