Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great remunaration
Financial Security Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 December 2017
Great place to work, great team, great company. I really recommend this career to anyone who is a true entrepreneur. you have got to put in some work. Prospect, prospect, and prospect. If you can do that, you will be just fine.
Pros
great mullah
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON4 December 2017
Overall good place to work.
Work/Life balance is very dependant on your manager and department.
Depending on department and management in that department, will determine your typical day. Most departments offer flexible time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
processing health and dental claim (Former Employee) –  NEW DELHI3 December 2017
The work was good . management helped employees a lot

There were no pressure of the job. ;

Learning new things every day and using them during our work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 November 2017
everyone inside and outside the team was great to work with, the culture and atmosphere is always great.



Would take the opportunity again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the company and the culture
Program Coordinator, Strategy Development (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 November 2017
I have only wonderful feedback to provide on my experience as an employee at Sun Life. Sun Life is a forward thinking company that provides a stable work environment that encourages growth as well as work/life balance.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
lengthy HR processes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meetings to kick start your day.
Testing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON29 November 2017
The people are great to work with and coming up with solutions that are manageable to deliver on time within budget. The tools and training are available to do your job.
Pros
lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Account Executive Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 November 2017
I enjoyed working at Sun Life Financial. I worked in the Group Benefits Department and enjoyed the challenges and changes that came with the job. Company had flexibility with hours of work.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Cons
Opportunity advancements mostly require relocation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission Based
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 November 2017
Not easy to find business. It is very good if you have network. If yes, it is the best job you can have. Work/life balance is great and making money will be easy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Meet Great People
Administrator/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Dauphin, MB16 November 2017
typical receptionist job. you are the face of the business when the clients walk through the door. Greet them professionally. General clerical responsibilities, kept track of deadlines, typed letters in various formats with high degree of accuracy. worked with minimal supervision. ensured information was filed in the appropriate manner.
Pros
Good Wage
Cons
Term position
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Products Expensive Premiums
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 November 2017
Being one of the largest insurance company they have really good reputation. The work is self satisfying because you are helping people planning for their unexpected future. Personal experience, there was a few who turned down on the insurance policy ended up suffering from injuries and death, it's not a joke when they say it's a serious matter to make each sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sunlife financial
ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 November 2017
The job is very demanding, and very challenging. Being completely commission based you can work 60 hours a week and make absolutely no money (which I personally experienced). I have become tired of giving all effort and getting nothing back, simply trying to help families.
Pros
no boss
Cons
unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoy being a secretary
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Philippines13 November 2017
my typical day at work was to be sure all the necessary documents of the underwriter's were complete and in proper place.
To communicate well with the clients in hospitable way so they will pay their due date's obligations.
it was a quiet and professional place to work.
The hardest part is when we received a bounced check and cannot reached the clients.
The most enjoyable part was when the underwriter's closed their transaction with the clients and having a bonuses.
Pros
having free snacks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Corporate Culture
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2017
The workplace culture at SLF is unmatched! Being employed by such a large, identifiable and impactful company, has it's many appeals. In a sales or marketing role, the brand sells itself. Management, from my experience, has been very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people working in a fast paced environment.
Wealth Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 November 2017
Job can be monotonous or overwhelming depending on the day. Few breaks or changes of pace. However, lots of job security and salary and benefits are very reasonable.
Pros
Benefits. Job Security. People.
Cons
Depending on the day either over worked or under worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Actuarial Intern (Former Employee) –  Malaysia6 November 2017
The workplace culture is very collaborative and focuses on team work. Learned a lot about actuarial concepts and how it is applied. I enjoyed seeing what I learned in university come to life at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Money Money
Sun Life Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 October 2017
Like any sales job, it is hard, but they are postive and with training...Great people, but to all about money for me, I like to hekp people but not only for money.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
boring sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Countless opportunities and excellent company culture + benefits
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 October 2017
Sun Life provides endless opportunities for career advancement. Not to mention the top of the line benefits as an employee. Employees and managers are great to work with.
Pros
Fringe benefits, culture, management
Cons
Salary could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective and cooperative work place
AML investigator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2017
One thing i like about the work environment is the cooperation in the team. A very comfortable and conducive work space with leaders who are very helpful and wants their subordinate to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and interesting work culture
LIFE CLAIMS ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  CA29 October 2017
interesting, never boring something new always coming up.
people and team, team leaders and mangers very friendly and approachable.
I loved my job here the work was so interesting I actually miss it!
Pros
free pizza quite a lot!!
Cons
salary is a bit low for the work you do!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 October 2017
heavy workload, great teams and management with a variety of training opportunities; annual team outings; good benefits and great job culture overall.
Pros
annual team events
Cons
salary is lower than many other places
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Life Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 838 reviews
5300
4303
3171
241
123

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture