Stokes Inc Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 April 2019
Loved this job. not stressful and i wanted to go to work every morning. my boss was great and the items that you sell are easy to explain and to handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement ou tout le monde a sa chance d'avancer
Vendeuse, Gérante intérim (Former Employee) –  Saint-Sauveur, QC14 February 2019
Ouverture du magasin.
Recevoir les commandes et placer la marchandises tout en répondant a la clientèle.
Maintenir un environnement propre et sécuritaire.

Gestion des employés et des horaires de travail

L'aspect difficile était le peu d'heure et le salaire

L'aspect positif était que tu peux gravir des échelons rapidement selon ta motivation et tes ambitions
Pros
gravir les échelons rapidement
Cons
horaire et salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun, positive work place.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lasalle, QC21 December 2018
i really enjoyed working here. the employees are very postitive, outgoing, fun and dedicated to giving the best customer service. i would recommend this to anyone.
Pros
discount after 3 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement
Stock boy (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 December 2018
Bien pour débuter dans le marché du travail ou comme étudiant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB7 September 2018
Best place to work ever. Hardest part of this job was the stock level but you push threw it. Family means everything to me and to Stokes as well. Most enjoyable was my team members, as they were my Rock as well as my District Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shakey
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ontario21 August 2018
Not enough hours available. Executive management is so lost that they do not even know who is above whom. Seniority is not recognized. Managers never stay.
Pros
product is good
Cons
leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice entry level job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 July 2018
typical day contained helping customers and filling the shelves. I was able to learn how to close a store and develop my customer service skills. the store manager I had was very nice and understanding when I had to take time off for school. the hardest part of the job was the slow days but also the extremely busy holidays. I enjoyed how simple the job was overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 May 2018
Not my best job. They were very big on up selling their little things at the cash. Were not positive for long. If you did not sell things repeatedly, they would get upset.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qualité de vie
Cogérante (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC16 May 2018
J’aimerais retrouver un poste dans lequel l’avancement est possible , des horaires fixes de semaine ! Un travail dynamique dans lequel il sera bon de mettre mes talents au profit de la compagnie
Pros
Succursale achalandée
Cons
Double gérance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pas bon
PRÉPARATEUR DE COMMANDES (Former Employee) –  Mont-royal, QC30 April 2018
salaires trop bas , pas de respect pour les anciens .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne compagnie avec ses défauts
Vendeuse (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 April 2018
Stokes est une compagnie permettant à tous ses employés de s’épanouir dans un environnement de travail calme et professionnel. Cependant, le bureau chef a tendance à prendre les employés beaucoup trop pour acquis. Nous faisons de notre mieux sans jamais être gratifié de nos efforts au travail.
Pros
Environnement de travail calme
Cons
Employés pris pour acquis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stokes
Associée aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Saint-Georges-de-Beauce, QC27 March 2018
roulement d'employés élevé , recrutement a la periode des fetes
Pros
ambiance de travail
Cons
salaire minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this company.
3rd Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC14 March 2018
Great company to work for. The only downfall for our particular store is that we had to close out due to lease issues. Tons of room for advancement which is encouraged. Great moralle.
Pros
Advancement opportunities
Cons
minimal benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going environment but poor management.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 February 2018
While I worked there I would be working cash and maintaining cleanliness alongside one or two other employees. While I was there, management was laid back and I got decent hours. After I left, management changed and later on fired an employee who I had worked with, with no explanation at all, and blacked out things on the record of employment they gave to them. New management seems to only want to hire middle aged people and had no interest in rehiring me even though old management had said they'd be very willing to hire me for the next holiday season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement très productif
Troisième clé (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC13 February 2018
j'ai bien aimé mon expérience et j'ai beaucoup appris avec la directrice de district et la gérante du magasin.
Pros
pause
Cons
horaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, always something to do
Think Kitchen (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 December 2017
Work life consists of customer service, operating cash register, making price tags and doing inventory if you're a stock associate. Salary is entry level, so minimum wage. Like, most retail business, they don't promote within, they hire someone outside to fill management positions so don't be looking forward to getting ever promoted. Also, expect to be working 15-20 hours a week, sometimes 5 or 10. Management was nice to work with, they are very friendly and helpful when you have lots of questions. Your daily life is what I mentioned before, just customer service, operating cash register, making price tags/price changes, and managing stock if you're a stock associate. There's always something to do in this store.
Pros
Easy part time job, always productive work place
Cons
Minimum wage, no promotion within the company, no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON15 November 2017
The Kingston management team needs some serious work. The manager is controlling, has a poor training style and micromanages all her staff members; even those who have worked there for years. The pay is very little and hours are few and far between unless you're full time.

Job consists on opening boxes, following picture displays and cashing out customers.

Overall, the job was 'meh'.
Pros
None.
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et agréable
Associée aux ventes (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC6 November 2017
Le magasin a un soucis de sa clientèle et de ses employers. L'environnement est agréable, il y fait bon travailler !
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C'est agréable de travailler à cet endroit
Gérante adjointe (Current Employee) –  Victoriaville, QC21 August 2017
J'ai appris plusieurs choses sur les articles de cuisines.
J'ai appris sur moi que j'ai beaucoup de patience.
La gérante fait bien son travail et plus.
Il n'y a pas d'assurance pour les employées sauf la gérante.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst manager ever!
Employee (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB11 April 2017
The worst job ever! Manager is so rude, talks down about the company and other co-workers. She blames her staff for everything, when in reality she is the one at fault. She would give you heck or talk down to you infront of a customer or other co-workers for something that was beyond your control. She addressed some employees by demoralizing nicknames. I wouldn't wish this manager on my worst enemy.
Pros
None
Cons
Nasty rude manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stokes Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 34 reviews
56
412
311
22
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture