Symtech Employee Reviews in Toronto, ON

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work as General Labour
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2019
Only reason im at this job is because they promised me an apprenticeship if i did general labour for about 2 months, however what i didnt know is that it would take months for them only to tell you "you gotta wait on the ratios" over and over again.

Whats even worse is that they will treat you like a piece of human trash paying you minimum wage and having you roam around site picking up garbage day after day, you learn nothing and soon enough you lose all motivation.
Pros
Half day on Friday
Cons
far to many
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Project Coordinator - Site (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2019
Currently working onsite with experienced, knowledgeable Field and Office Staff. Great group to work with, Supervisors (Field & Office) are cooperative and helpful. Learning a lot.
Pros
Opportunities for Advancement
Cons
Long Hours Required at Times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow your skills
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2019
Great company to work for. Management is committed to helping individuals develop their skills and provide excellent growth opportunities. Co-workers always willing to assist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
symtech
LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2019
they don't treat you with any type of gratitude and they just kind of expect you to be happy working for them with no extras, or incentives to stay...
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need to fix the guys working in the field
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 December 2018
A lot on unqualified people doing work they shouldn't be doing, but thanks to Nepotism. No one gets laid off, the guys that actually work gets laid off. Those who chit chat with the foreman and supervisors for hours on company time doesn't get a lay off. Tons of ego here which doesn't make sense because half of the electricians here are depressed alcoholic with no sense of ethics.
Pros
Ibew
Cons
Quite a few
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism needs to be fixed
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2018
I've been with symtech for a year and it's a great company when it comes to advertising to people. Working here, not so much. Tons of micro managers and close family friend for the owner. Money is the companys only goal and not employees. Guys get lay off and calls go on the out of work list at ibew the next day to replace that person who got lay off. Due to management treating guys like trash, they rebel by not caring about the work they do. A lot of lazy, sleazy, sneaky guys work in the field. Only reason this company is growing is because the owners grandad owned plan group at one point so, now this guy is trying to get all of plan group builders.
Pros
Ibew 353
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid the office at all cause
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 August 2018
I've been with symtech for couple months now as an electrical apprentice. I've been on a lot of different sites and I've also been in the office. For people who are hired here as office workers...start applying somewhere else, upper management literally divide lower management here's how. The office has two floors, only upper management is allowed on the second floor which are all key fobbed doors. So lower guys on the ladder...good luck feeling included with room to grow. As for the workers in the field, a lot of foreman doesn't seem to be in control of their jobs, I've witnessed several decent journeyman and apprentice getting laid off in busy times by the company because foremans push guys under the bus which ends up with the guys getting let go. For guys in the field, show up and do your job. Don't say too much because a lot of guys here are family and you will be at the ibew 353 hall before you know it.
Pros
Unionized electrician department
Cons
Nepotism and kissing up
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of bad foremans and supervisors
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2018
Ego is a bad thing, this company has a lot of workers with it, sadly. The only thing that keeps me here is the fact that it's an IBEW 353 company...good pay,pension, and benefits. Most of the workers aren't too pleasant to be around...nepotism exist here like crazy too. Be very careful with your words when talking on company time.
Pros
Ibew 353
Cons
Management 1
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun and rewarding work environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2018
In my 14 years at Symtech I have had nothing short of an excellent working experience. The environment is face paced, fun and very rewarding.

Symtech has consistently grown year after year and the leadership has focused on promoting from within the company. Throughout my advancement at Symtech I was always afforded the proper training and guidance in order to take the next step.

There is plenty for upward trajectory and opportunity for advancement at Symtech and I would suggest it to any of my peers.
Pros
Leadership, promotes from within, excellent safety records, fun fast-paced culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 37Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism is killing this company
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 July 2018
A lot of family and friends for the owner work here, should be careful with words at all times. Since it's a unionized job (electrical side) it's very easy to be laid off and be replaced. Tons of new foreman lay off good workers because it makes them seems like great foreman where management would wonder why a good worker is not good enough for that foreman' site. A lot of guys here are trying to be superstars which i think someone needs to tell them, no one knows everything about the trade.
Pros
Ibew 353
Cons
Everthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is destroying the company
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  University of Toronto13 May 2018
A lot of foreman hire and fire guys everyweek because apparently it makes them look good when it comes to upper management. They will push anything and anyone under the bus in order to be seem as a good foreman who is good at managing his workers. Micro manage is hugeee here, speak up and your gone. Nepotism is hugeeee here also.
Pros
Ibew 353
Cons
Bad foremans, inexperienced, lies
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report

See more Symtech reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Symtech. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 44 reviews
512
45
34
28
115

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture