SunScape Tanning Studios Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical
Tanning Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 February 2019
Awful owners do NOT value their employees. Scam their customers and employees are left to deal with the repercussion of angry clients screaming and threatening you. Unsafe as you work alone and cases of girls being verbally harassed by creepy men. You don't get paid for your over time. No breaks. Forced to come in no matter how sick you are since you often work alone. You make so called commission but they take money off by doing things as simply showing up a few minutes late no one gets their hard earned money. only nice thing i can say about this company is that my coworkers were awesome. SCAMMERS. UNETHICAL. Run far away.
Cons
No breaks, treated poorly by management and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace!
Salon Associate (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC19 December 2018
I enjoyed working here, it’s a great place for someone who is in school, or just wanting to get into a fun salon type environment! I typically like to stay busy while I'm working, so I always found something to do and it was usually to clean the salon during slower times. There is potential to advance and go beyond an associate by becoming a manager.

My job duties while I was there - answered phones, managed front desk, product knowledge, booked appointments, cleaned beds, and sold packages/memberships.

Thanks for the experience, Sunscape!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers , horrible owners
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC11 June 2018
The customers were great , the staff were great .. but the owners were awful . They would just scam everyone in sight! Made it hard to want to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Salon Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver16 October 2017
Sunscape was a great place to work while going to school. This is a very professional run company with lots of opportunities for those who pay attention in training. I made a lot of commission (sometimes more than my wage) and would have been happy to keep the job had I not gone to university for a specialized career.
Pros
fun, meeting clients, commissions
Cons
not in my field
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have ever had
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC30 March 2017
This was the worst job that I have ever had. The owners are nasty people who dont value their employees whatsoever. Nothing you do is ever good enough for them, and you are constantly being watched and analyzed. There is also little to no opportunity for job advancement and if you do have the opportunity to enter into management you barely get compensated for your time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with lots of opportunity
Salon Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver21 August 2016
I was very sad when I moved and had to resign at this wonderful company. They've been in business for over 15 years I think, and I was proud to work here. The girls I worked with are great, they have all sorts of commission and bonus opportunities that get paid every month, the clients were amazing (well most of them) and I made a lot of really great friends via this job. Although I wasn't able to commit full time, if I had there were a lot of possibilities for advancement and to receive training from their many higher level managers. I actually used a lot of the things I learned here at my other job and in school.

I may even go back and work here one day should circumstances allow.
Pros
great co-workers, awesome commissions, fun atmosphere
Cons
a few co-workers didn't pull their weight
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Careful
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC27 July 2016
When you first start you have to pay 60$ for training with the beds.. But getting this training could take months.. Or never at all. And then when you move on And still haven't gotten the training you don't get that money back. New owners are all about themselves. You will hear about every single thing you do "wrong" but will not hear praise for what you do well with like an amazing sale or taking leadership for your store. Trying to take time off because your sick? Well it's your problem apparently not the manager they will tell you to figure it out for yourself- regardless of how sick you are. Super easy work but boring boring boring working atmosphere the one good thing is you can call girls at other salons to talk. Other than that your alone your entire shift.

And commissions? You need to complete a sales form (ie sell X amount of packages and lotions etc THEN you will recieve commisions after that had been approved) which is sort of silly and hey if you go for it just make sure you ask about this form because they may choose to not tell you about it so you can't keep track of what your selling..making it extra hard to even get that commission.
Pros
Free tanning
Cons
Work environment, managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome clients, great staff, very organized
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC23 April 2016
was a great place to work at, until there were new owners in place. many things changed and i didn't like how the new owners were handling the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SunScape Tanning Studios. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 9 reviews
54
40
31
21
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

SunScape Tanning Studios Reviews by Location