Sterling College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ta
Chemistry Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS18 July 2018
TAing was fun I was able to help those that were struggling with general chemistry and seeing them get it was really cool. And if no one showed up I still got paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academically rich and supportive environment
Assistant Professor of Education (Current Employee) –  Sterling, KS21 June 2018
One of the best Academic Deans I have ever worked for. Supportive, engaging, in touch with the pulse of the college. True heart of a servant leader!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a work college
Learning Support Mentor (Current Employee) –  Craftsbury Common, VT13 May 2018
This website is incapable of understanding that my job at Sterling college is purely under the circumstances that it is part of the work college program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Mission and Atmosphere
Director of Conduct & Student Affairs (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS30 April 2018
Sterling has improved my knowledge of college operations. I can honestly say that they have prepared me for success in my future endeavors. The atmosphere is a once in a lifetime kind of place.
Pros
Great atmosphere, awesome co-workers
Cons
not great compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substandard College with a Predictably High Turnover
Educator (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS25 April 2017
Sterling is a small college with a culture of athletics and mediocre academics. The demands are low, but the work is unsatisfying intellectually. Academic achievements by staff members are often ignored. Many of the business practices ethically questionable. As a result there is an extremely high turn over rate. This is good place if you are looking for an easy job and are willing to allow standards to drop without complaint.
Pros
Lunch Discount
Cons
Low academic expectations, Bad business practices, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More productive
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra11 April 2017
Considered my work experience
Location near to Kharghar
Good management
More attention is given to students overall development
Separate batches of students r done to improve there learning
More attention is given for improving there academic
Regular parents teachers meeting is to be conducted
Pros
Good management
Cons
Minimum salary expecation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work for college students
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS16 January 2017
Decent work for students and good management. offers work experience that is valuable and quite easy. not too taxing.
too many meetings however.
lots of unnecessary micromanaging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable place to work
Admin Asst. to the Vice President for Advancement (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS4 August 2016
If you don't fully believe and buy into the religious side of the college, it can be an unfriendly place. I found the leadership while I was there to be incompetent.
Pros
cafeteria when students are on campus
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great community
Assistant Resident Director (Current Employee) –  Sterling, KS21 June 2014
great place to work and grow as a coach,
people are very family oriented
very competitive atmosphere
great coaches
the passion that the students have
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Recruiting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS31 May 2014
Mr. Tee was an relaxing environment filled with watching sports and selling merchandise every weekend and fulfilling orders throughout the week.

Recruiting was tedious and long hours, but very much worth the experience and time put into it

Time well spent!
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with room to gain communications experience.
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Sterling KS7 May 2014
Productive work place with room to gain communications experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and learned a great deal
Sports Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS30 April 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to develop interpersonal relationships. I'm a people person, and this job allowed me to be around people constantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with people every day
Resident Director (Former Employee) –  Sterling, KS14 November 2013
A typical day at Sterling College was always an adventure. When working with college students, there will always be excitement, hard aches, and fulfillment. I managed a two dormitories, male and female, that had about 110 students. I was responsible for housing, academic advising, financial coaching, discipline and mentoring. The hardest part about my job was the fact that it was very difficult to support a family with the salary offered. The most enjoyable part was that I had the opportunity to have an impact on hundreds of college students lives.
Pros
Variety, management, problem solving, forming teams, discipleship
Cons
Irregular hours, small salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sterling College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14 reviews
54
46
32
21
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.2Culture