Sunwing Travel Group Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search See all 142 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, political, Bad Management
Development Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2019
working for Sunwing was a bad experience for me, the management keeps changing the directions every now and then and I had to re plan the work based on the changes

there is now way there to measure and act on the performance of staff, a staff with bad performance can get rewarded while the one with good performance being blamed
no clear job description or tasks

they do some fun activities every now and then and people with dealing with you friendly but with a lot of back bitting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent de réservation
Agente de réservation (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC5 November 2019
L’ambiance dans le centre d’appel est très amusant on sent comme une famille et on trouve toujours de l’aide parmis nos collègues de travail, vous avez la chance de partir en voyage payé par la compagnie afin de visiter des hôtels et expérimentés les excursions dans le Sud. Très bon programme pour le soutien aux employés.Par contre pour les commissions ça peut être très difficile d’avoir le même revenu lorsqu’on ne respecte pas les qualités ce qui peut nuire sur le moral à la fin du mois. L’horaire n’est pas flexible du tout donc aucune chance de s’ajuster pour un étudiant qui veut travailler et être à l’étude en même temps. En ce moment l’emplacement du centre d’appel n’est pas situé près de plusieurs restaurants donc juste un Tim Horton et Lester’s casse-croûte et Subway. Et le traffic est horrible!
Pros
Repas gratuit parfois, voyage payer par la compagnie, soutien aux employés, bonne commission, ambiance au centre d’appel
Cons
Courte pause, lunch 30 minutes, salaire, horaire, traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
People and Culture (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2019
Great place to work with so many opportunities to learn new things every day. No day is ever the same. The passionate people working at Sunwing keep me here year after year. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 October 2019
people are open and very friendly. I am paid very well. It is a part-time job I work for 4 hours 6 days of the week. It is an easy job to do and im thankful to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Job
Cabin Safety Manager/ Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2019
Very fast paced demanding job, if you have a very flexible life schedule with the ability to change and alter your schedule as well as sleep schedule this is a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool
Employee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2019
Good places to meet people and create contacts. Good work patterns and always updating company policies. Management could use improvement but there is worse out there.
Overall fun environment to be in. Socializing is huge!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress, low pay, understaffed
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON16 September 2019
I used to work in the IT department.

Very high turnover, 10 to 20k below market value, constantly under staffed, overworked. They do not value their IT staff.

Best to avoid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainers
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 September 2019
Sunwing need to rethink the training process, the trainers we're not as helpful as they have said to be as some acted like they didnt even want to be there helping.
Pros
It a place to start
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there as a seasonal pilot
Seasonal First Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2019
I was only there for one season several years ago- it seemed like a good place to work. Most employees were happy and the pay was competive with entry level pilot salaries at other airlines
Pros
Fly to many different destinations
Cons
Long sectors for b737 flying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours very hard to get
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2019
Training was extensive. Long hours and sometimes you are put on a wet lease without any other options. Flights are hard to come by in your first season. Works well for a single person looking.
Pros
Employees are engaged and helpful
Cons
Feel like they are growing very fast without hiring more people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Licensed AME (M2) (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON31 July 2019
Good company
Good management, teammate, colleagues, overall pleasant working atmosphere. Place to learn and grow.
Good benefits
Overall interesting place to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a foot in the door to a better airline
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 July 2019
I was super excited when I was offered a job as Flight Attendant with Sunwing, but I almost turned it down because it's seasonal. Really it's just a foot in the door to get the experience to work for a bigger, better airline. They'll tell you it only takes a couple of years to work year-round with Sunwing, but in reality there are Flight Attendants who have been with the company for 7+ years and still get laid off for the summer. They only pay you $50 per day during your 5 weeks of initial training. That works out to about $6/hour when you sit in the classroom for 8-9 hours a day.

A typical day at work for me would start with a 4:45am check in to start the pre-flight briefing. Then everyone gets in the crew bus and they take us to the terminal, you find your gate and board the plane. Once on the plane you do you pre-flight safety checks so that passengers can board. On board services include food, drinks, duty free and excursion sales. The hardest part of the job was the stress on your body of being at 36,000 feet for 8 hours in a germ-infested tube. I really loved that every day was different, and you met lots of wonderful people.

Management was non-existent. It really felt like they decided who they did and didn't apply the rules to. The senior staff got away with everything, from not following uniform policy to being extremely rude and making the company look bad. But if you're on probation, someone is breathing down your neck watching your EVERY move. They have incredibly high turnover because they fire so many people at the end of their first season.

The company
  more... as a whole is an unorganized mess. There's no clear communication ever. You pretty much have to figure things out for yourself because not a single person you ask for help will tell you the same thing as someone else.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 July 2019
Working at Sunwing Airlines is an Awesome Experience!!
Pros
Awesome job
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Product (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2019
Great company to work for. Great coworkers! Amazing environment. Great HR
Stress is relative when kept under control. Great medical benefits -salary could be adjustable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Militant , overworked and under paid
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2019
They will take away your commission if you are late. Pay minimum wage. Questioned if gone to the bathroom after 3 minutes. Hours are terrible. No support, just criticize you with no acknowledgement of any good you do. Unprofessional
Pros
Free pizza once in a while
Cons
Pay, hours, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be fun
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2019
The system on how they “judge” your performance could be better. My co workers are nice, though, it’s just the supervisors can be bias. Also not all managers see eye to eye, so you don’t really know whether you’re wrong in doing something or not. Some goes by the book (mainline) book and the others dont. Which in my opinion as long as the passengers know what to do, you’re good.
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
No layovers and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Workforce Management, Intraday Analyst (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON24 May 2019
Sunwing doesn’t care about your work life balance ... or anything else positive. They support people who play the game and get rid of people who actually know what they’re doing. Do not expect positive career advancement unless you kiss everyone’s behind.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for cafeteria on site
ADMINISTRATOR | FRONT DESK RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON24 May 2019
Typical day at work most of my time was spent on the phone and meeting and greeting people, which i truly enjoyed.
I learned a lot about people, how they react to others base on the culture and stature/title in and off the job.
For me, I truly enjoyed working with the owners and upper management (VP's) - great people, always pleasant, approachable, respectable and caring towards me a pleasure to work with. However, in some areas of the company if you are not apart of the click life at work can become very difficult for you. Overall a good company.
Pros
Get to travel at great rates
Cons
Salaries are not the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Airline Flight attendant (Current Employee) –  toronto2 May 2019
great place to work everyday is different , great employees. Smaller company the bigger airlines but i love it its like a family oriented place to work
Pros
different day every day!
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Agent de bord (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 April 2019
I was a flight attendant for Sunwing. For a typical day of work, I had to provide food and beverages to passengers, demonstrate safety precautions, assist passengers with boarding and disembarking.
The hardest part of the job was to deal with clients who were upset from delayed flights. The most enjoyable part of the job was to visit various locations around the world.
Pros
Travelling, collegues
Cons
long hours starting very early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sunwing Travel Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 142 reviews
534
445
333
216
114

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture