Starlight Casino

Starlight Casino Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working there was awesome
Dishwasher/ Food Prepper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 January 2020
typical day was pretty hectic however it was manageable, there was always a open line of communication between managers and employees , it was a really neat experience
Pros
discounted meals
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Facilities Maintenance (Current Employee) –  2000 Venetian Point Edward Ontario14 January 2020
I do building Maintenance at Starlight Casino, it is a very rewarding job knowing that you get to meet people every day along with maintaining the Building, working on every aspect of the building from HVAC systems to changing a light bulb. Management is very helpful in directing work orders to the Maintenance dept in order to get the work done in a Safe and timely
manner. Overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 December 2019
Really Enjoyed working at Starlight for the year I was there. The patrons are super nice and my coworkers were fantastic. Would definitely go back. I learned quite a bit working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
dealer (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC20 December 2018
easy job for decent money
good people
good management
small and cozy
enjoyable if you like to talk to people
need to be positive
need to be outgoing
Pros
easy job for decent money
Cons
repeating same motion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 month review at Starlight
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC10 October 2018
-Terrible manager, uncommunicative
-If you want to work weekends graveyards without getting any days off, jobs for you
-Might get bumped in seniority list because someone can come back and have more hours worked within the company
-Manager needs over 2 years advance notice for days off request
-5 minute interview, will land the job

-Coworkers are good people
-Jobs easy
-Long hours
-Decent Wage
Pros
Good Coworkers
Cons
Terrible Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2018
Supervisors and management are rude, not approachable, and lack basic interpersonal skills. With terrible management and supervisors comes a very harsh work environment. Benefits and pay are average.
Pros
no pros I can think of
Cons
management/ supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
RELIEF SECURITY SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC28 May 2018
it was a good place to work where you can have a better experience and hone your abilities in dealing with the public. every day is a learning experience.
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun environment
Slot Attendant (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC14 May 2018
Starlight offers a fast paced environment for people that like to work long hours for little pay. Customer service skills are a must because you meet people from all walks of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good tips
Floor Server/Relief Manager (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC29 April 2018
Most enjoyable part of the job is the tips. The hardest part is the late shifts and working weekends. As far as a serving job goes, not bad. Interesting working in a vegas style atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Cook (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2018
Depending where you're assigned to. Good luck on achieve your personal goal and moving forward it's hardly possible since the management hardly keep tab on their current employees. Great workplace culture you will meet new people on the site whenever you get the chance to meet them.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC28 March 2018
i have learned many things at work such as prioritize work .get first things done first. how to be be organized . provide good customer service
i am studying Hotel management and looking job in that field i thought it will be related to it but it was not
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak, inexperienced managers
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Starlight, AB25 February 2018
The people responsible for helping you to succeed are the same people driving everyone away. There is very little training, and if you have experience they find you a threat.
Pros
Good company
Cons
No respect for the operators
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gateway is a great company but...
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Starlight, AB19 February 2018
Gateway is a great company to work for but I would not send my worst enemy to the surveillance department. The management style is an uncommunicative, fear based dictatorship style, with a very high turnover rate.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management lacks leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5-Week Internship
Human Resources Assistant - Internship (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC15 January 2018
Worked with these folks for 5 weeks as part of an internship required to receive my HR Diploma. Worked alongside recruitment, health & safety. labor relations, and was an integral part of helping set up and deliver on two career hiring fairs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 13Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC26 July 2017
Working in Starlight Casino is great, people were so nice and considerate. My supervisors taking good care of me at all times. Every one is fair. All is well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a happy envirioment
Table Games Dealer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 March 2017
Its a fun place to work.Time is fast specially if it is a busy day .The work place culture is open to different ethnicity and there beliefs.The hardest part of work is we need to stand while dealing long hours, And we have to deal with fuzzy and angry players. Specially if they are lossing. As a dealer we do have trainings how to handle this kind of situations. Being a dealer for almost 5 years , im cutomer service is good.
Pros
we do have billiard table at the breakroom.
Cons
long hours of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment to work
Dealer (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC26 February 2017
Professional and exciting job which requires great communication skill and customer service. Co-workers are awesome and managers are good at managing business
Pros
Flexible hour
Cons
Short break for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adequate
Floor server (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 October 2016
the Starlight Casino is a good place to work. I have been working there since June of 2016. i work mainly in the Show Lounge and also on the casino floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work with no sense of direction
Professional Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC2 March 2013
very unfulfilling and waste of time
management has to will or power to make this place a positive company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a great place
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC30 October 2012
Starlight's staff are amazing, its a great team and it was great to be able to be a part of that. The hours are fine, the wages are fine and it was easy being there.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starlight Casino. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 23 reviews
57
47
33
20
16

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.2Culture