Sun Peaks Resort Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hill seems to have an Identity crisis, cant decide if it wants to be a destination resort or a Ma and Pa ski hill
Park Crew (Former Employee) –  Sun Peaks, BC1 June 2018
Most of the staff are good people to work with, but I can't say that management is run the best. From my experience, they hire inexperienced people for management positions and they make quite a few errors when it comes to pay-roll. The hardest part of the job was getting let go for being the only person who knew how to do the job properly.
Pros
Free ski pass
Cons
Getting taken advantage of, teenage managers, getting under-paid compaired to co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I taught part time for 18 years, Sun Peaks is an amazing world class resort!
Ski, Snowboard & Snow Bike Instructor, Part-time (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC21 April 2018
I taught skiing, snowboarding & snow biking. First tracks on powder days and amazing guests from all over the world. It never felt like work for 18 years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great lifestyle
Line Cook - Bottoms Bar & Grill (Former Employee) –  sun peaks village4 April 2018
great place, great people, great atmosphere and the ability to move up and progress if you invest in the place.
Management and staff were fantastic with great regular customers and clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snowboarding at work!
Lift Operator (Current Employee) –  Sun Peaks, BC21 March 2018
Operating lifts
Ride breaks
Good management, they really try to work with you for requested days off
Seasons Pass
Awesome people from all over the world
Awful wages
Pros
Free seasons pass, You get to snowboard for work, awesome global people
Cons
Awful wages, Not much room for raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like snow. Just don't work in the kitchen.
Line Cook, BC Canada (Current Employee) –  Kitchen9 March 2018
I worked in the kitchen and we're always understaffed because management won't or can't find suitable employees to work causing unreasonable demands on their kitchen staff. Waitress will make more money to work less by virtue of tip money which you won't get a cut of.
Pros
Free Lunch when working and Season pass to the mountain
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Ski Patrol (Former Employee) –  Sun Peaks, BC21 March 2017
Honestly super good job, provides experiance in a good field, fun times all day, Management sometimes hard to work with and often Judgy but otherwise all around a good time
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Kitchen supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sun Peaks, BC25 April 2016
In my 35 plus years of working this place was the WORST. I was hired as a Kitchen Supervisor. This was supposed to be a full time year round position. It was neither. Management is poor. Coworkers were intimidated by the General manager of the Lodge. A poor working environment, who gave no encouragement to grow, or input what you may have learned in your life's experiances.
Pros
Free lunch, good people to work with.
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pro Patrol OFA Level 3 (Current Employee) –  Sun Peaks, BC14 April 2016
I enjoy working at Sun Peaks Resort. They provide a great work atmosphere for their employees. I learnt a lot about first aid from the very knowledgeable management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Employer
Bartender/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sun Peaks Kamloops BC23 August 2014
They take Care of their workforce.



Typical day is set up the restaurant, have a team meeting discussing safety or any issues.

Great Management

Co Workers become your friends

Hardest part of the Job was working on Pow Days!

enjoyable part was the hours. always able to ski!
Pros
Seasons passes, discount on food
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report

Want to know more about Sun Peaks Resort?

Ask a question

See more Sun Peaks Resort reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Peaks Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 11 reviews
56
42
31
22
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.2Culture

Sun Peaks Resort Reviews by Location