Sysco Employee Reviews for Marketing Associate

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 2,948 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Sysco selected this as a representative review
A company where you are always learning
National Sales Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 March 2019
Sysco itself is one of the best companies i had worked for.

The people and the intensity of learning more is what makes the company great.

Since working here, i had learned to develop public relations with major markets that uses Sysco as their business partner.

you learn to utilize your time management
Pros
Free Samples of Food
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure but great company
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Jackson, WI8 April 2019
High pressure to sell, goals keep getting pushed higher and higher but is motivating for you to be your best self. Work/life balance is hard, not a 9-5 position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environement
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON13 March 2018
Great place for advancement, lots of opportunity. Culture of a corporation, with many employees. 66 billion dollar company thats worldwide. Opportunity to transfer anywhere in North America and across seas.
Pros
Opportunity to transfer.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Big Blue Machine
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON12 August 2017
Largest food service provider in North America, expanding into Europe, Ireland, etc.

Provides all food service needs from open to close.

It was a great 15+ years, time for a change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic!
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 December 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working for Sysco. They had an amazing training program as well as mentors who were invested in making the overall atmosphere of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start and the skys the limit
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 October 2016
I am a current employee of just over 10 years. Sysco Calgary is an amazing place to work. Supportive managment, competitive pay, work life balance and ongoing training and development both personally and professionally. Pay wise you start with a good salary and make more money based on your growth. You get out what you put in. I work with clients everyday and their successes are mine as well. As I said, great people, great place, great pay.
Not to mention they have operating companies all over the world, so you can potentially go abroad and work for the same company. Lots of pros, not many cons..
Pros
Staff pricing on product, good pay, work life balance, supportive management. Endless opportunity.
Cons
There are times when the hours can be long but thats when you make more money!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2016
Good people to work with but management doesn't treat everyone equally. Different deals for employees who have the same job title.
Pros
Good people, free food, good healthcare
Cons
Everyone not treated equally, vehicle expenses are not covered
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to make your own schedule, very flexible
MARKETING ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC5 April 2016
Very much enjoy working here, being a great experience, flexible hours, not a 9 to 5 job. met some incredible people who will be life long friends. Middle management is difficult to deal with, because great MAs don't take the DSM job because quite often it's a pay cut to take a promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great team organization that recognizes their employees for their hard work and contributions
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 February 2016
Sysco drives their employees to succeed and share in their vision to support their customers success through continuous training, setting goals and working together with management to overcome challenges in day to day work. Customers in this industry can prove to be difficult to work with and Sysco provides the tools and support to help their employees meet and exceed customer expectations.
Pros
Competitive compensation, benefits
Cons
Challenging customers, weekend on call work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Competitive Environment. Leader in its field
Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 September 2013
Working as a marketing associate with Sysco has been challenging and exciting. This is a 6or7 day a week job, with ever changing variables. My favorite part of this job is finding solutions or providing information to help my customer succeed. The hardest part of this job, is the the things I can't control such as volatile markets, and financial hardship of the client. In this position I have learned a great deal about the business and a lot about myself. Learning and exercising patience and understanding has helped me not only at my job but in my personal life as well.
Pros
set my own schedule
Cons
no days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging rewarding company
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 May 2013
My daily responsibilities was insuring my accounts were taken care of and I was expanding my territory. I learned true customer service by insuring every issue and problem was my problem...if my customers had an issue, then it was my issue.
There was very little opportunity to move ahead. The last year was difficult with so much change. I had three bosses in the last year and very little support in the last 9 months.

The best part of the job is the thrill to help customers. I would enjoy that I helped them out of an emergency or help them with there long term growth.
Pros
good pay
Cons
have to work 6 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job but can have huge benefits
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON7 February 2013
Really have to be motivated and manage your time properly. High expectations from Sysco on a daily basis. Great job for balancing life and work.
Pros
financial and time
Cons
stressful and unpredictable
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to fly under the radar
Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 August 2012
This is a great job if you're new to sales and learning the business.

It is boring as heck if you just want to go out and make a decent living.
Pros
lots of samples, extensive training
Cons
long probationary period, mediocrity unintentionally encouraged
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report

See more Sysco reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sysco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,948 reviews
5726
4922
3706
2305
1289

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture