Sunterra Market Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt want anyone to work here
Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 July 2018
Poor management, poor pay, poor listening skills, only thing keep that place together is the few who are under pay and taken advantage of no one is listen to when you speak to manager, or in HR, they think they are above everyone, asking for time off months in adavnace and remind them weekly and still wont give it to you unless you find someone to cover you, they give manager task / responsibilities to anyone include new / under experince people, with no raise, you'll work hard they tell you everything you want to hear but nothing will ever happen, no one will say good job to you after working late hours extra hours or coming in on your day off, no one cleans here no one checks date of product in back cooler, re wrap anything and everything they have, expired product everywhere - this was at britannia location not sure about the rest but would never work for britannia again,
Pros
The pork is great and well priced
Cons
Everything you could think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun placebo work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 July 2018
At Sunterra Market is fun place to work because 90% filipino people who work at Sunterra, Everybody are helping each other if one person done his or her work as other if they need help.
Management are very understanding and help people on there problem.
Pros
30 mins break
Cons
8hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and frenedly environment
Produce clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2018
A typical day at work customer service, organizing shelf stock, assisting with the deliveries of the company product and Ensuring the shop exist free from obstacles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MAnagement and service oriented both the clients and staff.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Downtown. Calgary AB22 July 2018
Service oriented to all customers
Managements system of dealing issues and concern are well attended to
Value laden attitude in dealing with customers
Organize in the presentation of the needs of all customers
Teamwork skills and cooperation among the staff is commendable
Clean and sanitary surroundings is highly functional.
Pros
Pleasant atmosphere of relatioship with one a other.
Cons
Long hours should not be done always.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good experience overall
Baker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2018
I did not have a good experience working at this company. The manager didnt seem to care about his empolyees, only about saving money and cutting hours. He was never around and there was nobody doing inventory so we were always running out of things (butter, soap, forks). Everything was disorganized and unprofessional. The hardest past of the job was to finish on time. I always ended up working late, expecially around the holidays because there was just too much for one person to handle. I never felt valued, and i never got a raise. . A lot of the people that worked there were really nice hardworking people, who should have been paid more.
Pros
the customers, the benifits, coworkers
Cons
the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment to work in.
Barista/Front end worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 March 2018
Everyday walking into work was fun, with very uplifting staff. Management was very organized and always had schedules ready well in advance. Environment was very clean and fun to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Part-Time Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 March 2018
This was my first job. I was a part-time bakery clerk. Basically helping customers either in person or over the phone, filling showcases, doing minor baking, and cleaning was essentially my job. It gave me great work experience. Although the management wasn't that great, the employees from other departments were really fun to be around. I found that the bakery department had a lot of drama and issues more than the other departments combined. The management didn't really solve any issues, they just talked through everything and thought they solved them. I will say, the managers themselves are really nice and fun people. But when it comes to actually dealing with issues, they don't really help.
It is a very fast-paced environment. You have to be a very quick worker and get things done on time or else you will be behind the next day, which they hate! Especially during the holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas. If you can handle working at Sunterra, you can handle working anywhere!
Pros
Great coworkers, discount, set schedule, great starting job
Cons
long hours (especially during holidays), little to no advancement, management, drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen Helper
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 March 2018
It’s very busy this morning for putting tray in ice boxes. Cutting any vegetables and fruits. Making ingredients for extra dressing. Makes vegetable and fruits on bowls for ordering foods to other companies. Clean/ mop freezer and room and throw away garbage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, lots of customer interactions.
Line cook, prepped, and helped (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2018
Its a good place to start in this industry, they pretty much follow the basics of the kitchen. good people, lots of work to do. hours were long, but productive. I made all they're stocks for the soups, and prepped everything that was needed. served the lounge and the restaurant.
Pros
fun place, learned alot there, good people
Cons
slow nights, lots of work for little pay. mouse problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2018
Receiving orders and stocking floor with required produce. Working with customers to make sure they get the best customer service possible. Organize cooler and table items with proper date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very productive never standing around
Cashier / Salad maker (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC9 January 2018
Chocolate factory was extremely hard but it always kept you busy so I really enjoyed it people were extremely friendly working with and hrs were decent
Pros
Breaks were pretty good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a farm labourer
Farm Labourer (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB8 December 2017
typical day at work involves taking care of hundreds of animals who completely rely on you to feed and take care of them! the workplace was a hard one to be in but it certainly had its rewards with the job. The hardest part of the job was being inside all the time and the best part of the job was dealing with the piglets.
Pros
rewarding job
Cons
always inside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work place, more to learn
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2017
Good company, friendly team, lot to learn, customer facing role is a exited thing where can meet and talk wit more people

work hours are so flexible.
Pros
Fun at work, employee benifits
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 October 2017
personally my exprience wasnt too great but what i can say is the people i worked with were awesome , made me feel welcomed and helped me when i was need of it
Pros
the people i worked with
Cons
wasnt the greatest expirence
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunterra Market
Baker, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 October 2017
Worked many positions at this grocery store, we served a higher end clientele. Family oriented and lots of opportunity to learn different departments in the store. Early morning shifts. Most enjoyable part of this job was the staff and clients we served.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun place to work
Food prep and dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
I wasn't their long enough to even get benefits but it was a good starting job for anyone in high school. and its kind of small store to work in never again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent Into Chaos
Part-time Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 July 2017
I started at Sunterra in 2013, and after four years the store had so many issues. I can't say that it was anyone's fault at the store, but the new management talked about issues and never seemed to solve them. The main problem seemed to be the complete lack of support from the head office in Calgary.
Pros
nice people, good location
Cons
piddly expense account benefits, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and welcoming
Dish Washer /Customer Service/Restocking (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2017
At Sunterra, just like any other job you are given a daily list of tasks to complete. Sunterra provides a very customer intuitive experience, they provide a large range of work experience from dish washing to being a line cook. From grocery stocking to working at a cash register. Management is strict when it comes to work yet kind and welcoming. Workplace environment is great with many kind and young co workers it hardly gets boring. The most difficult part about working at sunterra would have to be finding space in the kitchen. Sometimes with too many people their is hardly enough counter space to work at. Besides that sunterra is a very enjoyable place to work and the employee discount is a great addition!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Workplace
Store Front (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
Busy and Productive
Great way to practice customer service
Great management
enjoyable part is being able to be friends both with the team and the regular customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Store Front (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
Busy and Productive
Extended my customer service skills
Excellent management
Hardest part of job is being able to work in the bakery where it can get really hot because of the oven
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sunterra Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 77 reviews
528
416
320
27
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture