Strike Employee Reviews

Found 62 reviews matching the search See all 123 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB4 December 2018
good management, always get a call back for the next job. lots of work and hours. safe working environment for everyone. very good with young workers/apprentices and help you succeed
Pros
lots of work
Cons
lunches aren't paid for
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by idiots
Journeyman pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 October 2018
One of the worst and scabbiest outfits in the game. They treat the guys on the tools like garbage and management is beyond incompetent. Avoid this company. And for those who choose to work for these guys, don’t say I didn’t warn you.
Pros
J man makes $39hr so it’s better then EI
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opinions do vary
JM Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 July 2018
I would stay away! Poor management(minus one person). Not organized. Low pay. If you aren't a bag licker you likely won't make it far. Use discretion if you're thinking about working for this company.
Pros
Most of the guys were decent to work with
Cons
Nearly everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial
Welders Helper (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB10 May 2018
Installed fabricated metal components in the processing plant. Completed minor touch ups with SMAW (carbon) and GMAW (carbon) welders. Adjusted the welding machines to the correct settings prior to welding applications. Prepared broken parts for welding by properly grooving and scarfing surfaces. Welded pipe guides, and pile caps SMAW (carbon) welding, operated many types of machinery such as knuckle picker, skid steer, track hoe excavator. 
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of guys and girls
welder (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK30 March 2018
A typical day at work is et up have a safety meeting go to the line and weld some pipe. The crew is all great people who are very skilled in how to properly complete a pipeline in a safe and fast manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting work
Welder's Helper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB18 January 2018
i learned a lot working for strike and got fit, the work is hard but rewarding. the pay was good at the time, the hardest part was enduring the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Apprentice pipefitter/welder (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB17 November 2017
strike was a good company to work for and seem to have all the work in the area which was a hugebonus not having to worry about where the next cheque came from
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB15 November 2017
Nice place to work staff is alright and work can stay constant at times. Would work here again but seeking other oppertunities. .......................
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
2nd Year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 November 2017
They are a terrific company work for! Lots of smart and hard working people on and off the tools. Always making sure everything is done the correct way and that everyone knows how and why they are doing what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reception/Administrative Assistant
Receptionist/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Crossfield, AB20 September 2017
Great place to work.

Enjoyed all my fellow coworkers and the time I was able to spend with them before leaving for maternity leave.

Lots of memories to look back on
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place great benefits
Structural MIG Welder (Former Employee) –  High Level, AB14 September 2017
great place to work. great atmosphere, great benefits. good crew to work with and lots of job opportunities. very flexible job hours. management are very willing to cooporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While i worked there the company showed great appreciation for their workers.
STRUCTURAL FOREMAN/ SUPERINTENDENT TRAINEE (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB10 August 2017
work life balance was very good. most days were consistent. Management would often provide hot lunches. Work areas were well managed and well maintained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Favorite Oil Field company to work at
Welder/Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Crossfield, AB28 July 2017
I worked on numerous jobs with strike energy, Always a great company to work with, Good Pay, Good management and they care about employees safety and well being more than anyone else Ive ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will Go Back
Steamfitter/ Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Crossfield, AB14 July 2017
Strike is an up in coming company that will have room to grow your profession. I am a Journeyman now and looking for something more. The rates are low but for the most part they keep a good hand busy.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
non paid lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im not sure what to write here
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB22 February 2017
everyday was always the same, we would sit down before we started list the hazards and controls to be put in place. i would assist the welders with setting up for the welds as well as during, be it fitting, preheating, buffing and grinding, to running to grab water, whatever they needed we fullfilled. most of the management was good there were a few in place that had me questioning things but all and all everyone was great. it was a fairly good environment were all trades men so we generally all get along but everyone butts heads eventually its just how you deal with it. hardest part of the job would be the travelling the best part would also be the travelling, seeing canada for free has been nice.
Pros
the people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good atmosphere and good team to work with
Apprentice Welder (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB7 October 2016
really enjoyed working with strike. good rates and good jobs. management seems to be disconnected with whats going on in the field but they keep out of your hair
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people. Safe work space
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB6 June 2016
Great people to work for for the most part. sometimes a bit of lack of respect for personal life of workers though with the weird hours and un expected calls to work.
Pros
People, Safety
Cons
Weird hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough job
B-Pressure welder's helper (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 April 2016
A day at work was helping a welder in his duties throughout the day. mostly just handing tools over when asked, setting up the work or cleanup the job site. Seldom i was given lessons on stick welding, i also learned how to use some specialty tools like a pipe beveller or different types of leveling tools. management there was very on top of things and always knew who was going were. Some of the people there were difficult to get along with but i typically only worked with one person whom i got along great with. The hardest part of the job was the insanely long hours and all of the driving it took to get to the job site. I enjoyed the friendly competition that the welders took part in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome experience and welcome the chance to do it again
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 March 2016
no complaints. work was standard 12hr shifts. meals were packed and taken for the days work. after work, dinner is cooked hot and the day is over. some coworkers are miserable but Ive tolerated worse. thank you strike for the opportunity!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for full time position, I'm available immediately.
Side-boom Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Cache, AB4 January 2016
We poor boy-ed the job so I ran side boom on every crew so that was refreshing, I have not done that in awhile. Good crews. Old equipment but ran half decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Strike. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 123 reviews
540
443
326
24
110

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture