Sysco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work Good people Good money
Selector (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC4 December 2017
Sysco was a great place to work as a young individual such as myself. I immediately fit in with my colleagues as we were all young men able to have a good laugh yet all take our job seriously. If you don't mind working nights and doing a fairly repetitive job for good pay with an incentive bonus than this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
csr
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON30 November 2017
7-4pm
learned how to deal with different nationalities.
management was fantastic.
workplace was fun. great people.
dealing with pressure to get calls done.
the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace!
Order Selector/Driver Check In Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS28 November 2017
Sysco was a great experience for myself, starting off as an order selector then moving my way up to another internal position. The pay was always fair, benefits were extremely great, and the people working with you (whether it was on the floor, or in the office), were awesome! Never had any issues with management what so ever. The night shift can be different adjusting to, but honestly the hours are pretty good creating a great work life balance. I spent a total of four years at Sysco Halifax, definitely a good place to work!
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Coworkers
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with employee focussed management
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 November 2017
Strong balance sheet with a focus on their employees.
Busy days with focus, care and attention.
Great group of people who care for each other and look after each other.
Pros
Non union facility
Cons
Not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and effective work methods all the time
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 November 2017
The company was always very productive and efficient. Management was like a literal dream team they’re always in the ball when it comes to productivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON27 November 2017
Dayshift employees are the best that I have ever worked with. Honest, caring and decent people. I would recommend anyone of them as I had several years working along side them.
Pros
Great Dayshift Employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work for.
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 November 2017
I enjoyed working for Sysco. They are a good company and they are always on time. I gained a lot of experience with them over the passed year from pulling b-trains to pulling 53ft trailers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Senior Credit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 November 2017
You start day at Sysco. You are always busy. Hardest part of the day you always have to deal with salespeople.

Everybody is friendly. Get to learn a lot from my boss.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Work onSunday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun.. i enjoyed it
Professional Athlete (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK14 November 2017
my supervisor was a good guy, helped me out with a lot.. my co-workers were goi men. worked hard and always made sure to give me an extra little push. i liked the early mornings, kept me busy during the day.
Pros
the smoke breaks.
Cons
nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good solid company; friendly work environment
Executive Assistant to the President (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 November 2017
7-1/2 - 8 hours; varied tasks
multi-task; respect for deadlines
good and fair management
diligent and hard-working personnel, culturally diverse
dealing with interruptions
working as a team with co-workers and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
TRUCK DRIVER, LCV DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
They help you a lot at the beginning of your career.
Good balance between home and away time.
If you need some days off, they will handle it.
Friendly stuff which you can reach 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Territory / Key Accounts Manager (Current Employee) –  Alberta5 November 2017
Sysco is the largest Food Distributor in North America. At the heart of our customer relationships is our ability to listen to our customers’ needs and respond with tools that help them succeed. Building and maintaining effective relations with local representatives of key customer groups through regular communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High workloads, stressful days
Delivery Driver and Line Hauler (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 October 2017
At Sysco, you will never be looking for work. Management does not work to keep staff, and a high turnover means the drivers we have are overburdened. The equipment is barely maintained, the warehouse staff are overworked and underpaid, which makes your truck a mess when loaded. Your hours are long, overtime every single day. Very odd hours, you will get up before your spouse, and be home tired and in bed before suppertime. Not a family job.
Pros
High pay, lots of overtime, home daily
Cons
Long hours, intense labour, muscle injuries likely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Accounts (Former Employee) –  Ontario21 October 2017
Was a good company until Sysco so called management took over. Came from another location with promotion so thought they knew it all.
Insisted for us to Implement systems that worked for bigger location but never thought of how it would work on this side of the world. When system wasn’t working management hung people out to dry. Blaming them
Management think of “ their” numbers that’s it.
If you don’t get the numbers you’re done.
Never saw such incompetence.
They promote whoever kisses their butts the most. But karma will prevail.
Pros
People you work with non management
Cons
Management is ruthless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time control company the door at the hr office never stops spinning
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK17 October 2017
not a very good place to work at all poor leadership no comarodery and give it all to us attitude six years of looking over your shoulder every day brings you to the breaking point the warehouse is controlled by the union and their continuously trying to break them with no success what a joke
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
stab you in the back and throw you under the bus thats the way life is at sysco
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse office
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 October 2017
Vendors and outside carriers to track loads and scheduling of loads
Communicated with purchasing efficient/effective receiving
Responsible for ensuring all proper paperwork
Processed necessary is completed for efficient receiving
Processed orders and posted purchase orders in both IDS and EXE
Provided professional customer service
Pros
great people
Cons
contract ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company and good hours to work
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 October 2017
great company, great working hours, good communication with employees, good environment to work safe company did provide me with everything that I need to performed my job properly
Pros
empoyeed apreciation day on summer
Cons
to many changes on managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped a guest with a surprise marriage proposal
Dishwasher/Cleaner/Catering (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 September 2017
I was asked by a guest where the perfect place was to propose to his fiancee. I told him about this view over the Gatineau side. I even helped him pick what to wear. I also told him what time the sun was going to set. He said thank you and the next day he told me everything. She said yes and he said they were going on their honeymoon in the Bahamas. Lastly, he said he would remember what I did for him and he invited me to the wedding. Although I could not attend because it was an expensive trip, he said he will not forget me. It was a great experience because I feel like I helped spark something for a special couple.
Pros
Was always able to eat food, during break and lunch break
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Driven
Operations/Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 September 2017
A very corporate driven organization with many divisions and a great place to work, however not much room for advancement due to lifers.

Overall a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Lumper (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
it was a good work environment, great coworkers. very vague on job descriptions. Management was pretty inadequate & payrate is very unstable. The hours aren't horrible either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport