Sun Life Financial Employee Reviews

Found 513 reviews matching the search See all 893 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture less politics for mid-management level, good team
Senior Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2018
good health coverage benefits
good environment
less WLB (work life balance) due to number of staff is lesser
Work from home allowed
Environment to developer multiple skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Representative
Representative Client Services (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 July 2018
I enjoyed working for Sun Life it was a great and amazing experience. Multi tasking, Prioritizing your work, and meeting deadline was your daily work. However Sun Life is flexible toward family.
The hardest part would trying to over come your back log, and meeting tight deadlines.
Pros
Flexiblity
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Financial Services Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2018
My time at Sun Life was great as it was a fun place to work where everyone got along and was treated like family. There were daily and quarterly quotas to meet but as long as you did what was expected, those number were not hard to meet. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate or miserable people on the phone as the job was very heavily based on making outbound calls.
Pros
Bonuses and trips if you hit your numbers
Cons
call center based atmoaphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virtual Work Environment
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 July 2018
Changing from a physical location to a virtual work from home environment had its challenges for me. It was hard not being able to collaborate with colleagues as easily on a daily basis. But it was a job that one could be at home and work. I
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like being treated like a child
Financial Centre Resource Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Gatineau12 July 2018
Work at Sun Life if you enjoy being treated like children, and micro-managed. Managed has no faith nor trust in their employees and are always looking over your shoulder. advancement works if you suck up to the bosses, and show them that work life balance does not factor. The more you work, the better your chances. So, sacrifice family, in order to move ahead, because if not, the next person will be looked at. If you have e-mail on your phone, you're expected to check it all times of the day, regardless...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanted more
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 July 2018
I was hoping for and wanting more out of my path. It simply did not happen they way i thought it would. I learned a lot about myself and how a big company works, overall not a bad experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and Supportive
Project Manager - Project Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario4 July 2018
Sun Life Financial believes in creating an environment that is well balanced. People come first and leadership ensures support is given to its employees to achieve this.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2018
Learned so much, has helped me a lot with recent jobs because of the experience. Opened another world for me and taught a lot about fulltime jobs and how to really work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
MAIL ROOM CLERK/CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 July 2018
Sun life financial was one of the greatest work environments that i had the pleasure to work at. It was filled with great people and co-workers that shared a lovely and cheerful vibe that i picked up through my years.
Pros
Amazing work environment
Cons
Transportation hassles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well management procurement team
License Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 June 2018
I had no issue with management or the job or location of the company. The hours were flex time - as long as your worked your7.5 hours/day - you could start anytime before 9am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Project Portfolio Manager
Enterprise Portfolio Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON24 June 2018
Executive arena for IT projects not focusing on projects as much as operational profitability. Non-integrated approach to portfolio management and production
Pros
Good Pay and reputation
Cons
non-supportive to new management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended if you want to have a life and be respected
Manager, Group Disability Team (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 June 2018
I respect Sunlife as a successful business and it was certainly my dream to be part of this company, hence I discovered that most of the excecutives care only for the business not for the employees.
Work life balance is impossible to achieve and the definition of "high performance" is work to death.
I admire the people who successfuly tribe under this amount of preasure and lack of care for people's wellbeing, but certainly this is not my style.
Pros
big company
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi pouvant être couteux
Conseiller (Former Employee) –  Granby21 June 2018
La Cie recherche plus des banques de clients prospects et des participants aux dépenses des bureaux.
Pros
Horaires ajustable
Cons
Revenus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 June 2018
Limited advancement opportunity. Frequent restructuring resulting in job losses. They outsource a lot of their work and continue to grow their outsourcing base.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pl see below
Quality Assurance Coordinator/Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON30 May 2018
More then happy to discuss in person. Not comfortable providing any reviews on the web. Hope that is appreciated and is not considered mandatory requirement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Acting Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 May 2018
Sun Life is full of great people and excellent leaders. It is very important that you own your own satisfaction and seek out those around you who do the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 May 2018
Sun Life focuses on employee development but not much opportunity to move up the latter. You are just a number. The people are great to work with except management.
Pros
Benefits and Salary
Cons
No work/life balance and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work.
Advisor (Current Employee) –  2075 Kennedy Road Scarborough Ontario M1T 3V323 May 2018
This is a good company to work with. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Managers are very helpful and keep motivating their staff to continue to succeed in their business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever to work.
Administrative Assistant/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 May 2018
HORRIBLE place to work. Managers are terrible and basically have zero people skills. Everyone on my team was miserable about my managers and went to them several times with zero action. Have zero loyalty to long term employees and allow harassment on a daily place.
Pros
good severance package when you go to a lawyer and get one
Cons
management, no loyalty to their employees, no room to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunlife
Sales Manager- Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON22 May 2018
Its a great role if you want a flexible and non political culture. no real boss, you are a 100% commissioned employee, you have huge tax write offs and you have support from internal Managers to assist you. You can build your own business
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sun Life Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 893 reviews
5320
4318
3182
247
126

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture