Statistics Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technical Advisor (Current Employee) –  Tunney's Pasture, ON3 May 2018
Statistics Canada is a great place to work. I have learnt a lot here and it is very different from HRSDC. This is a smaller department and people are more territorial of their work.

Overall great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized and run institution
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 April 2018
A national statistical agency charged with the collection and analysis of census data. There is the general census of the population carried out every 5 year. This is usually carried together with the census of agriculture. There are also inter-censal surveys carried out between the 5 year periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Vilna, AB16 April 2018
Great job! it was nice way to see the local countryside and meet new people. I had great training and a manager was only a phone all away. I would definitely apply for the job again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going door to door for the census
Agent Recenseur (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 April 2018
Help them to understand the questions and answer properly. It needed a lot of patience in order for them to be able to fill up all of the documents. At the end, I had to put all the data in our system base.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time casual
Census Canada Agent (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB3 April 2018
well paid
part time term position
this was a government job for stats Canada after the election. hours were very flexible
you needed to be able to work on your own
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Experience
Census Processing Agent (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC24 March 2018
-Amazing Workplace
-Amazing people
-10/10 Experience
-Learned a lot of new skills
-Fast paced experience
-Typical day at work would be a lot of paper work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced,
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ON22 March 2018
this was a good place to learn about how the government agencies operate. this was a first job kind of place and they treated you as such. work hard low pay, high expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning new things everyday and fun working
Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ON21 March 2018
Telephone Interviewers plan, develop, or conduct surveys. Skills relevant to this position and found on applicants' resumes include performing telephone interviews for a wide variety of surveys and censuses, telephoning respondents to explain the purpose of surveys or censuses to gain cooperation, obtaining and recording data on a survey instrument, and assisting in the clerical processing of the collected information. Example resumes show that those interested in becoming Telephone Interviewers possess degrees in such fields as economics, business statistics, or marketing research, to name a few.
Pros
learning new projects, day by day improving personal and comunication skills
Cons
late night shifts and late night driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and rewarding job!
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Huron, ON20 March 2018
I really enjoyed how flexible it was to work as an enumerator. However, the customers you have to work with are not always as friendly so you must be determined. Overall, great temporary work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate government job
General Social Survey Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 March 2018
Work consisted of performing the typical CATI type work, but in a highly professional and intelligent environment. Not the typical survey work undertaken by market research firms, since the "surveys" are actually data gathering to compile Statistics Canada produced reports, including the unemployment rate, crop yields and business activity in Canada. Provides a sense of doing telephone work that's actually worthwhile.
Pros
good work environment, clean offices, up to date equipment.
Cons
Evening shifts, strict security after 9/11
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snb
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB16 March 2018
only did this job for a short period of time as i was waiting to be hired on for another position that i wanted and feel as though it would be unfair of me to give a rating as the contract i agreed on was such a short amount of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured enviroment
QU/CSU Assistant (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 March 2018
This was a contract position during the census period. Dealing with confidential information, everyone was able to assist each other to make deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment.
Transcriber (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 March 2018
Great work environment during my time as a contractor with Statistics Canada. Given the fact I was contracted, advancement opportunities were scarce and there was a given deadline. Management was excellent and the culture incredible, the people working there make the job the great experience that it was.
Pros
Relaxed yet ambitious environment
Cons
Travel time to and from work (Ottawa to Quebec)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job - set your own hours
Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 February 2018
I went door-to-door and left forms and/or helped clients fill out the forms. Management was always available for assistance. We were left on our own, unless we had difficulties.
The hardest part was when the computers had issues and our data entry got behind.
My favorite part was meeting all the people!
Pros
set your own hours
Cons
unfortunately, I was afraid of dogs while preforming my duties door-to-door
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bollox
Computer-Assisted Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS24 February 2018
corrupt management, low quality hiring practices, rampant favoritism, anti-union, inhuman expectations, If you are willing to be a robotic minion with no life and have a second job for main income because unfair distribution of hours (13/week to 38/week; after 5.5 years there my average was 29/week), then you might fly under the radar and do ok.
Pros
benefits provided by union, good wage considering.
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement travail productif et agréable.
Recensement (Former Employee) –  Amqui, QC21 February 2018
J'ai aimée faire ce travail ça m'as apporter de l'Expérience avec la clientèle et le contact avec les gens.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meilleur boulot a vie
Agent aux recensements (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC18 February 2018
Tres autonome comme travail
Tres flexible sur l'horaire
Taches de travail non exigente
Tres bon salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job if you like people
Enumerator/Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Nunavut7 February 2018
I enjoyed working as an interviewer and enumerator for StatCan. You get to travel and meet lots of interesting people. The drawbacks are it is not a permanent job and it doesn't pay that well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace environment
Statistical Clerk - Contract (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
The job was decent, money was good, typical government job.

Most of the people I worked with were good people.

Environment was tense, stressful at times.
Pros
Good pay & benefits
Cons
Commute was pretty far, work/life balance wasn't the greatest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi étudiant parfait
Intervieweuse (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC18 January 2018
Emploi étudiant très bien payé, équipe formidable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Statistics Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 333 reviews
5151
4122
340
27
113

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture