Swiss Chalet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS16 February 2018
swiss Is a great place to work for someone who is in school it’s also a great part time job everybody there is on a team work ethic making sure the job gets done
Pros
Discounts off food
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucked!
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Gander, NL14 February 2018
This was a great job but the management sucked big time, the boss always had a negative attitude and made it nearly impossible to advance within the company. Lunch and supper rushes were very hard to handle as not many of the employees wanted to do their jobs properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discount on food
Server (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC11 February 2018
Fun place to work with supportive staff.
Mangement wasn't the best as they kept changing.
Can get really busy and stressful so make sure you an work under pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
hostess (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ON11 February 2018
I love the people that work there i made a lot of friends. It was a very simple job and a good environment to work in. Boss is very nice, everyone is easy to get along with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Job gave me great experience
Helper (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 February 2018
This job allowed to learn a lot about the customer service industry and work experience that will help for the future. Through the positive warm environment the surrounded me.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Breaks aren't really scheduled or given
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2018
Working at swiss chalet is an amazing experience, my coworkers are all very nice and the boss is very understanding. It's a great place to work with its wide variety of people.
Pros
free food
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  warden and danforth8 February 2018
It was okay didnt like much of the cleaning but that was one of my first part time jobs .Workers are good . i learned how to prepare the foods, and clean the dishes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Cook (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 February 2018
enjoyed the fellow workers, i always seem to work with good people, unfortunately there was not enough hours as i was told, but it was a good experience while it lasted
Pros
half off menu
Cons
not enoug hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs improvement but overall its okay
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 February 2018
swiss chalet has a lot of people who are friendly and everyone works well together, management is okay they listen to complaints from employees for the most part.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
small pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help paid for College
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON7 February 2018
I work in the kitchen
i learned responsibilities
it was my first real hourly paying job
the hardest was there was not really no chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Server (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 February 2018
Great staff and good working environment. My experience in the fast paced work environment allowed growth in such skills as organization and time management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for students!
LINE COOK (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON4 February 2018
Great for students, will reward for hard work, advancement available if management sees fit. Great management training is done first day and opportunities to learn are there as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prep Cook Summary
trained for assistant kitchen manager (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON3 February 2018
I was a prep cook, worked throughout the day. People I worked with daily were of the best people I have worked with. Job consisted of me prepping for the day and night services and making sure that none of the main meals sold out during the services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
host
Host , Garish (Current Employee) –  Canada31 January 2018
-Greeting customers
-maintain the washroom
- clearing off tables
-swiping the dining room


listen and understand how to do your job and get it good fast
Pros
fun environment
Cons
being late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Maple, ON31 January 2018
fun as heck, i liked this job because i made good money and was able to save some money to fly out and enjoy my vacation in germany. i reccomend this job
Pros
free lunch
Cons
smell
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swiss chalet
Take out/ cashier (GSR) (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON31 January 2018
Fun and exciting job, amazing co-workers. Lots of skills to learn and to improve.
Typical work day would start off with organizing and restocking the fridge restocking the sauce and other cool pack items. Taking orders and greeting customers.
Pros
Free snacks and drinks
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Line Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2018
I had the opportunity to work at Swiss Chalet during my high school years and gained so much experience in the fast paced restaurant environment. It taught me time management skills as well as customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Take-out Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON29 January 2018
I left Swiss chalet only because I was pregnant . Swiss chalet was very fun to work at. the staff and managerial team was very friendly and made sure that you enjoyed your day even though you were working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Franchised/Management was verbally abusive
Server (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 January 2018
Management at this establishment demanded a lot from workers. Made for a hostile work environment and not comfortable. Workers were under a lot of stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 January 2018
Not much to say but I would go to work, greet the people in my surroundings and continue working hours. I learned to socialize and become more of a speaker. I think the hardest part of the job is to manage time but i got a hang of it overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swiss Chalet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 782 reviews
5207
4269
3192
271
143

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture