Swiss Chalet Employee Reviews

Found 914 reviews matching the search See all 955 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 January 2019
Management is the definition of toxic and corrupt. If you think working here is a good idea you or horribly wrong. I am telling you right now to be cautious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 January 2019
overall a bad day . constantly being yelled at, managers did not respect privacy and would constantly nag on you for small things. the people you work with usually try to get you fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON8 January 2019
Allows for growth within company. Super flexible with your schedule, especially when in school. great place to work everyone is so friendly and get along super well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 January 2019
This work my first job in the field, I had lots of fun working here because of the good vibes and good people that work here. This is were I learned that I wanted to stay in the food industry.
Pros
50% off everything
Cons
Not 100% off everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Swiss we were one big happy family
Waitress/Manager (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON2 January 2019
First thing I did everyday was check my section was set up and ready to go . Most of my customers were my regulars because I worked there for so long 20
Pros
Great team
Cons
Sometimes when it was really busy we’d have to forfeit or breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooking and Preparations of costumer dishes.
COOK (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON29 December 2018
This is where i started open up my career path in cooking, i like the environment and even when the line ups start, we have to stay focused and make sure we still serve fresh hot food to the customers.
Pros
went home early somedays
Cons
stay later some days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Cook/Prep
COOK (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON27 December 2018
Swiss Chalet is very good place to work and wish I could transfer to a new one in my area since i have just recently moved. It was a really good place and I love the food.
Pros
Let go early some days
Cons
Stayed Late some days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours/not getting paid
Server (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 December 2018
always got sent home early because it wasnt busy. would have to wait to clock in until we actuallly got a table sat in our section, and sometimes would be there over a half hour and got sent home beacuse it wasnt busy enough, and didnt even get to clock in and get paid!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back of house hostess
Back of House/Prep (Current Employee) –  Cobourg, ON26 December 2018
This is by far the worst job i ever had! If your lookimg to be screamed at your whole shift def this is for you. And hopefully when you ask for help you dont really need it because grace will walk right by you! Its so bad even the front of house manager quit and went on to work at horizon plastics lol this job was nothinhg but emotional and mental abuse
Pros
Going home
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely disgusting
Kitchener - Server (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 December 2018
Never have I ever worked at a more disgusting restaurant that violates so many health codes and procedures. I once saw a cook drop a chicken breast on the ground and instead of throwing it out, he was told to put it back in the frier for a few minutes and proceeded to serve the dish to a customer. Management knew stuff like this would occur they just wanted to save money.
Pros
Half off a meal
Cons
Disgusting work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Swiss Chalet?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affordable and Straightforward Restaurant
Server (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ON20 December 2018
I worked as a server for Swiss Chalet for multiple years. It is a very easy menu to learn and sell. Very straight forward. Customer base is generally families. Very affordable menu.
Pros
60% off meal before or after every shift.
Cons
Not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment was mediocre
Line cook/dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 December 2018
Management seemed a lil under trained in some areas, pay constantly got messed with and worked the same schedule a few months but would see different pay cheques $50-$80+ between. Personal problems were not accommodated for scheduling
Pros
Good work, Medicre hours
Cons
Pay not given proper, Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A famous and busy restaurant
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 December 2018
I am the part of Swiss Chalet Restaurant, which is being run by the professionally trained management where all food and processes are as per the applicable standards.
Pros
good hard working team
Cons
late hours some times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
DISH WASHER COOK MAINTENANCE (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 December 2018
Very organized environment with a friendly staff which works together to maximize profits and at the same time providing good service to its customers.
Pros
Very organized.
Cons
Sometimes hot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Cook (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC28 November 2018
You get treated like family, but it didn't feel like family after a couple years into the job. The workers are great, just the owner is very poor at managing.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Regular Hours were fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a server I looked after the guest as they entered my section I was assighned for the day.
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB16 November 2018
Started the day off with a smile as well groomed with a clean uniform. Servered the guest with my best ability, clean up tables as they became availabel and ran food orders, put orders through the computer and always made my guest feel very welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, confusing management
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 November 2018
-Stock the bar, drink stations, take out area
-Assist servers
-Clean lobby, floors, washroom, outside
-Seat customers
-Manage customers between servers
Pros
good length of shifts
Cons
confusing management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and doesn’t follow labour laws
Back of house and cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON13 November 2018
Wouldn’t recommend anyone to work for cara at a swisschalet. The management is poor they look down onto their staff and bully them. There is no chance in getting a raise , no respect for their employees and also they don’t follow labour laws.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Doesn’t follow labour laws, horrible management, no chance for a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good people
Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Clair, ON10 November 2018
The managers were really nice to me and co-workers were the best.
The managers knew how to manage the store and taught me how to manage the stock. One of the hardest part of the job was that we had lack of employees in the kitchen to cover the busy shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Hostess and Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 November 2018
Worked here during highschool, it was a okay I had fun and they were very considerate of my needing to study for finals. would go back and work there again if i was asked to be honest
Pros
good
Cons
not not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swiss Chalet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 955 reviews
5251
4317
3237
289
161

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture