Surrey Memorial Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administrative Clerk (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC11 September 2018
I work in the Emergency Department. My day can be very fast paced and erratic.
Anyhow, working in such conditions has taught me well how to work in a fast paced environment. Working in a hospital setting has also taught me how to individualize my time with each patient in a very kind and focused matter.
Working at Surrey Memorial hospital is a very kind but busy atmosphere. I feel very comfortable and happy working here.
The hardest part of working in a hospital sometimes can be seeing patients suffer in pain or seeing their loved ones in sickness.
However, the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work closely with the public and being able to bring a smile on peoples faces.
Pros
New & modern
Cons
Always busy & erratic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 July 2018
Busy hospital that requires more staff at all times to be able to provide safe patient care. Great teamwork with other colleagues. It is enjoyable seeing happy patients and when we have a good nurse patient ration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should be a great place to work, but
Stores Attendant (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC31 May 2018
Some great people working there, sadly little to no support from upper management.

Minimal training provided and no real direction.

Horrible feedback on your work, if any.
Pros
Clothing provided, not shoes
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Concerns
Registered Physiotherapist (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC26 May 2018
Casual position in public hospital outpatients department, 2x/week focused on musculoskeletal and breast cancer patients.

Enjoyed working with coworkers and patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To make sure that all areas assigned are cleaned and well maintained.
Housekeeping Aide (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 March 2018
Responsible for sustaining a sterile environment in all areas of the hospital by cleaning rooms, making beds, replenishing linens and maintaining floors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall work/life balance
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 February 2018
Great and flexible working place for casual RN staff with supportive team and management. Helpful educational services that are readily available for us
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderate pace
Registered Nurse - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 November 2017
Learned alot about urology, ENT. did some float time in CCU, ICU and mainly ER. Became a charge nurse on evenings for awhile.Enjoyed working in a community hospital with family doctors
Pros
learned new stuff daily
Cons
not as busy as i was at last job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new experience with mother/baby care
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC29 August 2017
enjoyed and teaching new mothers with babies. made me aware
what to expect when I decided to become a mother. Valued bringing
a new life in this world
Pros
learning opportunities with experienced nurses
Cons
helplessness when babies crying during circumcision procedure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day at Neurology at Surrey Memorial Hospital
Nursing Unit Clerk Practicum (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC15 August 2017
Begin with turning on the computer, see if there's some notes from the doctors or Medications to put on the MAR , change the white board, see the appointment for each patients. Review all the discharge and admissions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 July 2017
The orthopedic unit is very heavy. Many client's required lifts or the assistance of two nurses for any transfers. Each RN was responsible for 8 client's which were shared with an LPN.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a dull moment
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 May 2017
I love working at surrey memorial hospital. The staff are friendly, easy to connect to, and are team players. staff members also communicate very well with each other
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome if seeking position with growth
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 May 2017
Surrey Memorial Hospital is a perfect placement for an individual seeking growth and the opportunity to advance in career. Staff for the most part are friendly and encourage one another. Due to costs, there are times where units may be understaffed. Though one learns to adapt and work efficiently by good team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great working environment
Psychiatric Nurse (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 April 2017
Even though our unit was busy, we were all able to work together. Staff would help each other every chance they got. There was a lot of team work. At the time of my employment we were under great management.
I learnt a lot from the senior nurses, Psychiatrist and other team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great floor to work in
RN (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 February 2017
i am so very blessed to be a part of such a big hospital wonderful experiance its a very busy acute floor the team is multicultural
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly
Medical Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 February 2017
very nice place to work. food court is gross feel bad for the patients. lots of groupy co workers, lots of gossip. very busy place and ppl can get very rude
Pros
close to home
Cons
rude ppl
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work
Registration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 February 2017
its a good place to work and gain experience. staff and managers are always around if you need anything or support. love to work here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
ER access control and front desk security (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC29 December 2016
Worked here as a security access control officer and front emergency front desk duties 8-9 years ago. Hospital has changed now but that time too it was one of the best hospitals in lower mainland area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is great, more funding would. E great
LPN (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC26 November 2016
I think surrey memorial is a great place to work. The people there are very friendly and it is a great place to work. the management however needs to listen to the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
House Keeping (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 October 2016
Coworkers are very nice. Hardest part of the job was seeing the patients. I learned a lot from working there. It was enjoyable cause it was close to my house.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smh
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC28 September 2016
Surrey Memorial hospital is a great place to get experience as a student nurse. The staff is very helpful. I worked in acute care and i learnt a lot as one get lot of opportunities to work in variety of skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Surrey Memorial Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 33 reviews
516
410
35
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Surrey Memorial Hospital Reviews by Location