State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON23 August 2018
Excellent company, great culture that was always foremost in the mind of peers and management. Very good benefits, overall a great place to work. Sorry that it’s no longer in Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON16 July 2018
State farm insurance is a good company . very good management.. headoffice very cooperative. In the agency the work environment was good.. sometimes we were asked to stay afterhours without being paid.
Pros
coworkers and headoffice staff very helpful
Cons
agent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Company
Life Company Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON24 June 2018
Your desk would consist of several different subjects of work. Each day when you start you would prioritize your day and workload. Over my 15 year tenure, I learned how to change client names, beneficiaries, address, SIN numbers, birthday's, adjust payments, set up and distribute death and disability claims. All levels of management were approachable and available to provide new information about company changes, new systems and support. The hardest and yet most rewarding part of my job was death claims. They were hard to deal with the death of someone but you felt good in helping their loved ones to be at peace and be able to pay for the services. I also loved the people I worked with.
Pros
Free parking, Staff appreciation day and fun days at the office
Cons
working 10-6 shift and missing mealtime with my family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent office Team member
Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 June 2018
Your experience will depend 100% on the agent you work with. The office I was with started of really well. Positive team and good perks. As the years went on the agent and office manager (married couple) were out of the office more and more on personal holidays/business and expected you to fully run and manage their business with very little support. Concerns that were voiced were ignored leaving you feeling unappreciated. The benefits provided were average. It is a very independent job so you have to manage your work load effectively, especially the sales end of things. Its very easy to get overwhelmed with the small things. The biggest thing I learned- If the agent decides they don't like you or you aren't preforming, they just fire you and move to the next person. You are very replaceable.
Pros
Decent income if good at sales, training provided by head office was very good
Cons
Office gossip, lack of HR support, lack of confidentially by agent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sydney Cook (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 June 2018
A day at work would consist of answering calls and maintaining the book of business. Sydney was a crook, no one liked her and clients hated dealing with her.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON6 June 2018
State Farm Insurance is a great place to work. While I was there the other employees were very friendly and accepting. Everyone there is kind and they love keep a good relationship with the people they do business with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 May 2018
Working at State Farm Insurance has given me experience and confidence. They provided good training for their staff. The workplace was a nice environment and the people were also kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfiling work
GENERAL TEAM MEMBER/ OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON1 May 2018
This position provided fulfilling work and dedication to client satisfaction and care. I found in a typical day I was quoting, hosting appointments for coverage and general office duties. The most trying portion of this position was the transition from one company to another and coverage changes from State Farm to Desjardins.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON26 April 2018
Always kept me on my feet and I was never bored because there was something to do all the time

Nice People; both friendly and supportive

Maintained relationship with staff even outside of workplace
Pros
long lunches hour
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company and learn some extra thing
DATA ENTRY OPERATOR/CLERICAL (Former Employee) –  arora23 April 2018
good co i like but this also from agency dept was closing went for two weeks and i stay their 6 month to 1 years. i learn extra thing like use big machine for printing ect
Pros
always fun summer barbacu part etc
Cons
yes work only Saturday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positif
Broker & Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 April 2018
Un environnement convivial de travail. Interessant
Pros
Apprentissage intéressant
Cons
Contraignant et stressant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary low with no benefits
Office Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 April 2018
Overall it was a good experience, but pay is too low and no benefits. There are no advancement opportunities. Employee efforts are not valued, appreciated or rewarded.
Pros
Location is close to my home. Fast commute
Cons
Salary too low and no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QA/BA Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 March 2018
A very good place to work

Very coperative employees and colleaguues

Fine work and life balance

Very good job security and advancement in career

Overall very good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Stouffville, ON19 February 2018
Had a great experience in my time there.
Learned a lot of applicable skills in customer service,
customer acquisition and general people skills.
Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjuster
CLAIMS ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ON16 February 2018
Fun place to work, mixed age groups, true office feeling

Many incentives if you preform well

Room to grow, if you get in when the time is right

Management IS GREAT!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of empty promises.
AEI/SSI (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2018
They cared very little for the opinion or experience of their employees, contrary to their "Philosophy they refused to listen to their front line staff and constantly made them feel inconsequential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job in customer service
Office Representative and Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 February 2018
called customers to book appointments, called with billing questions; took information to do quotes;

Friendly small office environment; learned a lot about insurance and customer service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Receptionist & Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 February 2018
The particular office I work for is amazing. I'm not sure about other locations and so it is hard to judge the entire company that is 'State Farm Insurance'
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drastic changes in the last few years
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 December 2017
Process heavy.
Consolidating and pulling operations out of local markets.
Authority and decision making is at the top.
Based out of Bloomington, IL.
Pros
Financial Strenth
Cons
New Executive Leadership/Direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Claim Advisor (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON19 September 2017
statefarm was a great company but once it was bought over the bs you were able to wash away with the organization and extra money you would work doing overtime was now not worth the culture that organization became.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 8,214 reviews
53.1K
42.4K
31.7K
2620
1454

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture