Stuart Olson Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Quality Control Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB23 June 2018
very faced paced, busy workplace. Allow a lot of freedom in positions to do your job. They need to focus more on employees, professional development and appraisal systems.
Pros
strong safety perspectives.
Cons
No development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the people that matter.
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2018
I work 6-5 on the jobsite. Planning and reviewing the work of the project. I go through safety, budgets, and QAQC. I have been given room to grow and learn on my own through my experience at Stuart Olson. I haven enjoyed my time here but it is my site team that makes the difference. The small appreciations along the way go a mile. The most enjoyable part of my job is when a plan goes together and we see production. Its the people and the planning that makes it worth is. If the client is happy then I am happy. The people may be the best but can also be the hardest . We are all different trying to deliver a project together.
Pros
rrsp and stock matching
Cons
job uncertainanty
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  edmonton remand centre off 127th6 June 2018
this was a great place to work. learned quite alot obout the remand center if was great work and hours but went to a place that paid more money.got along great with all theemplyees and learned a few different job related skills.
Pros
close to home
Cons
ten hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fun.
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Alberta11 April 2018
The upper management are not involved at all with what happens on site, and they expect miracles to happen. Although they will be notified of the consequences, but they choose to ignore many issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
security patroler (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 April 2018
When you work construction you can have fun with your co-workers but on the limit of safety,always u have to follow the procedure and rules because the goal is :everyone must go home safety.
Pros
Yes if U work on camp you have free lunch and room.
Cons
After work you have a chance to go relax or exercise in the gym.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace. Upper management needs work. Wages are low.
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 March 2018
A lot more responsibilities outside actual job scope for the same money agreed upon hire date.
Management are not organized and shady.
Workplace culture was great and was fun to go to work.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with head office and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement oportunities
Carpenter/Carpenter Foreman/Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 March 2018
Great culture and adherence to company policies and procedures, work crews were treated fair and efforts were made to rectify any crew issues. Great work life balance.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Pay periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 March 2018
Very fun place to work with fun people. The work life balance is something that they take very seriously and that made work even more enjoyable. I would recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community orintated company
Accounts Payable Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 February 2018
Diversified abilities required to complete the many duties, making it always challenging. Changing technologies make for an interesting work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with a great team
TARGET SHOTS AND STRINGERS (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2018
looking for work in construction
cribbing
construction all tickets fall protection
cst
confined space
flagging
framing
patchwork
endurance form work
Pros
team work
Cons
never finished on time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Stuart Olson?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Journeyman Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 January 2018
Met some great people here, and learned a lot, in fact if it wasn't for a job offer at JvDrivers I would have never left, and would probably be there today
Pros
Amazing coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of Individuals to work with
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2018
Greatful to have had the opportunity to gain some experience working in commercial construction. I got to work with some excellent trades people and get a taste for how a busy construction site operates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Division of large Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 December 2017
Senior Management had very little experience in the work which was being bid on. Very poor workplace culture was encouraged making for extremely stressful work environment. Would not return by choice but it could have been an excellent division if it had been managed better.
Pros
Some good people hired to start the division
Cons
Management cultivated a very poor workplace culture which created constant personnel turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equitable, and fair place to work
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 October 2017
Not a difficult job, and the pay was good, but they didn't seem to value employees very well and at the time I was working there, they were having some theft.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Journeyman Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  NWT16 September 2017
good company, good culture, safety is priority I had a good experience with the stuart olson company while I worked for them at the guacho que diamond mine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not abad job, too many orders to fill out.
Skid steer/labourer 35 years (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 August 2017
Good pay and benefits. No work, so I have to find it somewhere else to work. The job changed daily. sometimes you did housekeeping, Stripping of forms, concrete work , run skidsteer and cleanup and backfill and move materials to and from building.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
fill out too many forms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with growth potential in commercial construction
QAQC Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 June 2017
First commercial construction company I have worked for all others have been in the industrial construction and manufacturing industries. It was a great learning experience for me, I enjoyed the interaction with the personnel of the owner as well as with Stuart Olson and subcontractors.
I would recommend working with Stuart Olson if the opportunity presents itself.
Pros
Fair compensation
Cons
Does not have or adheres to company policies & procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not fun place to work
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 June 2017
Industrial division was a new division at that time with all new employees and was very dysfunctional from upper management to field staff
I was only with this division for very short period of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very well managed division
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2017
Managers were inexperienced at managing the type of work they had tendered. Because of the management style it became an increasingly difficult division to work in.
Pros
Some very experienced co workers
Cons
Management would not listen to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting experience
Electrical Journeyman (Former Employee) –  NT6 February 2017
Working in the middle of know where was a unique experience, and sometimes a bit of a challenge. But I'd do it all over again for the great wages and experience gained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stuart Olson. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 59 reviews
511
423
315
26
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture